We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“JGDM Avocado for breakfast”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Avocado Grove B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Avocado Grove B&B
Ranked #1 of 5 Flaxton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Murwillumbah, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“JGDM Avocado for breakfast”
Reviewed 7 June 2012

We stayed at Avocado Grove with another couple in order to visit nearby French restaurant, Le Relais Bresson, for a celebratory dinner. The beautifully appointed lounge and terrace gave each couple plenty of room to be together for coffee or champagne, while still having plenty of space and independence in our lovely bedrooms. John and Sonya were delightful hosts who provided us with little luxuries like champagne flutes (those of you who have had to resort to bathroom glasses for champagne or wine while travelling would appreciate this point) and a beautifully rich fruit cake with coffee on arrival. John very kindly drove us to the restaurant and arranged our return. Breakfast on the terrace, surrounded by plants and birds, was highlighted by a yummy fresh avocado each to smother on our toast as well as all the other things a good home cooked meal entails. The care John and Sonya took of us in their lovely home made our stay a real pleasure.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GMDB000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at Avocado Grove B&B, responded to this review, 14 June 2012
Thankyou so much for the lovely card I received today and its contents. So happy we found a home for the glasses. Thankyou also for your lovely review, yes sometimes its just the littlle things that count. Hope to see you again, when you return with the brains! Either call or email.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

357 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    335
    22
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
80
193
13
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 6 June 2012

We had a simply wonderful weekend at Avocado Grove and can't recommend it highly enough. The property is set in a quiet, scenic location with great views. We had our small dog with us and he was made to feel just as welcome and at home as we were. We stayed in the Sharwil suite on the ground floor and it was just perfect for us. The room was spacious, clean, and wonderfully appointed. We had a lovely dinner in our room on the first night and enjoyed it so much we ate there on our 2nd night too. Our little dog could be with us at all times so we never had to leave him alone in a new place. The food is wonderful, don't miss out on the great dinners during your stay. Breakfast was delicious also, so much great food. We had a wonderful, relaxing time at Avocado Grove and will definitely be back.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at Avocado Grove B&B, responded to this review, 7 June 2012
John and I are so pleased you and Neil had a a great weekend away especially as it was Neils birthday.We enjoyed meeting you both and look forward to your next stay. Sonya and John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hastings Point
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2012

Just returned from a 6 night stay visiting family in Flaxton. The Sharwill Suite was ideal for us as it had its own walkway/entrance from the car park which meant we did't disturb other guests with our constant coming and going. The room was always warm, very clean and well appointed.
Having met John and Sonya for the first time we look forward to many return stays with them.
Thanks Gray and Joan

Room Tip: Sharwill suite for an extended stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GrayJoan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Avocado Grove B&B, responded to this review, 6 June 2012
Thankyou so much for the lovely review. How nice it was to meet you both. Look forward to seeing you again when you come for your next stay at the Grove.
John and Sonya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2012

We can't rave about Avocado Grove enough!! Sonya and John welcomed us in and we felt at home immediately. The food, service, accommodation and company were perfect! The location is beautiful and right near the divine Flaxton Gardens Restaurant - which Avocado Grove kindly dropped us off and picked us up from so we could enjoy a few drinks :).

If you want to stay somewhere where you can get local advice on places to visit in the area, great conversation and a place where you will be treated as an individual and genuine efforts will be made to make your stay marvelous - than this is the place for you!

Room Tip: We stayed downstairs in the 'Sharwil' room. The room was HUGE!! It was stocked with tea and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank E D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at Avocado Grove B&B, responded to this review, 5 June 2012
Hi Emily & Evaan,
Thankyou for the wonderful review you have given us. We certainly look forward to you staying again sometime in the future.
Sonya and John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 April 2012

My partner and I stayed at Avocado Grove over the Easter holidays. We had the most wonderful time, the hosts were so lovely, helpful and welcoming.
We were greeted with some freshly baked cake and tea and in the evening we decided to have a 3 course dinner that John cooked – it was amazing as so was the breakfast that was included with the room.
Despite having a full house Sonya and John looked after all the guests in the most attentive and friendly manner. We were so grateful they allowed dogs as our holidays wouldn’t have been the same without our Little Buster. He had the best time.
The place is just fabulous, a beautiful homestead in the middle of magical surroundings. The view from the deck is magnificent; the room was impeccably clean and attentively furbished.

We all had a wonderful holiday and couldn't recommend Avocado Grove enough.

Thank you for the wonderful experience John and Sonia.
Anna, Josh and Little Buster

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Comik99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at Avocado Grove B&B, responded to this review, 6 June 2012
Hi Anna Josh & Buster,
Thankyou so much for the excellent review we received. It means a lot to John and I. We were hoping to see you all again but I think you have run out of time. In case we dont see you, have a safe and wonderful trip to Italia and Uk Chaio. Sonya and John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
2 reviews
Reviewed 19 April 2012

nice relaxing place with a fantasic breakfast and lovely service by some really great people
best Hosts for a long time. Highly Recommended.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Luke M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maryborough, Queensland, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2012

Sonya and John are wonderful, gracious hosts. Our requests were met without fail. The view from the balcony was just divine; so peaceful and serene. Our breakfast was better than we could have hoped for, the food just kep coming and coming. The fruit was fresh and showcased everything Queensland is famous for. Our room and bathroom were clean and spacious, they even met fussy teenager standards. I would have no trouble recommending Avocado Grove.

Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Cynthia T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Flaxton
4.3 mi away
Clouds of Montville
Clouds of Montville
#2 of 2 in Montville
171 reviews
2.7 mi away
Narrows Escape Rainforest Retreat
1.5 mi away
Kondalilla Eco Resort
Kondalilla Eco Resort
#1 of 1 in Flaxton
372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Peppertree Cottage
Peppertree Cottage
#3 of 5 in Flaxton
96 reviews
3.6 mi away
Secrets on the Lake
Secrets on the Lake
#1 of 9 in Montville
498 reviews
2.9 mi away
Montville Mountain Inn Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avocado Grove B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avocado Grove B&B

Property: Avocado Grove B&B
Address: 10 Carramar Ct, Flaxton, Queensland 4560, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Sunshine Coast > Flaxton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Flaxton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Avocado Grove is a modern western red cedar Queenslander with wrap around verandahs, situated away from the main road in quiet, peaceful leafy surrounds, and landscaped gardens. Located at Flaxton, near Montville Mapleton and Maleny on the beautiful Blackall Range (Sunshine Coast Hinterland).Avocado Grove has over 3 acres of land and was originally part of an extensive Avocado Farm. Many of the trees have been retained and still produce a healthy crop. We offer a choice of 4 guest rooms: Sharwil Suite, Reed Hass and Shepard. The lounge is air conditioned and well equipped with large Plasma screen, DVD, Stereo, books games and a fireplace for those cool winter evenings, and not to forget the port barrel.Breakfast is served on the Gazebo facing the Blackall Range. There is also a fridge here for guests.2/3 Course dinners can be served either in the dining room or on the Gazebo. We are situated only 500 metres from Flaxton Gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U. and Agoda so you can book your Avocado Grove B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing