We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pathetic Service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Splendid Inn Port Edward
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Port Edward
Reviewed 4 September 2011

I recently preaaranged a family weekend trip and decided to book at the Premier Hotel Edwardian. What a mistake. I had often seen this hotel from the roadside and the meditteranean exterior far outweighs the worst of South African Hospitality. Janita did my booking and promised me a an interleading room where my two sons could have their 2 single beds. Upon arrival the trainee gentleman was very obliging but obviously did not have the necessary expertise to handle our booking. We were allocated to room G8, a room upon entry smells like fresh paint that penetrates your sinuses and airways and a man hanging up the curtains . The view was that of themain road and there was a sleeper couch in a room. When I went down to enquire about the discrepency , a young white lady came over , and with great frustration proceeded to check up my details on computer. All the time the trainee was trying to explain to her that I had already paid and my details wereon the system. She proceeded to bang the cupboards and then pull out some keys and instruct someone to take us to another room. All this time with a rotten attitude not even saying hello. I voiced my disapproval at her behaviour and eventually Janita surfaced. She disputed our telephonic agreement and was very brazen in her attitude. I demanded a reversal of my payment and told her that I no longer wanted to stay at the Edwardian for her failure to jonor her agreement coupled with the unprofessional and rude staff that are employed there. Just a reminder to the frnt desk staff of the Edwardian...the customer is the one who pays your bills. In an economic downturn it is imperative that you keep your customers happy...and all that takes sometimes is courtesy and professionalism....Something Janita and her staff lack. I am a medical doctor and would hate to treat my patients with that degree of unprofessionalism. I urge all prospective tourists to the South Coast area to avoid the Premier Hotel Edwardian to spare yourself great disappointment. Overall a horrible experience.
Dr L. Pillay
Pietermaritzburg

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank Llewellyn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (99)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

96 - 99 of 99 reviews

Reviewed 4 May 2011

The reservation was screwed up. My room had no top sheet, no wash cloth, no air conditioning and the toilet was broken. The meal was served after two hours of waiting. There is a policy to bill your room then serve when the kitchen feels like it ... no matter who is at your table. They do not serve the whole table at once. They were out of ground beef so no hamburgers etc. They had no sausage so they served breakfast sausage for Bangers and Mash. The General Manager was no on site ... actually works in a different city. What used to be a good hotel looks like it has been taken over by Premier and is being milked for profits. Had to defrost the frig. which was empty ... not even bottled water.

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank TravelingAllena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2014
Google Translation

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DanieleF71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PremierHotelsSocial, General Manager at Splendid Inn Port Edward, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2013
Google Translation

Room Tip: Tip: als je verveelt kun je naar Wildcoast Sun gaan. Is 10 minuten rijden vanaf het hotel. Er is o.a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wilma F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PremierHotelsSocial, General Manager at Splendid Inn Port Edward, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Edward
1 mi away
Wild Coast Sun Hotel
Wild Coast Sun Hotel
#3 of 4 in Port Edward
263 reviews
9.2 mi away
San Lameer Resort Hotel & Spa
1.3 mi away
The Estuary Hotel & Spa
The Estuary Hotel & Spa
#1 of 4 in Port Edward
345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.8 mi away
HillBillion Estate
HillBillion Estate
#1 of 1 in Shelly Beach
7 reviews
17.2 mi away
La Cote d'Azur
La Cote d'Azur
#3 of 6 in Margate
72 reviews
16.4 mi away
Margate Sands
Margate Sands
#2 of 6 in Margate
116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Splendid Inn Port Edward? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Splendid Inn Port Edward

Address: Corner Ramsey Ave and Main Str, Port Edward 4295, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Port Edward
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Port Edward
Price Range: £38 - £96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Splendid Inn Port Edward 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the Hibiscus Coast of Kwa-Zulu Natal in the small coastal town of Port Edward, Splendid Inn Port Edward welcomes you to experience panoramic views of the Indian Ocean and lush coastal hillsides from its private balconies. Port Edward is a popular holiday destination, offering many magnificent stretches of beach. Outdoor activities include swimming, fishing, tennis, hiking, mountain bike trails and a golfing extravaganza with nine 18 hole golf courses within an 85km radius. With the exceptional surroundings, excellent service and luxurious accommodation that this Tuscan Style hotel offers, Splendid Inn Port Edward is the perfect choice for both the business & leisure traveler. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Splendid Inn Port Edward reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing