We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly, warm & welcoming”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Westbury
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Old Rectory Wiltshire
Ranked #1 of 12 Westbury B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Kent, England
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Friendly, warm & welcoming”
Reviewed 23 October 2013

My wife and I arrived on Thursday 17th October to a warm welcome from David and Teddy the dog. We were shown to our room which had a lovely comfortable bed, en suite bathroom, TV, tea and coffee and fresh milk and water was supplied.

We stayed two nights so were able to enjoy two fabulous breakfasts served by Helle and David, with a choice of cereal, toast, full English, home made granola and a wonderful choice of organic and local jams and honey, all served up in a wonderful dining room or on summer days on the patio.

We had a lovely relaxing time at The Old Rectory, would go back again and highly recommend it.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank D&B05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helle D, Owner at The Old Rectory Wiltshire, responded to this review, 30 October 2013
HI there,
Thank you for you very kind review, we very much appreciated your feedback. We are glad that you had a really relaxed stay - much needed by the sound of it.
With all our best wishes for a lovely autumn - and winter.
Helle and David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    243
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
59
119
19
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 October 2013

My husband and I stayed with Helle and David at The Old Rectory last month (September, 2013). From the moment we drove up to the gate & were greeted by Teddy the friendly Border Terrier, we just knew that it was going to be a great experience. By the end of our stay, it felt almost as if we'd been staying with old friends, and after three nights, we were genuinely sad to leave. Helle has thought of every detail to make her guests' stay perfect. She contacted us in advance and made sure we had dinner reservations at a nearby gastropub for the evening we arrived. In our room we found a wee "emergency" box that includes any necessities one might have forgotten to bring--and there was even a bit of chocolate for chocoholics in need of a fix! It's the little things like that, as well as the warm welcome and friendly conversation, the comfortable beds, the delicious breakfasts, the adorable Border Terriers (Teddy & his new half-sister, Tilly), the homemade biscuits, the fresh milk outside your door every morning, not to mention the beautiful house and garden. Basically, The Old Rectory is just wonderful. We can't stop thinking about our stay there, and I'm betting we'll find our way back before too long!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gilliflower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helle D, Owner at The Old Rectory Wiltshire, responded to this review, 30 October 2013
Hi there you two,
What a lovely review, thank you so much for taking the trouble to write it. We hope you had a super time in the south of England - and got to listen to some super music.
We would love to see you again so do pop in if you are ever back in the UK again.
Very best wishes
Helle, David, William, Teddy and Tilly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arezzo, Italy
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013

We have just returned from a five night stay at the Old Rectory and what a wonderful time we had! Helle and David were perfect hosts, so welcoming and kind. They recommended several local places to eat and to visit. Our daughter was besotted with their dog, Teddy, and Helle invited her to accompany them on Teddy`s daily walk which made her holiday! We were positively encouraged to enjoy the house and use the beautiful sitting and dining rooms whenever we chose. Helle and David even provided some board games for us to play during the evenings! Our room was large and the beds were comfortable. Our daughter had the next door room. Everything was spotlessly clean. The breakfasts were excellent with all the produce locally sourced. By the time we left we felt like part of Helle and David`s family, it was rather like a visit to a favorite aunt and uncle! We cannot recommend the Old Rectory enough and we will certainly return as soon as we are able to.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank squels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helle D, Owner at The Old Rectory Wiltshire, responded to this review, 30 October 2013
HI there all,
Thank you for your kind review, it means a lot to us. We hope you had a really lovely time and some nice weather during your last days of your trip to England.
It was such a pleasure having you all and we are sure Teddy missed his new friend when you left. He - as we - would be delighted to see you back here at The Old Rectory Wiltshire sometime.
Very best wishes from us all - especially from Teddy!
Helle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 13 October 2013

We battled the London traffic and two accidents on the M25 knowing that when we got to The Old Rectory, all would be better. This was our third visit and arriving slightly later than we had hoped - 10.15pm - we were a little worried that we would disturb our hosts. How wrong we were...as soon as we came through the gate, out came Helle, David and the new addition to their family - a little puppy called Tilly - and gave us the familiar, lovely, warm welcome that we've been treated to on every visit. We slept well and were then treated to a delicious breakfast in the morning. This is one of our favourite places and we look forward to many more visits...

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helle D, Owner at The Old Rectory Wiltshire, responded to this review, 16 October 2013
Dear Peter,
Thank you so much for you kind review and so lovely to see you both again. So glad you enjoyed your third stay with us. We hope you will have a lovely autumn and shall look forward to seeing you again.
Very warmest wishes and keep dry.
Helle, David, William, Teddy - and Tilly!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013

We had a wonderful trip, truely relaxing and more like staying with friends than a b&b- so much so we nearly forgot to pay. Fantastic breakfast and a very comfortable enormous bed. Will be going back as soon as we can.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank littledr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helle D, Owner at The Old Rectory Wiltshire, responded to this review, 16 October 2013
Hi there,
Thank you so much for your review, it means a lot to us. So glad to hear that you came back relaxed after your weekend as it was a special one!
Very best wishes and we too hope that we will see you down here in the future.
Helle and family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 October 2013

We always take great care when selecting a place to stay in, no matter how short the trip. On this occasion we came up trumps again as we could not fault The Old Rectory. Nestled in a lovely quiet rural location, it is perfect for a quick ‘hit and run’ as well as a more lengthy stay. Helle and David could not have done more for us, not being phased when our arrival time changed twice and was certainly awkward, and our departure coincided with their own long haul trip. We had an exceptional room and a perfect breakfast to set us up for our own long days travelling. We did have time to stroll around the deer park where we saw an impressive white deer. Our border collie was also welcome, and thankfully well behaved, although he did have an impromptu swim in the pond! A super stay, albeit far too brief.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Philip G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helle D, Owner at The Old Rectory Wiltshire, responded to this review, 12 October 2013
Hi there you two - or should I say "you three' - not forgetting your beautiful doggie. It was really lovely meeting you all.
First of all, thank you so much for choosing to stay at The Old Rectory Wiltshire and secondly, thank you for taking the time to give us such a great review.
With our very best wishes for a super sunny autumn in beautiful Jersey.
We hope to see you again sometime.
Helle and David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 29 September 2013

This is most certainly the best B and B we have ever had the pleasure to visit.
Helle and David were perfect hosts giving us a warm welcome on arrival together with Teddy who is a great little dog to have around.
The house and garden provide a wonderful tranquillity not often found these days, in a lovely part of Wiltshire.
Our room was all one could wish for, well proportioned, bright and with lovely flooring and décor, immaculately clean and likewise the en-suite bathroom, also no nearby traffic noise giving us a great nights sleep.
Breakfast was delicious with local produce and great smoothies that kept us going for most of the day.
If we were able to give six stars, we would, we'll be back.

David and Chris Murray

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helle D, Owner at The Old Rectory Wiltshire, responded to this review, 12 October 2013
Dear David and Chris,
Thank you so much for your six stars - and the rest of your absolutely lovely review. It was a great pleasure having you, and those two lovely hounds although we only saw very little of them.
We hope you are enjoying some autumn sunshine and look forward to seeing you back here at The Old Rectory Wiltshire sometime.
Very best wishes from us all.
Helle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Westbury
7.8 mi away
Beechfield House
Beechfield House
#1 of 1 in Beanacre
4.5 of 5 bubbles 684 reviews
5.5 mi away
Chalford House Hotel
Chalford House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Westbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
6.3 mi away
Premier Inn Trowbridge Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.5 mi away
The Stones Hotel
The Stones Hotel
#9 of 16 in Salisbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
1.1 mi away
Slades Farm Leisure
Slades Farm Leisure
#2 of 2 in Edington
5.0 of 5 bubbles 14 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Three Daggers
The Three Daggers
#1 of 2 in Edington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Rectory Wiltshire? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Rectory Wiltshire

Property: The Old Rectory Wiltshire
Address: 17 Church Lane, Coulston, Westbury BA13 4NY, England (Formerly The Old Rectory Coulston)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Westbury
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Westbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You will get a warm welcome at The Old Rectory, a charming Georgian house situated in a quiet village in stunning countryside in rural Wiltshire, only one and a half hours train ride from London. Sightseeing include Stonehenge, Avebury, Bath, Salisbury, Wells. Houses/gardens: Longleat, Stourhead, Bowood. The Old Rectory is light, airy, beautifully decorated and extremely comfortable - our aim is to make you feel at home here. The almost 2 acre garden is safely fenced in and has wisterias, old fashioned roses and a big sunny lavender lined patio to enjoy. We source the best local produce for our delicious organic breakfasts. Wonderful walking, cycling and golf on the doorstep. We welcome single travellers, groups of friends, families and well behaved dogs. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Old Rectory Wiltshire Westbury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing