We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“spectacular interiors made of cheap imitations and Russian crowd”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Granada Luxury Okurcalar
Ranked #3 of 34 Hotels in Okurcalar
Reviewed 6 October 2011

We went for a week's stay and chose the hotel because of its outstanding architectural and interior decoration features;

It is a place for you if you do not care for the high standard or quality so much and want to spend some time in the sun with a vodka based cocktail.

accommodation- the rooms are spacious, AC works only when you are in the room and place your el. key in the slot so it takes a while before the room cools down; the minibar sports sodas and water and is replenished every 2 days; the tv offers local, Russian, Greman programs only;
the beds are far too hard and make your back hurt; the bathroom amenities are very poor quality so it is wise to take your own shampoo/conditioner;

hotel -well, it does look spectacular, but when you take a closer look, you can see that all the marble is fake, all fixtures are cheap and very low quality; the same is true about the hotel room - it looks as if the hotel was falling apart already; it is build on the seaside rock so there is no beach whatsoever, the whole sunbathing area is confined to a pier built on long poles so if you want to take a swim you need to climb down a steep metal ladder, but it is doable; the hotel sports quite big outdoor swimming pool and the indoor pool; there are only 2 lifts that are always full so prepare to wait or walk a lot;

restaurants - the main restaurant is located at the dump basement, part of it is always dark, it is the least pleasant of all public places there; it serves buffet food, it is not great but allows some choice; there is also a grill place and 4 or 5 a la carte restaurants that require prior booking, we tried 2 : tapanyaki and italian; the food was mediocre just as in the main restaurant, not worth spending 60 Euro;

bars - well, the really curious thing is that all populat cocktails are made with vodka and vodka only, imagine a vodka margarita, a vodka mojito or a vodka tequila sunrise! at first it seemed funny , after a couple of days it was tiring; bar staff seems too tired or busy to care, cocktails differ from bar to bar; the service is a bit unpleasant;

hardly anybody from the staff speaks English
there is no beach
99% of the patrons are Russian, some of them seem to be the very first time at any hotel in their lives, majority of them are obnoxiously loud and annoying

i would recomment the hotel to any 20+ travellers that are looking for a springbreak hangout or groups that enjoy drinking.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Monika G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,006)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

183 - 189 of 1,007 reviews

Reviewed 6 September 2011

Hello, everyone.

Preamble: booking any hotel in the Turkish riviera, please, have in mind that all star rating displayed on the hotel web page/ facade is SELF-proclaimed ( and self flattering) and has no correspondence with real situation in hotel industry of the modern world.
GRANADA Luxury is the rarest exception where proud 5 stars are not a joke, but the reality that you enjoy, eat, drink and swim every singleday of your stay.............
To the details then...............

1/ Room. FANTASTIC and simply the best standard room i experienced in my travels ( i emphasize *STANDARD room*). I do not know what genius designed this marvelous hotel, or he simply stayed ( like you and me) in standards with child where a sleeping space for your kid is a notorious compromise between room space and crammed environment. Here in Granada if you book standard double+extra bed, you`ll be given a full size king bed and a single ( not a spring-bed transformable horror, but a full fledged bed) for your child, in the same time a sitting area, dressing table and room decor overall will not suffer a bit. Such ultimate pleasure!!!!!! Lovely details like mirrors on every wall and door( even on the toilet door, both sides - LOL), designed in gold-beige-white gamma with crimson detailing. Nice balcony with sitting chairs and a table. Once again - HUGE applause to the designer who managed to avoid carpeting the floor ( the ugly look and dirty feel guaranteed ), but put a luxurious brown marble with gold decorum ( entrance and bathroom) and birch color laminate in the room - easy to care and ALWAYS fresh and shiny look. Bravo! TV is TCD 27` Vestel with 24 ( or so) free channels in English, german, arab, turkisk, romanian, dutch, russian and polish. Safe deposit box is free of charge, but not big enough for 13` laptop. Tea/ coffee making facilities - supply of tea/ coffe bags are replenished daily. . Wifi is free in rooms and public areas ( OK quality). Mini fridge with drinks they provide ( soft drinks, beer and mineral water) is also restocked daily and free for the guests..

2/ Bathroom. Toilet amenities were provided ( soap, shampoo, shower gel, body lotion, hair conditioner). All bathtubs in rooms are with hydro massage. Princess rooms, king suite and lake house are also equipped with personal jacuzzi.
The most unfortunate rooms are forest-view ( actually road view) and those on the floor L, A and 1. Ask higher floor and sea view. Lake house is a waste of money - zero privacy and located between water slides, disco and show arena.
3/ Food. Truly and undeniable EXCELLENT. 5 star quality and verity - no doubt . You will have plenty of chances to enjoy it. Do not miss dinner at Turkish night - every Saturday. The spread is superb. A bit disappointed with baklava selection, still it was OK but i expected more from 5 star in Turkey............

4/ Daily activity:
breakfast- 7-10 am
Late breakfast - 10-11 am
snack corner - 11.00-16.00 ( hot dogs and french fries)
Turkish Snack - 11.00-16.00 ( turkish shaurma, breads, kebabs)
Lunch - 12.30-14.30
Patisserie - 12.00-17.00 ( Ice cream, cakes, pastry, cold/ hot drinks)
Dinner - 19.00- 21.30
Supper ( soup) - 23.30-00.30
A`la carte restaurants - 19:00-21.30 (7 in total - Turkish, Russian, Chinese, Fish, Italian-free of charge. Tepanyaki. Sushi - extra charge)
Discotheque - 23.30-02.00 am
Supper - 23:00-24.00
Night breakfast (for early check out) - 0:30-6:30

Bars - Pier ( 10.00-24.00- local drinks).
Lobby (9.00-24.00- local drinks)
Atrium (10.00-24.00 - local and imported drinks)
Snack Bar ( 10.00-23.00- local drinks)
Irish Pub ( 18.00-7.00 - local and imported drinks)
Drinks: imported ( vodka, whisky, cognac, Bayles, Martini, Campari, Rum, Tequla, gin ), local ( beer, campari, martini, sparkling wine, red/ white/ rose wine, raki, fruit liquors). Soft drinks. Mineral water. Tea, coffee, hot chocolate. Turkish tea and Turkish coffee.
Cocktails - mohito, margarita, pinacollada, dykiry etc.

a la carte restaurants - upon reservation at guest relation desk.

5/ Beach. There is no such, to my taste the presence of anchor shaped pier instead of sand/ pebble shore line was wonderful. For someone who is afraid of deep water or elderly and prefer to get to the sea from the shore, may be uncomfortable. Also special warning for families with small children - the pier is 4 meter high above the water, no rails and safety screens - only ropes to indicate the end and sides of the jetty, PLEASE have a close eye on your children or find a place at the swimming pool area.The jetty and other rest areas are quipped with , sunbeds, tents and umbrellas. Surprisingly the number of sun chairs and number of guests are well corresponded, and there is no need to wake up at 6 am and run to book a place under the sun. You can easily find an unoccupied sun chair at 10 am or any other time of day. Hotel cleaning team does regular circuits and does their job property. You will not see used glasses, scattered plates, apple cores, empty bottles etc.

6/ Free service in Spa center: Turkish hamam, sauna, fitness center, steam room, snow fountain, indoor pool, relaxing pool.
Extra charge- salt room, massage, cosmetology treatments, foam service in hamam, cherry bath.
Two water slides in a separate pool.

Other Chargeable service: spa, doctor`s office, wifi, telephone,some imported drinks ( french wine, imported champagne), freshly squeezed juice (3 euro/ glass), room service, laundry, motorized water sports ( para-sailing - 50 usd/ pax, jet-ski - 40 usd/ 20 min etc). Shopping arcade - leather/ fur salon, jewelry, souvenirs, convenient store.

7/ Personnel. All staff members ( from beach cleaner to the GM) MUST develop a simple habit to greet guest in the morning with simple *good morning* or *hello*.
Aside from THAT i have no complains and experienced the interactions with personnel of Granada without negative issues. All staff members worked efficiently, friendly enough and demonstrated a good level of training and understanding of their jobs.

8/ Sport/ animation activity:
Beach Volleyball ( twice a day, the playground is outside the hotel main territory), mini-football, water polo, basketball, airgun, boccha. Big issue with safety of volleyball grounds - ill proportioned and total concrete floor under 10 cm of sand. Very unsafe, lots of accidents i personally witnessed, one was with my son.
Swimming pool at the aqua slides has VERY sharp edges, PLEASE check the surface carefully with your hands, as some small tiles are chipped and you can cut your skin easily. The experience is painful.

9/ Conclusion. If you are a picky traveler demanding excellence in every aspect of your stay this hotel is definitely for you. But if you have to be ready to do a blind eye on the safety issues and occasional loud music on the pier in the evening OR at least be informed about such ( from my review certainly - LOL). The Mediterranean warm sea, sun and cloudless sky of Turkey are THERE and waiting for you. The sea is exceptionally good and clean as a tear drop, you`ll not regret if you bring your snorkeling equipment..


10/ Hotel guest demography:
20%-Turks
30%- Russians, Ukrainians, Kazakhs, Azerbaijan, Latvia
30% - Hungarians, Rumanians, Slovaks, Horvats, Czech
10%- Syria, Iran
10% - Germans, Dutch, Danish

11/ If you have any further questions I am here to satisfy your curiosity.

with respect

Schonefeld

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
63  Thank Schonefeld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2011

This was our 5th summer holiday in a Turkish resort, but I can say Granada Luxury... might make as reconsider if we are going back to Turkish riviera anytime soon.
Let's make this clear: We had a wonderful stay last summer in Miracle Resort - Lara and a much better stay at Sherwood Breezes - Lara the previous year.
Granada Luxury was advertised to as with huge words of accomplishment. But with few exceptions sadly it was the worst hotel we have stayed in Turkey.
OK, first the good side:
We liked the rooms. Fairly spacious and interestingly furnished, if you like mirrors...
We liked bars, too. There are many of them and you can go from one to another.
Also, kids liked ice-cream being available for many hours a day.
However:
Food was one of the weakest points. Prepare yourself to eat chicken in ten different ways. Not to many other choices.
Wireless internet in your room takes up to 20 minutes to load a page.
Staff was not very friendly. We had a situation where we needed to send a fax letter. And - imagine this - a luxury 5 star hotel doesn't have a fax machine. We wasted around two hours to find a way to send that letter, because scanner did not work also. Finally we were told they fixed the scanner and it can be sent as a scanned doc but only from a receptionists email account. In the end we were told it went through. Just to understand the next day that the email never reached the address intended!!! At least they could tell us they can not be of help and we could try from an internet cafe outside.
And the most awful think that happened to us is at the night when the theater collapsed. I managed to do an Indiana Jones-style escape with my 4-years old son in hand through a hysterical mass of people running out. It was one of the worst experiences of my life. In a normal world you expect a sign of regret, an apology or whatever from the managers... but here - not a single word. People could die there, dozens where injured and with legs broken, but hotel staff behaved as if nothing happened!!! not even a letter of apology of any kind. Simply - nothing.  Outrageous. This is enough to recommend one should never visit this hotel again.
So... don't go there.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank AndyKelm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2011

We had an accident in Hotel Granada in the Theater, just after children disco, in the middle of program with Chinese playing group. It was crowd; whole place was full of people with children. Suddenly, the theater was falling down; floor in the middle rows cracked, as it was an earthquake. All of us were starting to run over each other. Fortunately, only a few people were injured. They afterwards switched the light and were fixing it all night long.
Everything else in this hotel was o.k. We had a room with magnificent view. Lack of staff was evident; everything was on self-service base. Food quality was not bad, but almost without meet.
We couldn't sleep till 3 a.m. because of music.
Except this incident with the theatre, everything else was o.k. but we were shocked and nobody apologized for this incident!
I hope that they fixed it and now it is safe! That happened because of bad construction, my child is still very afraid.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Viennina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2011

BAD SERVICE POOR FOOD THATS THE GOOD PART ABOUT THIS DREADFUL PLACE.......

I wish i had read the reviews of others .A lot of nice features to the hotel but every time you touch something it falls apart.
the staff walk the other way when you walk to wards them no cares about providing a srvice all the staff look so feed up.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lyniclove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2011

I agree with what other said, because I want to tell you what happent last evening during the show "The amphitheater has collapsed with people". I wasn't present at the show and thank God for that but we just came in the hotel when the unpleseant event happent. The worst thing is that no one form Management said anything to the people. Imagine that you stay with your child and everything colapse. I'm still in shock what I saw last evening, especially that i'm pregnant. So if you pay don''t go to the amphiteater, is more safe for you and for your children.

Room Tip: there is no best room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank bellabianca52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2011

The most awful hotel I ever stayed at in my entire life and I have travelled extensively around the world.The staff is a shame,it is very rude,it does not care a bit about their tourists.We were given a duplex(in which we could not stay,first of all because it is situated on the last 2 floors(8 and 9) and the air conditioning was not working properly,there was water leaking through it,anyway,even when it was working,it did not manage to cool the room situated upstairs,on the 9th floor.Secondly,starting with our second day of stay,in both bathrooms,there was such a horrible smell that we could no longer use the bathrooms,it smelled like there were piles of garbage left in the bathrooms,but the smell came from a whole which was situated under the sink,in the bathrooms.We informed the receptionists about the situation,we reminded them that the front office manager,Mr Ali Bey promised us from our first day at the hotel that in 3 days he would change our duplex,after he had checked the reservation system,he promised us firmly that he would do this,as they are after all a 5-star hotel and that they wanted us to be ok and feel well(the costs for our stay in a duplex for 4 persons were high,as it is advertised as being a 5-star luxury hotel.Well,the front office manager refused to come to speak to us when the 3rd day came,the other receptionists(Mr Ersin,for instance,who promised us too that if we come when Mr Ali Bey,his boss said,we will have the duplex changed.He told us to come at 9 am to have the duplex changed,when we went as he said at 9 o'clock,he said to come after an hour,as the new rooms are not free yet,and when we went at 10 a.m as he said,he told us in a very very very arrogant manner that his boss,the front office manager wants us to remain in our old duplex,in which we could no longer breathe because of the stink that was coming from both bathrooms.He simply did not care,his boss,the front office manager simply refused to come out of his office to explain to us what had happened that he did not keep his promise,they treated us like animals,like people who do not exist,not to mention that we were their tourists.I suffer from an allergic asthma and I tried to explain to all those from the reception,including Mrs Ozlem,the assistant of the front office manager,who knew about my situation before our arrival at the hotel,as I talked to her on the phone several times,she also promised that her boss would keep his promise to us as it was after all a very serious health problem and the hotel is a 5-star hotel but she did nothing,she refused too to help us,by turning her back to us.I decided to speak to the guest relations manager,to Miss Alev,she tried to help us,but it was obvious that she was on her colleagues'side,she showed us some rooms that were,apparently,the only free rooms,without windows at all and without balcony,they looked like prison rooms with a smell in them that can not be described in words.I searched for the person who was their superior,the Operation Manager,Mr Soner,who has the office near the kitchen in the main restaurant,he did not speak any English at all,but fortunately,the owner of the hotel,an older tall man,was there by accident,and when the guest relations manager told him that the only other room left is the Princess Suite but that the front office manager was asking us for a difference of 700 euro per night,as if we had not paid enough for the duplex,the owner told them,(and the front office manager was called too) to give us the Princess Suite for a difference of 100 Euro per night.If the owner had not come,even though I showed them at the reception that I have started the treatment with hidrocortisone because of the 3 nights spent in that horrible duplex(number 3841),we would have had to spend the rest of the 4 nights in the lobby,with our luggage and all sleeping on the chairs and armchairs in the lobby(they told us that if we think that this is a good solution for us,we can sleep there,in the lobby.Their interest for their tourists is below 0,their respect for the money that they are taking due to us does not exist,you are treated like an object.This was our 7th time in Turkey,but this hotel is a shame for this beautiful country,the staff is horrible,I do not have words to describe the way in which they treated us,they mocked at us openly.The front office Manager,Mr Ali Bey is an absolute shame,he is inconsiderate,rude,disrespectful,he should leave this position immediately,as he,together with the likes of Mr Ersin,Mrs Ozlem,will ruin this hotel for good and for ever.The services are of very poor quality,the cleaning ladies come to clean the rooms,but they just arrange the sheets,the bed-linen,they take the garbage bin and THAT IS WHAT THEY CALL CLEANING.The drinks in the mini bar in the room(being,they say,an ultraallinclusive resort)are not changed daily,not even if you call the reception repeatedly or if you go to them to inform them about this personally.The imported drinks which are available only at the Atrium bar and at the Irish bar,will offer you only whisky that is scotch in fact,of very poor quality,no J&B,no Ballantines,no Teachers,no Metaxa,no nothing,if you want these you must pay extra.So much for the ultraallinclusive basis!A complete and utter lie! The food is of poor quality,badly cooked,without any taste, meat is either boiled or fried,or in most cases missing.The cakes are also repetitive and with the exception of those made of honey,the rest of them have no taste at all.If you want to bite your nails for the money spent at this hotel,if you want to experience the worst possible holiday,then you can try going to this hotel!Nightmare hotel!You can contact me if you want at ella890@yahoo.fr.

S.Popa,Romania

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank ileanasim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Okurcalar
1.8 mi away
Delphin Deluxe Resort
Delphin Deluxe Resort
#7 of 34 in Okurcalar
415 reviews
0.8 mi away
Litore Resort Hotel & Spa
Litore Resort Hotel & Spa
#2 of 34 in Okurcalar
694 reviews
1.8 mi away
Mukarnas Resort And Spa Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Meryan Hotel
Meryan Hotel
#4 of 34 in Okurcalar
510 reviews
6.0 mi away
Sirius Deluxe Hotel
Sirius Deluxe Hotel
#1 of 26 in Avsallar
635 reviews
0.2 mi away
Orange County Resort Hotel Alanya
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Granada Luxury Okurcalar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Granada Luxury Okurcalar

Address: Okurcalar Mevkii | Alara Tourism Merkezi, Okurcalar 07415, Turkey (Formerly Granada Luxury Resort & Spa)
Region: Turkey > Turkish Mediterranean Coast > Antalya Province > Okurcalar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Okurcalar
#2 Luxury Hotel in Okurcalar
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Okurcalar
#3 Family Hotel in Okurcalar
Price Range: £90 - £212 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Granada Luxury Okurcalar 5*
Number of rooms: 600
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, TravelUp, Cancelon, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Granada Luxury Okurcalar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Granada Luxury Hotel Okurcalar
Granada Luxury Resort And Spa
Granada Luxury Okurcalar Turkey/Antalya Province

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing