We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely setting, peaceful and welcoming.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Old Rectory Wiltshire
Ranked #1 of 12 Westbury B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 June 2014

We stayed two nights at this country hotel and were well looked after by our hosts David and Helle. They made us feel at home from the moment we arrived and nothing was too much trouble. We had our two dogs with us and unlike some places they were also well catered for. The breakfast was delicious with a good choice of hot and cold dishes and our room on the top floor of the building was spacious and comfortable. Would definitely book a return visit.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sylvia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helle D, Owner at The Old Rectory Wiltshire, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Dear Sylvia,
Thank you so much for taking time to write us such a kind review. It was great having you all - including your beautiful spaniels - and we would love to see you again down here although next time we will hope for better weather for you.
Very best wishes for a lovely summer, we hope you are finally enjoying some sunshine.
Helle, David, William - and Teddy and Tilly

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (266)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

142 - 148 of 266 reviews

Reviewed 3 June 2014

After a long trip on a busy motorway arriving at this lovely place is like coming home.
You immediately relax. Helle and David are a charming couple, who will do everything to make you feel welcome. The food is delicious, the beds comfortable - everything is just great :)

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank IMM53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helle D, Owner at The Old Rectory Wiltshire, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Hi there,
Thank you so much for your kind review. It was very lovely having you and we do hope to see you again here at The Old Rectory Wiltshire the next time you are visiting England.
Very warmest of wishes and have a great summer.
Helle and David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

This was our second visit, as we enjoyed ourselves so much last time. I can see TOR becoming a little bit of a second home for us! David and Helle are very welcoming, and their breakfasts are very special. The rooms are very clean and warm and we slept extremely well. Most of all, David and Helle were so helpful in every way, making us feel relaxed, suggesting places to visit, booking restaurants for us and being really super with our kids. We'll be back! Hugh, Denisa, Sebastian, Jasmine and Isabelle.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Hugh O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helle D, Owner at The Old Rectory Wiltshire, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2014

Dear Hugh,
Thank you so much for taking time out to write us such a lovely review. We know you are busy and we very much appreciate it. It was great having you all here again, the children are such fun and it was good to see you all relaxed and feeling at home.
We wish you all a super summer with lots of sunshine (for you and the garden) and look forward to hopefully seeing you next time you are in England.
Very warmest of wishes
Helle, David, William - and Teddy and Tilly

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2014

On arrival, we are greeted at the gate by owners David and Helle with warm welcoming smiles after a long trip that day. The home is so inviting and is tucked away in a beautiful part of the world. Helle and David went above and beyond to make us feel welcomed into their home. Full of helpful information for our journey. The service was just as outstanding and nothing was too much trouble...Helle is an amazing cook too!! . Thank you again so much Helle, David and William for making my friends and I feel so welcomed. I am telling everyone about you!!

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Natalee B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helle D, Owner at The Old Rectory Wiltshire, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2014

Dear Natalee,
Thank you so much for taking time to write us a review - and such a lovely one indeed. It was great having all of you and we missed your happy chatter when you left. Good to hear that you got safely back home and we hope that you will have a great time reminiscing about your trip to England.
Very best wishes
Helle, David, William - and Teddy and Tilly!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

It can often be a minefield booking via the Internet and Search engines without any personal recommendations but the initial photograph found via the Wiltshire accommodation site stood out as an attractive venue in a quiet location. A bit farther from our point of visit but it did not disappoint in any form. As both light sleepers this was just perfect and enjoyed a great sleep on both nights. Our hosts Helle and David were charming and e mailed us well in advance to offer us extra services such as booking a table in the pub/restaurant just down the road on our arrival night which we gladly accepted, especially after the long drive from Ayrshire in Scotland.
The house was as nice as the picture and we were given the clever attic conversion so had complete privacy. Both the hosts were delightful and ensured our every need was met yet retaining privacy although personally not a concern.
Woud be the only B&B I would consider if ever down in Wiltshire again and I almost regard our hosts as good friends now.
Very reluctant to promote it here as I want to keep it to myself!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank StephenMansfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helle D, Owner at The Old Rectory Wiltshire, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2014

Dear Stephen,
Thank you very much for taking time to write us such a kind review - and we are very glad you decided not to keep it to yourself! It was super having you both here and we hope that we may see you again if and when your research brings you to Wiltshire.
Please pass on our best wishes to your lovely daughter and have a great summer - hopefully with lots of sunshine.
Helle, David, William - and Teddy and Tilly

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014 via mobile

You drive down a narrow country lane and you stop at an old white gate. You get out and open the gate, you drive through and stop, you get out to close the gate behind you, you then drive along the short shingle path up to The Old Rectory.once you step out of the car and you are on the grounds, you immediately feel the weight fall off you, the grounds are immaculately kept, and free for you to enjoy, the welcome you receive defies description, it's like being wrapped in a soft warm
blanket of kindness. The owners of this beautiful hidden gem are David, Helle and their son William.
William greeted us the evening we arrived, he made us feel that we were coming home to stay, very comfortable indeed.
And from that point we knew that we were going to have a lovely break. My partner and I share a birthday on the 3rd of May, my lady choose The Old Rectory from a few guest houses we were looking at, and what a choice it was. Our room was big, with original wooden floorboards, and a heated Tile floor bathroom, large bed, etc. .... We felt right at home.
In the morning, the view from our double window room looked out over a neat lawn edged by bushes and trees, a little beauty for the morning eye.
We went down to breakfast and wad greeted by Helle and David, they made us feel like we were staying with friends, their willingness to make us feel so comfortable, knows no bounds. Breakfast is fresh,
we very much liked the salmon and scrambled eggs,
as well as the fresh fruit, tea, coffee, cereals. ....
One The morning of our birthday, we were given a birthday cake, card and the birthday song, a very special start to our day.
( William baked the cake, which was delicious and also very thoughtful and kind of him to do ). We spent 4 nights at The Old Rectory, when it came for us to leave, it was very hard to Walk away. David Helle and William are good, kind, heartfelt, loving and thoughtful people, when you surround yourself with personalities like them, your spirit feels a little better than it did before you arrived at The Old Rectory. Their pet dogs Teddy and Tilly, are a special touch.
A sweet visual drink for the eyes. With a beautifully spirited and kind family running this wonderful jewel in Wiltshire, it is highly recommended.
We will be going there again. For after what we experienced,
we want to, we have to, we need to.
beautiful place, beautiful people.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helle D, Owner at The Old Rectory Wiltshire, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2014

Dear Mark,
First of all, thank you so much for choosing to stay with us to celebrate your double birthdays. When you left we felt we had known you forever. And thank you for your wonderful and poetic review. Good to hear that you enjoyed your four days here so much and we are chuffed that you are thinking of coming back at some stage. Have a lovely spring and summer and do remember to pop in for a coffee/tea and chat if you are passing by.
The warmest of wishes from
Helle, David, William (who was pleased that you enjoyed his cake) - and Teddy and Tilly

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

We would highly recommend the Old Rectory if you are looking for somewhere the little bit special. The rooms are big and comfortable with lovely furnishings and the grounds are vast and green! Breakfast is fabulous with a selection of cereals, fresh fruit and your choice of either full English , smoked salmon and eggs or pancakes!! We were then greeted in the afternoon with tea biscuits and cakes and felt very spoilt!! Helle, David, William and their dogs Teddy and Tilly make you feel so welcome in their home, it's like staying with friends. This is the best guest house / B&B We have stayed in and would highly recommend it ! We will definitely be returning!! Thanks for a wonderful stay :-)

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Alison B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helle D, Owner at The Old Rectory Wiltshire, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2014

Dear Alison,
Thank you first and foremost for choosing The Old Rectory Wiltshire for your special holiday. And thanks for kind review. We loved having the two of you and we hope to see you again when your parents are visiting.
Very best wishes for a lovely weekend.
Helle, David and William - and Teddy and Tilly

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Westbury hotels
5.5 mi away
Chalford House Hotel
Chalford House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Westbury
129 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Three Daggers
The Three Daggers
#1 of 2 in Edington
125 reviews
8.1 mi away
Black Dog Farm B&B
Black Dog Farm B&B
#1 of 3 in Chapmanslade
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5 mi away
Horse & Groom B&B
Horse & Groom B&B
#6 of 12 in Westbury
15 reviews
1.1 mi away
Slades Farm Leisure
Slades Farm Leisure
#2 of 2 in Edington
21 reviews
5.7 mi away
Redwood Lodge B&B
Redwood Lodge B&B
#3 of 12 in Westbury
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Rectory Wiltshire? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Rectory Wiltshire

Address: 17 Church Lane, Coulston, Westbury BA13 4NY, England (Formerly The Old Rectory Coulston)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Westbury
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Westbury
Price Range: £74 - £94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Old Rectory Wiltshire 3*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You will get a warm welcome at The Old Rectory, a charming Georgian house situated in a quiet village in stunning countryside in rural Wiltshire, only one and a half hours train ride from London. Sightseeing include Stonehenge, Avebury, Bath, Salisbury, Wells. Houses/gardens: Longleat, Stourhead, Bowood. The Old Rectory is light, airy, beautifully decorated and extremely comfortable - our aim is to make you feel at home here. The almost 2 acre garden is safely fenced in and has wisterias, old fashioned roses and a big sunny lavender lined patio to enjoy. We source the best local produce for our delicious organic breakfasts. Wonderful walking, cycling and golf on the doorstep. We welcome single travellers, groups of friends, families and well behaved dogs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your The Old Rectory Wiltshire reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Rectory Wiltshire Westbury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing