We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Hosts”
Review of Avocado Grove B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Avocado Grove B&B
Ranked #1 of 5 Flaxton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 June 2012

Just returned from a 6 night stay visiting family in Flaxton. The Sharwill Suite was ideal for us as it had its own walkway/entrance from the car park which meant we did't disturb other guests with our constant coming and going. The room was always warm, very clean and well appointed.
Having met John and Sonya for the first time we look forward to many return stays with them.
Thanks Gray and Joan

Room Tip: Sharwill suite for an extended stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GrayJoan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 6 June 2012

Thankyou so much for the lovely review. How nice it was to meet you both. Look forward to seeing you again when you come for your next stay at the Grove.
John and Sonya

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (391)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

362 - 368 of 391 reviews

Reviewed 3 June 2012

We can't rave about Avocado Grove enough!! Sonya and John welcomed us in and we felt at home immediately. The food, service, accommodation and company were perfect! The location is beautiful and right near the divine Flaxton Gardens Restaurant - which Avocado Grove kindly dropped us off and picked us up from so we could enjoy a few drinks :).

If you want to stay somewhere where you can get local advice on places to visit in the area, great conversation and a place where you will be treated as an individual and genuine efforts will be made to make your stay marvelous - than this is the place for you!

Room Tip: We stayed downstairs in the 'Sharwil' room. The room was HUGE!! It was stocked with tea and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank E D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 5 June 2012

Hi Emily & Evaan,
Thankyou for the wonderful review you have given us. We certainly look forward to you staying again sometime in the future.
Sonya and John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2012

My partner and I stayed at Avocado Grove over the Easter holidays. We had the most wonderful time, the hosts were so lovely, helpful and welcoming.
We were greeted with some freshly baked cake and tea and in the evening we decided to have a 3 course dinner that John cooked – it was amazing as so was the breakfast that was included with the room.
Despite having a full house Sonya and John looked after all the guests in the most attentive and friendly manner. We were so grateful they allowed dogs as our holidays wouldn’t have been the same without our Little Buster. He had the best time.
The place is just fabulous, a beautiful homestead in the middle of magical surroundings. The view from the deck is magnificent; the room was impeccably clean and attentively furbished.

We all had a wonderful holiday and couldn't recommend Avocado Grove enough.

Thank you for the wonderful experience John and Sonia.
Anna, Josh and Little Buster

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Comik99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 6 June 2012

Hi Anna Josh & Buster,
Thankyou so much for the excellent review we received. It means a lot to John and I. We were hoping to see you all again but I think you have run out of time. In case we dont see you, have a safe and wonderful trip to Italia and Uk Chaio. Sonya and John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2012

nice relaxing place with a fantasic breakfast and lovely service by some really great people
best Hosts for a long time. Highly Recommended.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Luke M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2012

Sonya and John are wonderful, gracious hosts. Our requests were met without fail. The view from the balcony was just divine; so peaceful and serene. Our breakfast was better than we could have hoped for, the food just kep coming and coming. The fruit was fresh and showcased everything Queensland is famous for. Our room and bathroom were clean and spacious, they even met fussy teenager standards. I would have no trouble recommending Avocado Grove.

Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
2  Thank Cynthia T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2012

John & Lorraine
Perfectly located in a quiet beautiful friendly spacious home away from home.
The guest living area was large and very comfortable, the balcony and bedroom made us feel at home but with a better view!
John & Sonya were the most gracious and perfect hosts, the meals were delightful and nothing was a bother to accommodate us.
Even left with a gift of their beautiful Avocados.
The best kept secret on the Sunshine Coast, we will return.


..

Room Tip: All the rooms were well presented with comfortable bedding & furnishings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lorraine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2012

Stunning setting, clean and beautiful inside, an absolute gem of a find!John and Sonya could not have been more helpful, they went out of their way to accommodate us. We only stayed 1 night but I cant wait to get back to relax and enjoy this gorgeous place!!:)

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ash812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Flaxton
4.3 mi away
Clouds of Montville
Clouds of Montville
#3 of 3 in Montville
182 reviews
1.5 mi away
Kondalilla Eco Resort
Kondalilla Eco Resort
#1 of 1 in Flaxton
463 reviews
10.3 mi away
Bli Bli House Luxury Accommodation
Bli Bli House Luxury Accommodati...
#1 of 110 in Sunshine Coast
347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Peppertree Cottage
Peppertree Cottage
#3 of 5 in Flaxton
101 reviews
2.9 mi away
Montville Mountain Inn Resort
1 mi away
Tanglewood Gardens
Tanglewood Gardens
#4 of 5 in Mapleton
144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avocado Grove B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avocado Grove B&B

Address: 10 Carramar Ct, Flaxton, Queensland 4560, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Sunshine Coast > Flaxton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Flaxton
Price Range: £81 - £94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Avocado Grove is a modern western red cedar Queenslander with wrap around verandahs, situated away from the main road in quiet, peaceful leafy surrounds, and landscaped gardens. Located at Flaxton, near Montville, Mapleton and Maleny on the beautiful Blackall Range (Sunshine Coast Hinterland). Avocado Grove has over 3 acres of land and was originally part of an extensive Avocado Farm. Many of the trees have been retained and still produce a healthy crop. We offer a choice of 4 guest rooms: Sharwil Suite, Reed, Hass and Shepard. The lounge is air conditioned and well equipped with large Plasma screen, DVD, Stereo, books games and a fireplace for those cool winter evenings. Breakfast is served on the Gazebo facing the Blackall Range. There is also a fridge here for guests. Prearranged 2/3 Course dinners can be served either in the dining room or on the Gazebo. We are situated only 500 metres from Flaxton Gardens. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing