We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced, and too many "extras".”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Kuboboyi River Lodge
Ranked #4 of 15 Port Edward B&B and Inns
Reviewed 7 February 2014

We were only there for one night. We went there because of their advertised R300 for two people in a double room, but when we arrived we were told they had some kind of plumbing problem and those rooms weren't available. We were offered a room with an ensuite tub and toilet for R450 and we took it. The first room we were shown had a musty moldy smell in the bathroom, but the second room was fine. When we went to pay, we were told that internet access was another R50. Sorry, but in this day and age internet should be included in the price. Then, we were told that we had to pay an extra R30 per person if we wanted to drink our own beer and wine that we had brought! Huh??

We slept okay, and other than the dead cockroach we found in the kitchen cupboard it was okay. We would have probably been happier if we had got a room for R300, but for R450 it's overpriced.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank karead7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (46)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

16 - 22 of 46 reviews

Reviewed 17 January 2014

Well located property with amazing view from deck in the bush, but urgent need for revamp.
Close to Port Edward, have restaurant and bar on premises. Room is spacious with bathroom but paint is pealing everywhere, damp smell all over, looks dirty but weren't dirty. Friendly staff, good service. Good night rest, quiet and as mentioned, amazing view from pool.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Doneb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2014

Stayed for a night while headed down the Coast; we were playing it by ear and we were lucky they still had a room! Really wonderful, chill place, just a couple minutes drive from the beautiful Leisure Bay beach (way better than the crowded Port Edward beach). Room was small, but clean and comfortable. The food in the restaurant was awesome, both dinner and breakfast. Really nice covered patio overlooking the pool, trees and the ocean. The owner and staff are super friendly and helpful. Would totally go back, highly recommended.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BrideChilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2013

We stayed just one night but enjoyed it very much. From the poolside you get a panoramic view of the sea, ahhhh! We could have stayed for a week in the tranquil, peaceful atmosphere. Breakfast was excellent but would have preferred plunger coffee. Eric, you have put Port Edward on the map for us.

Room Tip: Choose a room away from the veranda to avoid smoke and evening chatter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gardengirlafrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2013

Ku Boboyi is a place to stay a week, a month or a life (as the owner Eric). We spent 2 nights there and it was wonderful !
The rooms are big enough, clean and quiet. We had amazing dinners in front of the ocean. Eric is very friendly and he makes you feel at home. He helped us to find things to do and even a mechanic fixing our car at the lodge!

We crossed SA from coast to coast and it's definitely one of the best place to stay.
Hope we can go back there anytime soon.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CCN74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2013

Unfortunately we visited during off-peak season and the chef was not present, so we were not able to have the food that is so often reviewed as excellent. Otherwise, the accommodation was quiet and comfortable, and it was a real pleasure to have a breakfast with the not-too-distant ocean in view.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adam A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2012

After 4 visits in the past 10 years this place is still one of my favorite hostels in SA, if you just want to relax and take advantage of the really good food.
If there is something to complain, a corner with a couch or some deck chairs would be nice.
Not a place for the party crowd indeed which i appreciate.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 404-hostel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Edward
3.3 mi away
Wild Coast Sun Hotel
Wild Coast Sun Hotel
#2 of 4 in Port Edward
251 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Estuary Hotel & Spa
The Estuary Hotel & Spa
#1 of 4 in Port Edward
329 reviews
2.3 mi away
Splendid Inn Port Edward
Splendid Inn Port Edward
#4 of 4 in Port Edward
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
San Lameer Resort Hotel & Spa
1.9 mi away
Zesty Guesthouse
Zesty Guesthouse
#1 of 15 in Port Edward
57 reviews
1.8 mi away
No photo provided
Windwood Lodge B&B
#10 of 15 in Port Edward
1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kuboboyi River Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kuboboyi River Lodge

Address: Old Main Road | Leisure Bay South, Port Edward 4295, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Port Edward
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Port Edward
Price Range: £28 - £39 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Kuboboyi River Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing