We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One-night stopover”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kuboboyi River Lodge
Ranked #4 of 14 Port Edward B&B and Inns
Pietermaritzburg
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“One-night stopover”
Reviewed 16 May 2013

Unfortunately we visited during off-peak season and the chef was not present, so we were not able to have the food that is so often reviewed as excellent. Otherwise, the accommodation was quiet and comfortable, and it was a real pleasure to have a breakfast with the not-too-distant ocean in view.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adam A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    19
    14
    3
    3
    0
See reviews for
4
17
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Cologne, Germany
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2012

After 4 visits in the past 10 years this place is still one of my favorite hostels in SA, if you just want to relax and take advantage of the really good food.
If there is something to complain, a corner with a couch or some deck chairs would be nice.
Not a place for the party crowd indeed which i appreciate.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 404-hostel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durban, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 December 2012

We only had time to stay for one night but we would have longer if we had had the time.
The lodges are on a hill and go along with a nice view to the ocean.The room was big enough and clean, so was the bathroom. We booked the version without en-suite bathroom and it was totally worth the money. The owner was very friendly and together with his team (he put much emphasis on that) he presented a faboulous dinner with a great view. I had an excellent rump steak which I would had never expected anywhere else besides in an upmarket restaurant.
Besides, the staff was absoluetely friendly and helpful, we were given the right advice for the little time we had and had a very good time.
All in all, I definetly recommend a stay at Ku-Boboyi!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary312595
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hockenheim
2 reviews
Reviewed 3 February 2012

stayed there about 2 weeks. Plain, simple , friendly, one of the best locations in ZA off the beaten track, relaxed and layed back , backpacker style
As southcoast KZN is a foody`s desert ,this is an oasis. French by origin , chef Eric serves plain good handmade dishes as it SHOULD be Breakfast is outstanding lekker

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank berryfarmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 January 2012

We found the owner Eric to be foul tempered and very rude....he made the experiance very unpleasent, we had read a good review in the 'Alternate Route' so this was rather sad. The pool was nice but apart from that there is nothing much to do.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Violetdear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
110 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2012

We stayed in Kuboboyi for two nights and we really enjoyed them.
The breath-taking view it has from the pool is unmatchable, and the owner/host Eric cooked us some AMAZING dinners. He was very helpful and knowledgeable about the area, something that helped us find interesting things to do since we faced bad weather.
The room was very clean and had great views of the beach. You wake up to the sound of birds and nature, it was beautiful.
Port Edward is nothing special, but Kuboboyi is in the city's outskirts, and there are quaint little shops near it worth checking out.
We will def come back!

Room Tip: The rooms on the right side of the building are the quietest and best for privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank caromitxirrika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2011

Kububoyi - what a pleasant end to our backpacking journey - with new, modern and spotless rooms and bathrooms, clean and fresh linen and towels, a very friendly host, a gorgeous view and great hospitality overall. Definitely well worth it!

Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank happybackpacker22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Edward
3.3 mi away
Wild Coast Sun Hotel
Wild Coast Sun Hotel
#3 of 4 in Port Edward
3.5 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
7.0 mi away
San Lameer Resort Hotel & Spa
2.3 mi away
Splendid Inn Port Edward
Splendid Inn Port Edward
#4 of 4 in Port Edward
3.0 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The Estuary Hotel & Spa
The Estuary Hotel & Spa
#1 of 4 in Port Edward
4.0 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
1.9 mi away
Zesty Guesthouse
Zesty Guesthouse
#1 of 14 in Port Edward
4.0 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
12.5 mi away
Beach Motel
Beach Motel
#1 of 5 in Ramsgate
4.0 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kuboboyi River Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kuboboyi River Lodge

Property: Kuboboyi River Lodge
Address: Old Main Road | Leisure Bay South, Port Edward 4295, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Port Edward
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Port Edward
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Kuboboyi River Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing