We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Plasky

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Plasky
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Schaerbeek
Belfast
Level Contributor
52 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Comfortable hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

I stayed in this hotel for 2 nights on business trip at start of June. This was my second visit to the hotel. This hotel is basic but it is comfortable and convenient. It is in a good location for airport and also a short bus ride takes you into centre. There is a bus stop right outside hotel door. The staff in the hotel are friendly and helpful. Rooms are comfortable with a comfy bed, TV, bathroom, aircon and all the facilities needed, as well as free wifi. The hotel serves an adequate breakfast which is mainly continental with addition of some scrambled eggs. It was tasty and more than satisfying. There is no restaurant for meals and snacks in the hotel but there is a variety of good restaurants within a couple of mins walk.
I have no complaints about my stay in Plasky and will certainly stay there on my next trip to Brussels.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank erarda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    26
    19
    8
    3
See reviews for
2
8
11
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Billingshurst, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
216 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2014

Hotel Plasky was recommended to us by our business partner in Brussels, and you couldn’t fault the distance from VRT, the national broadcaster, where I was due to be working…..it’s as close as you can get.

I looked it up online both at the booking website, the hotels official website (very poor) and Trip Advisor and the reviews overall seemed ok, I wasn’t expecting much more than basic, clean, suitable accommodations.

When I arrived, things were looking promising, the area is not great at all, but when you walk into the hotel reception it seems pretty reasonable, the lady on reception spoke excellent English and the check in process took 30 seconds, almost a little too quick, no taking of details, passport, swiping a card…..nothing.

I went up the stairs to my room, opened the door and that’s where it went downhill, the room was smaller than expected but there was enough room for me, there were stains on various bits of the carpet and the walls had marks all over them, the shower room was a bit odd with a really grimey horrible shower curtain that needs to go in the bin, the shower room feels almost like a drop in one, with the exterior wall being completely PVC/double glazing and the interior wall between your bathroom and the stairwell having a corrugated plastic bit at the top which I guess is to give natural light to the stairs via your window….odd design.

The shower is fairly powerful though and in the evening the water is lovely and hot, in the mornings however it’s lukewarm so don’t be expecting a nice hot shower then!

The view from my 2nd floor bedroom was of the back of the hotel, it’s not a nice sight out there, manky old apartment buildings…..warehouses…..and straight down some kind of derelict outbuilding full of junk and a “garden” area that hasn’t seen maintenance in a long time with a load of old garbage randomly placed in it….still I thought to myself better to be away from the road as it will be quieter, which it is….except that the thing divide between bathrooms and the hotel in general means noises from other rooms are heard pretty clearly….not good at all….doors shutting are especially loud….people coming up and down the stairs is loud and my bathroom being next to the lift I got this weird clicking every time the lift was being used. One night there was horrendous banging from the room below which woke me up….not sure what that was about.

Are standards different over here? This is supposed to be a 3 star hotel, it feels very much like a 2 star hotel to me…..still charges 3 star pricing though…..

So I had some fun with heating too….the room was cold, it may be May but it wasn’t warm enough, I checked out the radiators and there was no help there, I guess they are only on in winter, so I tried the Aircon to see if it would do warm, but it implied it was centrally controlled, it took two calls to reception to finally get it working…after that the room was warmed up which was good as I didn’t fancy shivering all night!

There is a fridge in the room which contained two bottles of water, none of the coke or orange juice that was listed on the mini-bar pricing. Coffee and Tea facilities in the room were of acceptable standard. Toiletries in bathroom were limited “unknown stuff in a couple of pump dispensers”….I consider this below standard for a 3 star.

Towels were again a bit below standard as they were too small, but I’ve had worse and smaller.

The Wifi here is free which is good but doesn’t perform well, it’s not particularly fast but that’s not my main issue, my main issue was my laptop constantly connecting and disconnecting from it, my phone was ok but not my laptop….perhaps it’s a two devices on same login issue, I resolved by tethering to my phone but even that kept going wrong, very frustrating having to constantly fight to get online.

There is wired access, a badly damaged network port under the desk that when you plug into it gives you network connectivity but doesn’t ever give you an IP address so is completely useless.

Breakfast has an acceptable selection of continental stuff…..there is a single toaster, 2 slice, which takes about 5 minutes to lightly toast anything therefore does need replacement. The hot food consists of scrambled egg and mini hot dogs…..slightly strange….I don’t really want hot dogs for breakfast I want sausages….it’s not always hot either, on my third breakfast is was just about warm. The breakfast area is not very big and during busier periods you may have to share a table.

My rating for plaky sits between 2 and 3 but I’m going to have to gith 2 as they say they are a 3 Star when the standards are 2 and they charge 109 Euros a night.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back suffer less road noise but you hear a lot of internal noise from the hotel anyway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TheCorm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Schaerbeek hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

Stayed in Plasky multiple times. The rooms are a mixture of good and bad, some are cozy, some have problems with the window isolation.

Breakfast is ok, too.

Staff is great and easy to communicate with, one lady even knows Czech language a bit, which was pleasant surprise.

The hotel is well situated, few hundred meters from the airport bus line stop. Also, Schuman and Art-Lois stations are in walking distance (takes aprox. 25 minutes, not a bad walk before some business meeting), also there is the Maiser “hub” station by the hotel for buses and trams. In the evenings/night, area is calm and feels safe.

Room Tip: Avoid fifth floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dalibor H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2013 via mobile

I can't really recommend this hotel because my room was more a cell; clean yes, but bare and basic. The curtains didn't fit the windows (either the wrong size had been bought or they'd shrunk). The towels were old and threadbare and bits of wire hung from the walls. And the lift (to my 6th floor room) sometimes worked.

Stayed March 2013
Helpful?
Thank HappyDell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cottbus
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2013

Hotel Plasky is a small, familiar Hotel. The service at the reception is really good. The receptionist speaks several languages and is very nice. She helps where she can (printing, taking delivery parcels etc.).
Breakfast in the Hotel is plenty. It is not displayed and arranged in a very fashionable way, but the food is good and there is a lot of choice.
I was at the Plasky Hotel for several times already and the rooms were all okay. They are clean and the size is nice. They have ironing boards in the wardrobe.
The furniture (esp. floor, heating and bathroom) looked a bit shabby, but was spotless clean.
What I did not like was that the radiator did not work and the room was heated via the air conditioning. That adds quite some noise to the room and does not add to a good nights rest (even though the beds are super comfy).
The TV has channels from the major European countries (but always just a few).
There is a water cooker with coffe/tea available and a fridge with free water bottles.

In the area clsoe to Hotel Plasky are some nice and smalelr restaurants which are recommendable.

Room Tip: I would ask for a room which opens to the abck and not to the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PlayM0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Breda, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
349 reviews
179 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2013

Straightforward hotel with all you need. No sign of upgrading or need for that. I arrived quite early, but the staff welcomed me with a coffee, a cosy seat and warm words while my room was being cleaned. It is just like a family-run hotel and gives you a good feeling. The room is straightforward with all you would need (free-wifi, water boiler, ironing, etc.). The bathroom was quite big (with balcony), but therefore the heating could not manage it. Also the shower was luke-warm but certainly not hot. Breakfast had plenty of cjhoice but nothing exceptional. Good service, cleaning and no larm from outside. Overall a decent choice with nothing special except the staff. And well-priced for Brussels altghough not exactly recommended for tourist focussed on the centre.

Room Tip: 5 rooms on a floor and an elevator so no specific advice
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ortwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chorley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2012

Breakfast is poor. By 8.30am all the scrambled eggs are gone and the chipolata sausages are stone cold. That doesn't constitute a breakfast to me! Tip, take the cup from room to breakfast...it's bigger!
Shower powerful and constant, not too much road noise (bearable) at the front. Good Air Conditioning in Room. Wifi Internet is free but up and down in speed at popular times and only allows one device to be connected - which is a pain if you have a smartphone, ipad, PC or Mac.
If you want decent food, a 30 min walk to Schuman area was good restaurants.
This hotel is not on the 12/21 bus route for the airport. The nearest stop is Diamant - which is a 15 minute walk with your bags so beware.
As the hotel has no restaurant and if you don't feel like going far, I tried to order Dominos Pizza as there is one a 3 minute drive away. None of the Dominos will deliver here even though if this was UK they deliver upto 40 minutes away (so they say)

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JTiberiusKirk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Schaerbeek
0.5 mi away
Premier Suites Brussels Lounge
0.7 mi away
Chelton Hotel
Chelton Hotel
#81 of 200 in Brussels
4.0 of 5 bubbles 390 reviews
1.8 mi away
Maxhotel
Maxhotel
#55 of 200 in Brussels
4.0 of 5 bubbles 873 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Housingbrussels
Housingbrussels
#1 of 9 in Schaerbeek
4.5 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
2.6 mi away
MEININGER Hotel Brussels City Center
MEININGER Hotel Brussels City Ce...
#1 of 2 in Saint-Jans-Molenbeek
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,743 reviews
2.6 mi away
Ibis Budget Brussels Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Plasky? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Plasky

Property: Hotel Plasky
Address: Avenue Eugene Plasky 212, Schaerbeek, Brussels 1030, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Brussels > Schaerbeek
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Schaerbeek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Plasky 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Plasky reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Plasky Brussels, Belgium

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing