We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Total Darkness”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Old Rectory Wiltshire
Ranked #1 of 12 Westbury B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 September 2013

Put out your bedside light close your eyes open your eyes perfect darkness plus total silence result peaceful sleep, awaken to a first class breakfast with the perfect hosts and you have found B&B Nirvana, add Teddy and tea cake and we could move in full time. If all B&Bs were this good we wouldn't need trip advisor

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank banksy56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helle D, Owner at The Old Rectory Wiltshire, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2013

Hi there,
Lovely review, thank you so much for taking the time to write it. It means a lot to us and we are glad you had a relaxing weekend. We really enjoyed having you and hope to see you again sometime. Teddy will be right there at the gate waiting!
Warm wishes
David, Helle - and Teddy who thought he was in dog heaven with all the attention!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (259)
There are newer reviews for The Old Rectory Wiltshire
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

177 - 183 of 259 reviews

Reviewed 15 September 2013

Beautiful house, large rooms, delicious breakfasts and the warmest of welcomes - The Old Rectory is quite simply outstanding in all respects, as is Helle and David's hospitality. We can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Iben T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helle D, Owner at The Old Rectory Wiltshire, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2013

Hi there you two,
Thank you for your review, it means a lot to us that you took the trouble to write it. And a very kind one as well! It would be super to see you again, so do let us know if you plan a return trip to England and need some quiet time in the country.
Very best wishes
Helle, David, William and - Teddy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2013

This is an amazing B&B which is ideally located to explore the local area and popular attractions in Wiltshire. The room was really homely and having access to the dining room and lounge really made it feel like a home from home. Helle and David are superb hosts and were so friendly and welcoming. They had thought of everything to make your stay comfortable and thoroughly enjoyable. Breakfast was delicious and Helle and David use locally sourced produce which makes it even better! Excellent local knowledge and sound advice allowed us to plan our weekend away and make the most out of our time there. Teddy the border terrier is so friendly and totally adorable he also provided us with a very warm welcome! Helle and David have a beautiful home and really make you feel welcome and relaxed. The small touches make such a difference for example, due to the weather we were not able to sit out in the garden so Helle made us a little lavender bag to take home from the lavander outside. We really enjoyed our stay and will definately be back ourselves in the future, we would highly recommend it to others.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenny P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helle D, Owner at The Old Rectory Wiltshire, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2013

Hi there you two,
Thank you so much for your lovely review, we really enjoyed having you. Thanks also for photos of Teddy and other. Do come in for a cup of tea if you are ever in the area, we would love to see you again.
Wishing you a super sunny autumn.
Very best wishes
Helle and David (Teddy sends a wag!)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2013

We'd had a car accident on the way to Wiltshire, which was a stressful start to our weekend away, but Helle and David couldn't have been more welcoming or accommodating. The location was superb, easy access to Wiltshire's main attractions, and a lovely peaceful 'home from home' to return to. The room was spotless, lots of little 'extras' to make you feel welcome, and the breakfast was wonderful. What tops it all is that Helle and David are superb hosts, very kind and helpful, and they anticipate your every need. Can't recommend this place highly enough. Oh, and you'll fall in love with Teddy. Just go!

Room Tip: Only two rooms, we had the top floor one, bathroom isn't technically ensuite, but it doesn't...
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helle D, Owner at The Old Rectory Wiltshire, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2013

Hi there,
First of all, thank you so much for choosing to stay at The Old Rectory Wiltshire. Secondly for your very kind review, it was great to hear that you enjoyed the stay - despite the car challenges on your way here. We hope the car is sorted and that we may see you again here sometime.
Very warmest of wishes.
Helle, David and Teddy!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2013

Helle and David, such a fantastic welcome, house, garden and hosts. We really enjoyed three days in your beautiful house, and being spoiled from your hospitality. Your breakfast is delicious. We surely will be back.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Ole B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helle D, Owner at The Old Rectory Wiltshire, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2013

Hi there,
Thank you so much for your review, our first one from Denmark, and such a lovely one too! We hope that everything is well with you and wish you a great autumn with lots of sunshine.
Very best wishes
Helle and David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2013

Staying in a gorgeous georgian house was an absolute must whilst visiting Bath and surrounding areas, great character ambience whilst imagining 'Mr D'arcy' ;-) paying a visit. Helle,David & Teddy (who greeted us by jumping into our car wagging his tail in excitement) very warm welcome, just like arriving at a relatives house. Even greeted by David with the most scrummy home made lemon drizzle cake served with superb, much needed, cafetiere of coffee, whilst resting in the lavender garden, beautiful .There are also some fabulous local walks, we were just round the corner from a deer park, and yes we saw multiple deer also got very excited at spotting a stag. We met a couple of neigbours who were also as welcoming and friendly next to a very quaint church, so peaceful and relaxing.
The house, the hosts with surroundings did not disappoint any of my great expectations.Our room was big,bright and airey even the 'just in case tin' catered for our every need, chocolate & plasters etc very thoughtful in every detail.
Will we stay here again? Most definitely, if they have a spare room available that is !!

Thank you Helle, David & Teddy

Julie & John - August 2013

Room Tip: All rooms are spacious , airey and clean with extras i.e. bathrobes, slippers , toiletries ,fluffy t...
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jules2566
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helle D, Owner at The Old Rectory Wiltshire, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2013

Hi Julie and John,
Hope you have had a super summer and thank you ever so much for your great review. It was lovely having you and we are hoping that we will see you back again before too long (Teddy completely agrees on this!).
Very best wishes for a good autumn.
Helle, David (and Teddy)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2013

We are visitors from overseas, and found this B&B on Trip Advisor. What a lovely find! Helle and Dave were very welcoming to us as soon as we arrived. Their home is warm, comfortable and charming. Their breakfasts every morning were to die for, and their dog Teddy was an added bonus! Helle and Dave were also very helpful with maps, directions, and trip advice. They felt more like friends than hosts by the end of the trip.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank david a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helle D, Owner at The Old Rectory Wiltshire, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2013

Dear all,
Thank you so much for your lovely review, very much appreciated. We hope you had a super time in Wales and after that a great stay with your family. You certainly managed some serious sightseeing in a short space of time!
Very best wishes and do remember to come and see us if you ever drive through Wiltshire again.
Helle, David, William - and Teddy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Westbury
7.3 mi away
Travelodge Warminster
Travelodge Warminster
#2 of 3 in Warminster
597 reviews
5.5 mi away
Chalford House Hotel
Chalford House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Westbury
121 reviews
7.0 mi away
Bishopstrow House
Bishopstrow House
#1 of 3 in Warminster
865 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
The Three Daggers
The Three Daggers
#1 of 2 in Edington
123 reviews
5.7 mi away
Redwood Lodge B&B
Redwood Lodge B&B
#3 of 12 in Westbury
94 reviews
2.9 mi away
Littleton Lodge
Littleton Lodge
#1 of 1 in Littleton Panell
83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Rectory Wiltshire? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Rectory Wiltshire

Address: 17 Church Lane, Coulston, Westbury BA13 4NY, England (Formerly The Old Rectory Coulston)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Westbury
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Westbury
Price Range: £89 - £124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Old Rectory Wiltshire 3*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You will get a warm welcome at The Old Rectory, a charming Georgian house situated in a quiet village in stunning countryside in rural Wiltshire, only one and a half hours train ride from London. Sightseeing include Stonehenge, Avebury, Bath, Salisbury, Wells. Houses/gardens: Longleat, Stourhead, Bowood. The Old Rectory is light, airy, beautifully decorated and extremely comfortable - our aim is to make you feel at home here. The almost 2 acre garden is safely fenced in and has wisterias, old fashioned roses and a big sunny lavender lined patio to enjoy. We source the best local produce for our delicious organic breakfasts. Wonderful walking, cycling and golf on the doorstep. We welcome single travellers, groups of friends, families and well behaved dogs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your The Old Rectory Wiltshire reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Rectory Wiltshire Westbury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing