We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, amazing views, so-so service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Wild Coast Sun Hotel
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Port Edward
Potchefstroom, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great location, amazing views, so-so service”
Reviewed 23 December 2013

This hotel offers a spectacular setting: units facing a big swimming pool with the ocean as a backdrop. One can go swim in the pool and then chill by its side looking at the waves down below and having something nice to drink. The beach is 30 seconds away - just a short walk down a hill. The design of the property couldn't be better. In the service department, there is a lot to be improved. Our unit had a lot of problems: from lights not working to a bathroom tap leaking, etc. There was something wrong with their electrical sockets as well. When we plugged in our two phones to charge, the lights went off and my iphone charger got fried!!!! Spent the next day in continuous discussions with the reception staff. They did have an intention to replace the charger, but in the end just gave some cash for compensation. Good intentions, little help though. For the kind of money one has to pay for this hotel, things like that should not happen.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Natalia O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    50
    85
    52
    19
    29
See reviews for
113
64
3
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Durban, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2013 via mobile

We had a family room which consisted of 2 queen beds with a bathroom. Room rather small but then you only want to sleep there as there's so much to do and experience. Superb ocean views, great restaurants & pubs, casino, the list is just too long. Excellent view to relax. Will definitely be back. Thumbs up to management & staff.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Piet F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviewed 18 October 2013

Best 5 day holiday I've had in a long time, friendly and helpful staff, awesome place for kids, plenty to do for them, wild waves is a must as iswaterworld, only disappointment was steers,
I will definitely return.

Room Tip: Get sea facing on the ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sean H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durban
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2013

This is a perfect destination for a convention. The property is massive and there are plenty of venues and offerings to keep all delegates entertained. All the functions were very well organized. The staff were friendly and the food selection was vast. The rooms have been recently renovated with a ‘beachy’ ‘resorty’ vibe but to be honest I don’t know if I’d come here for an intimate, relaxed vacation.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Craig R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013

I visited the resort many years ago and it was not bad, however, on this trip many things concerned me: the hotel seems like it is in dire need of a facelift and on arrival my room was not ready, even though it was long past check-in time. There was no kettle in my room and I was missing teaspoons, coffee etc. I ordered room service, which they got completely wrong. The food ingredients used for breakfast was 'budget' at best and the coffee was stale. No free WiFi.

The room was very cramped, though well appointed and they had a decent number of channels on TV to watch. The rooms need a couch to sit on.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FreqBusinessTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Port Edward hotels

Bromsgrove, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2013

Stayed at the Wild Coast Sun for 3 days while attending a conference arranged by the University of South Africa. Has a beautiful 2 room suite, each room with its own balcony looking out at the Indian Ocean - each morning, had the pleasure of seeing a large pod of dolphins cruising past, while the bird life in the trees immediately adjacent to the hotel was fantastic. Watch out for the monkeys - if you leave a door open and turn your back, they will be in your room and will grab anything they think is food! Staff were all very friendly and the guys at reception made it a point to greet you by name any time you went there. As it was a business event, we ate all the meals in the main restaurant - plentiful, tasty and with good service. Plenty to do after hours, ranging from a walk on the beach, a visit to the gym or Waterwolrd, a round of golf or chancing your luck in the casino.

Room Tip: Rooms on the fourth or fifth floor have the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Centurion, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
294 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 265 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013

I took my wife to the hotel for a long weekend, to also show her Port Edward where I had spent many of my childhood holidays. Upon our arrival at reception we were welcomed in a friendly manner. Check-in was completed in a quick and efficient way and we were also assisted with our luggage.
The room was found to be neat and clean, with the décor of a good standard.
We enjoyed good and tasty meals at Squire’s and Chico’s Restaurants, but felt that there was a lack of management presence during our visit. At Chico’s restaurant while having breakfast, the staff were interacting with each other in a rather loud tone of voice without respecting the presence of the guests. Our table was never visited by any member of management, making us felt ignored, while they were having lengthy conversations with local residents.
We also experienced the housekeeping to be below standard, as our room never received a turndown service during our stay, and we had to request for bathroom towels.
We still enjoyed our weekend there, but experienced that the service in particular was not up to the expected Sun International standard.

I first visited the Wild Coast Sun in 1983 and was slightly disappointed that the property showed several signs of ageing since then, despite recent renovations.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LeonKay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Edward
10.3 mi away
San Lameer Resort Hotel & Spa
1.0 mi away
Splendid Inn Port Edward
Splendid Inn Port Edward
#4 of 4 in Port Edward
93 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Estuary Hotel & Spa
The Estuary Hotel & Spa
#1 of 4 in Port Edward
303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.0 mi away
La Cote d'Azur
La Cote d'Azur
#3 of 6 in Margate
57 reviews
1.5 mi away
Zesty Guesthouse
Zesty Guesthouse
#1 of 14 in Port Edward
55 reviews
3.3 mi away
Kuboboyi River Lodge
Kuboboyi River Lodge
#4 of 14 in Port Edward
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wild Coast Sun Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wild Coast Sun Hotel

Property: Wild Coast Sun Hotel
Address: Main Bizana Road , 5, 2 Km south of Port Edward, Port Edward 4295, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Port Edward
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Port Edward
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Wild Coast Sun Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 146
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Wild Coast Sun and Country Club in South Africa is set on an unspoiled beach in the Cape and attracts visitors with its beguiling beauty and activities on offer. The resort is set on 750 hectares of natural bush between two rivers overlooking the Indian Ocean. The area offers tourists and conference delegates a variety of attractions and activities – from walks along our unspoilt beaches to deep sea fishing and scuba diving. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Wild Coast Sun Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wild Coast Sun

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing