We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Won 't be returning” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Horse and Groom

Horse and Groom
Ranked #9 of 36 Restaurants in Westbury
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$22
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Kids, Child-friendly, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: A traditional British Country Inn and B&B with real ales and classic pub food and grills. A family friendly pub with large garden and cosy restaurant and bar.
Westbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Won 't be returning”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

Had to ask to have our order taken. Given completely the wrong drink, twice. Long wait for food although restaurant not busy. All but one meals arrived, the chef forgot about one of the orders. No steak knives available at all. It wasn't all doom and gloom, the pub is in a beautiful setting and the young servers i'm sure we're trying their best. I wasn't overly impressed on my first visit so gave a second chance, sadly won't be returning for food.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Foxxy-Mammy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RMUSKER, Manager at Horse and Groom, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Many thanks for taking the time to write a review on Tripadvisor

I am so sorry that you did not enjoy your visit t the Horse & Groom last Friday. Although the restaurant was not busy the young waiter (Jordan) would normally be working with another more experienced waitress, who was ill that night.
I had understood that the problems with the drink had been quickly rectified as was the missing meal. As a result of the problems that your party experienced we sat down with the staff and discussed what went wrong, we have now re trained the way orders are taken so that they are clearer to read.

I do hope that you will visit us again and hopefully see that things have improved

Kind regards
Robert Musker
Innkeeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    24
    9
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Torquay
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Very welcoming!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

We were staying at another hotel in Westbury who, due to a concert in the market square, were not serving evening meals. So we came across the Horse & Groom and what a little jewel we found! The customers were all friendly everyone that came into the bar spoke to us. The waitress was a lovely young girl. We ended up staying for food. To b honest I've had better but it was all freshly cooked - nothing out of a microwave. But the staff made the evening a very pleasant experience & would go back there again when in Westbury again

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RMUSKER, Owner at Horse and Groom, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Many thanks for taking the time to post a review on Tripadvisor

I am delighted that you were made to feel welcome at the Horse & Groom on your recent visit, I'm sure it will come as a surprise to the 'locals' who have always had a reputation of eating strangers!

The young girl who served you was Megan who in addition to being a waitress is a very talented musician and I'm sure she will be very pleased to hear of your praise for her.

Although you were visiting Westbury I hope that we are able to welcome you again in the future

Kind regards
Robert Musker
Innkeeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“very average”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

Poor selection of lagers , beers ok .Barman / owner struggled to tear himself away from ipad to serve us then resumed straight after , wines by the glass very poor and served in dirty glass , lots smokers hanging around outside door. Saw two ladies wait an eternity for the barman , only for him to roll his eyes when they said they wanted more drinks , waitress oblivious and only intrested in serving/chatting to her boyfriend.

I guess it is what it is ,decided not to eat , shame as other reviews say good ??

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank devilstoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RMUSKER, Manager at Horse and Groom, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Many thanks for taking the time to post a review on tripadvisor.

I am so sorry that you didn't enjoy your recent visit to the horse and groom, we strive hard to provide a good service to all our clientele and it would appear that on this occasion we have failed.

If possible, would it be possible to give me a call on 01373 859 433 so that I can discuss your visit in more detail and then carry out some corrective training with my staff.

Kind regards

Robert Musker
Innleeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
“Awesome”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014 via mobile

Excellent steak meal and desert, with friendly atmosphere and staff. A must to visit. Good price. Its a must visit if you're in the area

Helpful?
Thank Kim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RMUSKER, Owner at Horse and Groom, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Many thanks for taking the time to post a review on tripadvisor

I am delighted that you enjoyed your recent visit to the horse and groom - I hope we will welcome you again in the near future

Kind regards

Robert Musker
Innkeeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“The bees knees! ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014 via mobile

The bees knees! Great food! Nice people! Friendly atmosphere! A pub garden to die for and some awesome ale! Even text from the garden and your drink will be brought to you in minutes! Now that's service!

Helpful?
2 Thank Jambo1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RMUSKER, Manager at Horse and Groom, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Very many thanks for taking the time to post a review on tripadvisor.

I am delighted that you like the Horse & Groom, I agree that the garden is awesome in fact I'm just off to cut the grass this morning to get it ready for a busy weekend.

It's great that you appreciate our service as the whole team very hard at getting this right.

I hope we can welcome you back in the near future

Kind regards

Robert Musker
Innkeeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Horse and Groom also viewed

Westbury, Wiltshire
 
Chapmanslade, Westbury
 
Westbury, Wiltshire
Westbury, Wiltshire
 

Been to Horse and Groom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing