We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely food, Roaring log fire.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Chalford House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Westbury
Certificate of Excellence
Westbury
Level Contributor
40 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Lovely food, Roaring log fire.”
Reviewed 2 December 2013

Enjoyed a lovely meal with our friends as a pre Christmas get together. The food was lovely and our Steak choices were perfectly cooked.Very nice atmosphere with the roaring log fire in the bar. Great place to sit and relax before or after dinner. Well worth a visit we will return..

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank karenwestbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    75
    29
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
28
24
5
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Warminster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2013

We recently went here for dinner and found it to be very good , The owner Ashley is a very friendly chap and makes you feel very welcome , The staff are very friendly and always check to make sure your food and drinks are always ok . The hotel is very clean and very warm for a comfortable evening would definatley give 10 out of 10 for this and we will always go back as the steaks are the best in town .

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank piler001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jersey
Level Contributor
63 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013

First time I've stayed here; it's unlikely to be the last! This is a lovely hotel; the location, on the main road, isn't perfect but I wasn't bothered by any noise.
My room was simply gorgeous; exposed beams, recently refurbished and my, oh my, have they done a great job! The bed was one of the most comfy I've slept in and I loved the huge fluffy quilt and top quality cotton bedding. Very spacious room with lots of storage space and an ensuite wet room. Great shower, with a choice of rain shower head, standard or both! I particularly liked the backlit mirror with infra red controls (I'm such a gadget freak).
Can't fault this hotel, price was reasonable, breakfast was good and the staff were helpful and friendly. Highly recommend it.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda1892
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wilts
Level Contributor
45 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2013

Enjoyed a family birthday meal here. The restaurant is a friendly and spacious room. Nice menu, something for everyone. We all chose the 300gm sirloin steak which arrived beautifully cooked to each request and accompanied with decent chips and vegetables. The starters were good sized portions and the boys particularly liked the well kept pint of beer. The desserts were interesting, a bit different from the usual fare. The service was really good, we were delighted with the complimentary bread and ' the nothing is too much trouble' attitude from the very nice man who served us. We had avoided this place for some years after two poor experiences and we are so pleased to see it has changed hands and is definitely on the up. I guess the new owners have a lot in mind to improve the property but are heading in the right direction. We will be going back again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank thebushes35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2013

Stayed with other members of the family and friends attending a birthday party nearby taking most of the hotel. Had a variety of rooms which were all good and mine was the best looking like one of the most recently refurbished with a wetroom shower number 8 at the top in the front of the building. However (I should have mentioned this on leaving but did not get a chance) the drain was in the middle of the room and a bit close to the sink so the floor was still wet if you had to go back in to the room. The bed was very comfortable and but you could hear road noise in the morning so a bit of double glazing would resolve that. The general areas are clearly still work in hand but still better than when I've been there before to the (whe it was the Cedars) Restaurant which is much brighter, didn't eat in there this time but happy to try another time. The breakfast room was very good as was the choice and the full english. Accommodated some changes and a special request with no fuss or cost! Ashley and staff were very friendly especially when we turned up in the bar in our 60's theme fancy dress and when Restaurant diners arrived.
I would gladly stay again and try the restaurant.

Room Tip: Attic rooms was good as were the ones in the Annex building. See photos added separately.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ben H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hereford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 September 2013

I stayed at the Chalford house hotel for 2 weeks whilst on business in the area. Ashley and Rachael have turned this hotel into a pleasant place to stay with a great atmosphere and excellent food. Well presented, newly refurbished rooms make it a home from home. I will highly recommend to family, friend and work colleges.
Many thanks Ashley and Rachael.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Masters101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashley H, Owner at Chalford House Hotel, responded to this review, 18 October 2014
Thank you for your kind comments. We strive as a personally run hotel to offer the best possible service and hope to see you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 September 2013 via mobile

Beware of old reviews - this hotel has been taken over by new owners and is being refurbished gradually, so old reviews re both the condition of the hotel and approach of the staff are not relevant. The hotel was previously called the Cedars and reviews appear under that name as well.

I stayed recently and it is a perfectly respectable hotel. My room was clean, everything present and correct, comfortable bed etc. staff were friendly and helpful and breakfast was good.

Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Martin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Westbury
4.5 mi away
Premier Inn Trowbridge Hotel
4.3 mi away
Bishopstrow House
Bishopstrow House
#1 of 3 in Warminster
4.0 of 5 bubbles 829 reviews
4.5 mi away
Premier Inn Frome Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Redwood Lodge B&B
Redwood Lodge B&B
#4 of 12 in Westbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
4.2 mi away
The Three Daggers
The Three Daggers
#1 of 2 in Edington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
0.6 mi away
Horse & Groom B&B
Horse & Groom B&B
#7 of 12 in Westbury
5.0 of 5 bubbles 8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chalford House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chalford House Hotel

Property: Chalford House Hotel
Address: 114 Warminster Road, Westbury BA13 3PR, England (Formerly Cedar Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Westbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Westbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Chalford HouseHotel, is a stylish, family run hotel situated in the town of Westbury, on the edge of the Salisbury Plain and in close proximity to the towns of Bath, Salisbury and the Longleat Estate. Offering 18 individually furnished en-suite bedrooms we look forward to welcoming you for business or leisure. We offer 24 hour check in and concierge service ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Chalford House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chalford House Hotel Westbury, Wiltshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing