We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Old Rectory Wiltshire
Nearby Hotels
Travelodge Warminster(Warminster)(Great Value!)
US$73
Travelodge
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
Premier Inn Trowbridge Hotel(Trowbridge)(Great Value!)
US$95
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Travelodge Beckington(Beckington)(Great Value!)
US$64
Travelodge
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
The Polebarn(Trowbridge)
US$119
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Premier Inn Frome Hotel(Frome)(Great Value!)
US$119
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bishopstrow House(Warminster)
US$190
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$169
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$112
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Moonraker(Trowbridge)(Great Value!)
US$175
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$162
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (271)
Filter reviews
271 results
Traveller rating
270
1
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
270
1
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshelle and davidperfect hostsbeautiful houseb bold friendsborder terriermade us feelfresh fruitattention to detaillemon drizzle cakesconeswarm welcomewonderful stayhome from homelarge gardensecond visitperfect break
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
185 - 190 of 271 reviews
Reviewed 28 September 2013

Stayed for two nights and was simply wonderful. Perfect hosts - Helle and David made me most welcome and couldn't do enough to ensure I had a good stay. The house is beautiful and so refreshingly spacious. Full range of tasty breakfast. Very peaceful location. Well worth telling my friends about.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
Thank Mags W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helle D, Owner at The Old Rectory Wiltshire, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2013

Hi Mags,
Thank you so much for your lovely review. Glad you had a super time in Devon and hope to see you - and your friends - here at The Old Rectory Wiltshire.
Very best wishes for a super sunny autumn from
Helle, David - and very importantly: Teddy!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2013

This the best B & B in which we have ever stayed! Helle and David are the perfect hosts - their attention to detail and their ability to make you feel totally at ease from the moment you arrive to the moment you leave is just fabulous. The Old Rectory is a really lovely house and Helle concocts the most wonderful breakfasts - and tea and homemade flapjacks in front of the fire!
We cant wait to come back - we so enjoyed our stay, which was made even better by Teddy!

Sean and Marilyn

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sean B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helle D, Owner at The Old Rectory Wiltshire, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2013

Dear Sean and Marilyn,
Thank you for your lovely review and for the lots of laughs we had during your stay. We so enjoyed your company and hope to see you again before too long.
Very best wishes from us all (including Teddy who would have loved to come away on a break with you)
Helle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2013

After traveling throughout Great Britain for many years, have found the perfect B&B. Wonderful accommodations with all the amenities you would wish plus warm and friendly hosts. Helle and David are great cooks who prepare breakfast from local organic produce. The lemon cake with tea on the porch was just what was needed after a long day. Reservations were made for us at two good local pubs and hand drawn maps were invaluable when the GPS didn't work! We regretted saying goodbye, especially to Teddy, the four-legged cohost.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank knitter2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helle D, Owner at The Old Rectory Wiltshire, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2013

Hi there,
Thank you so much for choosing to stay at The Old Rectory Wiltshire - and for taking the time to write us such a lovely review. We hope your trip back home went really well, that you are enjoying being back home again after your holiday and that you will have a lovely autumn with lots and lots of sunshine.
Very best wishes from us all.
Helle (and an extra one from Teddy!)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2013

Put out your bedside light close your eyes open your eyes perfect darkness plus total silence result peaceful sleep, awaken to a first class breakfast with the perfect hosts and you have found B&B Nirvana, add Teddy and tea cake and we could move in full time. If all B&Bs were this good we wouldn't need trip advisor

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank banksy56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helle D, Owner at The Old Rectory Wiltshire, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2013

Hi there,
Lovely review, thank you so much for taking the time to write it. It means a lot to us and we are glad you had a relaxing weekend. We really enjoyed having you and hope to see you again sometime. Teddy will be right there at the gate waiting!
Warm wishes
David, Helle - and Teddy who thought he was in dog heaven with all the attention!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2013

Beautiful house, large rooms, delicious breakfasts and the warmest of welcomes - The Old Rectory is quite simply outstanding in all respects, as is Helle and David's hospitality. We can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Iben T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helle D, Owner at The Old Rectory Wiltshire, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2013

Hi there you two,
Thank you for your review, it means a lot to us that you took the trouble to write it. And a very kind one as well! It would be super to see you again, so do let us know if you plan a return trip to England and need some quiet time in the country.
Very best wishes
Helle, David, William and - Teddy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews