We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“River Cruise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Wild Coast Sun Hotel
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Port Edward
Reviewed 22 November 2012

The river cruise from the Wild Coast Sun, is well worth the effort. The large river cruiser can take about 80 passengers in comfort. The cruise wich lasts about 1 hour leaves four times a day in season and slowly meanders up Mtamvuma river between Port Edward and the Wild Cost Sun. Fish Eagles can be spotted on the way upi the river. Refreshmenst are available on board however there is no toilet facilities

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Rod S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (274)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

246 - 252 of 274 reviews

Reviewed 15 November 2012

We have spent 6 wonderful days here, the rooms are gorgeous with breathtaking sunrise views over the beach & ocean. You can let your hair down and enjoy every moment, spend lazy days around the picture perfect pool with a beautiful cocktail in hand and just unwind away from the City. The restaurants are great and value for money where we loved having romantic dinners at Fishmonger & Squires including Chico's which is the hotel restaurant. The Driftwood deck was also great to spend some time catching up with friends and the other entertainment provided.

We loved it so much that we are spending another week before Christmas.

There is also the availability of horse riding on the wide open beaches which makes great holiday photos and much more to do and even just taking a stroll on the beach was wonderful as the beach is not crowded at all.


Just the perfect place to get away from it all.

Room Tip: We only book sea view rooms as it is great to sit and watch the ocean early mornings when your partn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maryna R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2012

We spent three nights here while attending a conference. The revamp is fabulous. We had a room on the west side (meaning we had a garden view rather than sea view) which was absolutely fine as it gave more privacy than sea view rooms. Crisp white linen, spotlessly clean; polite and efficient service; and great amenities. Despite the rain we did the walk to the petrified forest with a guide which was well worth the heavy calf work along the beach to get there. Scenery is spectacular - you can really see how this place got the name "wild coast". The guide was very knowledgeable about all sorts of things and was completely fluent in Afrikaans as well as English. Well worth going to.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms (east facing) are the even numbered ones. If you are there in stormy weather like us...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank InkySA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2012

I just attended a conference at the Wild Coast. While the venue is really great and the recent re-furb has made a big difference to the rooms, my wife and I found the service to be lacking. The attention to detail by the housekeeping staff was not great. Little things like replenishing toilet paper and soap just was not done. The service by the hotel staff was also very slow.
The new water park is definitely worth a visit. World class facility.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FrankZA368
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2012

I recently spent two nights at the Wild Coast Sun. I have visited this resort many times since i was a child, and was impressed with the newly refurbished rooms and the recently opened Wild Waves water park. However, there are many negative aspects to this resort which require improvement.

Although the rooms and bathrooms are new, the common areas of the property, the reception, and the casino, are all exactly as they were twenty years ago. One major disappointment is the food options at the resort. The room service menu is woefully inadequate with very few choices. Furthermore, if you are a vegetarian or halal/kosher eater, you can expect to starve at the Wild Coast Sun, because the fast food outlets and restaurants do not cater for you.

On checking out, i made three calls for a porter to collect my luggage, and nobody came. Eventually i gave up and had to drag my bags upstairs to the lobby. The staff are pleasant, but service is average at most. The weather in the Wild Coast is rainy most of the time, and if you happen to be there on a rainy weekend like i was, prepare to be bored stiff.

The Wild Coast Sun feels alot like Genting Highlands in Malaysia. It's like a low cost, tacky version of a Macau or Vegas casino resort.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SolskjaerZA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2012

My husband and I wanted to get away for the weekend. We stayed at the wild coast sun for 1 night.
The hotel is lovely - set in a very natural surrounding.

The rooms are beautiful with bathrooms designed for romance...

The only problem we had was when we checked in. The check in time was at 4pm. We were not informed about this. The staff at reception made several false promises concerning our check in times- we had arrived at around 1 pm and was assured we would get our room by 2pm. How ever the room was not available by 3.30pm. My husband was deeply annoyed and vented his feelings. The staff at reception acknowledged this and up graded us to a room with a sea view.
The rest of our stay was very enjoyable. We definitely recommend.

Room Tip: Ask for a room closer to reception. Possibly with sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Atia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2012

Traveled recently on business and the hotel was great. Rooms all recently renovated and very beautiful. The staff were very polite and efficient. I did not gamble or experience any of the leisure activities as I was in conference but the food was great and did manage to go for early morning walks on the beach which was great.

Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
Thank J W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Edward
11.8 mi away
San Lameer Resort Hotel & Spa
2.5 mi away
Splendid Inn Port Edward
Splendid Inn Port Edward
#4 of 4 in Port Edward
100 reviews
3.8 mi away
The Estuary Hotel & Spa
The Estuary Hotel & Spa
#1 of 4 in Port Edward
357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.7 mi away
La Cote d'Azur
La Cote d'Azur
#3 of 6 in Margate
75 reviews
18.9 mi away
Margate Sands
Margate Sands
#2 of 6 in Margate
120 reviews
3 mi away
Zesty Guesthouse
Zesty Guesthouse
#1 of 15 in Port Edward
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wild Coast Sun Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wild Coast Sun Hotel

Address: Main Bazana Road, Port Edward 4295, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Port Edward
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Port Edward
Price Range: £79 - £149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Wild Coast Sun Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 146
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Wild Coast Sun and Country Club in South Africa is set on an unspoiled beach in the Cape and attracts visitors with its beguiling beauty and activities on offer. The resort is set on 750 hectares of natural bush between two rivers overlooking the Indian Ocean. The area offers tourists and conference delegates a variety of attractions and activities – from walks along our unspoilt beaches to deep sea fishing and scuba diving. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Wild Coast Sun Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wild Coast Sun

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing