We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best B&B ever”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Westbury
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Old Rectory Wiltshire
Ranked #1 of 12 Westbury B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 April 2014

My daughter and I spent three days at The Old Rectory Wiltshire and we completely fell in love with the place. There is no doubt that this is the best B&B we have ever stayed in. The house is beautiful and light, our room (and beds) incredibly comfortable, the garden huge and the breakfasts delicious. David and Helle were the perfect hosts, always happy to help with whatever we needed including giving us some great ideas for activities, sightseeing and shopping. We loved all the little personal touches which make such a big difference when you stay somewhere. We were made to feel extremely welcome and at home by Helle and David - and by Teddy and Tilly (their two adorable Border Terriers). Thank you, we will definitely be coming back!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nanne2501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helle D, Owner at The Old Rectory Wiltshire, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2014

HI there,
Thank you so much for your lovely review, very much appreciated. We are glad that the two of you enjoyed your stay and had a good time.
Very best wishes from us all and hope to see you again sometime.
Helle, David, William - and Teddy and Tilly who very much enjoyed your company

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (258)
There are newer reviews for The Old Rectory Wiltshire
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

145 - 151 of 258 reviews

Reviewed 22 April 2014

Our second holiday with Helle, David,William, Teddy and Tilly. Breakfasts superb, room so quiet with wonderful bird song in the mornings, Can't really wait until we return.. We have stayed in many B & Bs and this ranks among the best.

Ken and Dianne
Isle of Wight.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ken3886
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helle D, Owner at The Old Rectory Wiltshire, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2014

Dear Ken,
Thank you so much for taking time to write us a review. It was good having you here again and seeing you and your family enjoying yourselves. We look forward to seeing you again sometime, do remember to come in for a cup of tea if you are passing by.
Very warmest of wishes
Helle, David, William - and Teddy and Tilly who - like we - were sad to see you go.
PS Your tulips have been fantastic, still standing! Very spoiling indeed.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

We stayed with Helle and David the last weekend in March. It was a much needed break and we felt cosy and at home straight away.

The Old Rectory is a lovely reflection of both Helle and David and we genuinely felt they both wished us to enjoy their beautiful home, offering us cake on the lawn and some downtime in the sunny sitting room. The gardens were just starting to come to life and our dog and Teddy the Border Terrier become good pals for the 48 hours we were there, both enjoying the space and having a bark at the walkers and horses who passed by the gate.

The beds were really comfortable and they had thought of lots of small things to help make the stay comfortable i.e. homemade flapjacks in the room to have with a cup of tea and a supply of dog biscuits. You can also bring your own food/drink as David and Helle have a guest fridge where they are happy to store items during your stay.

There are some good local walks which are interesting and varied for such a small area. Take a wander through church yards, a small deer park and walk the ridgeway along to one of Wiltshire’s famous white horses at Westbury. It was great to do this pretty much from Helle and David’s doorstep. I would really recommend a look at the small church next to the Old Rectory.

There is a good local pub for food in the evening and snacks during the day. But if you are planning to ditch the car and walk to the pub, beware, the road is pretty dangerous.

After a day of walking, a good night’s rest you can be sure that there is a great brekkie waiting for you the next morning. There were AMAZING organic eggs, bacon etc. lovely local bread, so much so we hunted them down to take back home ourselves. A real effort is made to stick to the organic ethos.

There is another local B&B but I really recommend a stay with Helle and David. They are kind and gracious hosts and really went above and beyond to make our stay memorable. They are both very interesting people who, when you chat to them, stay in touch and have an ongoing relationship with a number of their guests. We really enjoyed our break.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chacakmackalattie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helle D, Owner at The Old Rectory Wiltshire, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2014

Hi there all three,
First of all, thank you so much for your very lovely review which we are chuffed about. Secondly, thanks also for the beautiful card, keyring and photos of Teddy and his new best friend (your gorgeous labrador). It was great having you and we hope that we might see you all again sometime. Very best wishes for super spring.
Helle, David, William - and Teddy and Tilly

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2014

Thank you to David, Helle and William (and co.) for making my business trip so Bath so enjoyable. They were extremley attentive hosts, they made me feel so welcome at all times during my stay. I loved my walk with the dogs through the village which is delightful. Thank you for letting me take them out. The house is so beautiful - so Georgian - so Jane Austen :). I am certainly looking forward to my next visit.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janet P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helle D, Owner at The Old Rectory Wiltshire, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2014

Dear Janet,
Thank you so much for your lovely review. We know you were going to be very busy, so much appreciated! It was lovely having you and thank you for taking the dogs for a walk, what a treat (for them and for us!). Quite a few guests have commented on the Jane Austen feel of the house because it is so peaceful here. We hope to see you again here at The Old Rectory and wish you a lovely sunny Easter.
Very best wishes from
Helle, David, William - and Teddy and Tilly!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2014

Our first stay at The Old Rectory and hopefully not our last. We were staying for a wedding so unfortunately did not have time to enjoy the facilities to the full but were made to feel extremely welcome and couldn't have been more comfortable. Particularly appreciated the sandwich and cake served quickly in the half an hour we had to change on arrival! Haven't slept so well in ages or enjoyed such a delicious breakfast.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claire B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helle D, Owner at The Old Rectory Wiltshire, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2014

Dear Claire,
Thank you so much for taking time to write us a review. It was lovely meeting you both and the wedding sounded super. We hope to see you again sometime - in the meantime have a lovely Easter with lots and lots of sunshine!
Very best wishes
Helle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2014

I've stayed twice at the Old Rectory in the last 2 months, and have had an extremely relaxing visit each time. Helle and David are wonderful hosts, extremely welcoming and really made me feel part of the family for the weekend. I loved the log fires, comfortable sofas, home-made cake for afternoon tea - and the breakfasts are brilliant, offering real quality and variety. I stayed in the Green Room and particularly appreciated the fresh flowers, well-stocked hospitality tray, fluffy bathrobe and handy "just in case" tin. I can't recommend the Old Rectory highly enough - it's my favourite place to go to unwind.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VeggieTraveller2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helle D, Owner at The Old Rectory Wiltshire, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2014

Hi there,
Thank you so much for your lovely review, great to hear that you feel at home here at The Old Rectory. We enjoyed your visit and as far as we are concerned, you are now part of the family. Thank you again for choosing to stay with us and have a wonderful and sunny spring.
Very the very warmest wishes from us all.
Helle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014

Helle and David are a lovely couple and made us and our dog feel at home straightaway. They were the perfect hosts, going out of their way to make our stay really enjoyable. The house and grounds are beautiful and the breakfasts amazing! We'll certainly be returning.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Judith V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helle D, Owner at The Old Rectory Wiltshire, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2014

Hi there all,
Thank you so much for taking time to write such a lovely review. It is our review number 100 and we are chuffed! It was lovely having you and the lovely doggie (and seeing her enjoy roaming around the garden). Look forward to seeing you again and hope you will have a seriously sunny spring!
Very best wishes
Helle and David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Westbury
7.0 mi away
Bishopstrow House
Bishopstrow House
#1 of 3 in Warminster
863 reviews
5.5 mi away
Chalford House Hotel
Chalford House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Westbury
120 reviews
7.3 mi away
Travelodge Warminster
Travelodge Warminster
#2 of 3 in Warminster
594 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
The Three Daggers
The Three Daggers
#1 of 2 in Edington
123 reviews
2.9 mi away
Littleton Lodge
Littleton Lodge
#1 of 1 in Littleton Panell
83 reviews
2.5 mi away
Prince Hill House
Prince Hill House
#1 of 1 in Worton
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Rectory Wiltshire? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Rectory Wiltshire

Address: 17 Church Lane, Coulston, Westbury BA13 4NY, England (Formerly The Old Rectory Coulston)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Westbury
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Westbury
Price Range: £60 - £80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You will get a warm welcome at The Old Rectory, a charming Georgian house situated in a quiet village in stunning countryside in rural Wiltshire, only one and a half hours train ride from London. Sightseeing include Stonehenge, Avebury, Bath, Salisbury, Wells. Houses/gardens: Longleat, Stourhead, Bowood. The Old Rectory is light, airy, beautifully decorated and extremely comfortable - our aim is to make you feel at home here. The almost 2 acre garden is safely fenced in and has wisterias, old fashioned roses and a big sunny lavender lined patio to enjoy. We source the best local produce for our delicious organic breakfasts. Wonderful walking, cycling and golf on the doorstep. We welcome single travellers, groups of friends, families and well behaved dogs. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Old Rectory Wiltshire Westbury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing