We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Such wonderful hospitality”
Review of Avocado Grove B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Avocado Grove B&B
Ranked #1 of 5 Flaxton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 October 2013

My husband and I greatly enjoyed our stay at Avocado Grove. Sonya and John treated us like guests in the own home and made us feel so welcome. The breakfasts were amazing, each one delicious and different each morning, overlooking a wonderful view. We also enjoyed a lovely dinner one night with a surprise complimentary dessert. The room was very comfortable and homely. We enjoyed watching a few DVDs and it was great how John offered a dish of chocolates eat while we watched the movies. I would highly recommend this B&B to anyone wanting to visit the Sunshine Coast hindterland.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Natalie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sonya B, Owner at Avocado Grove B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2013

Thankyou so much Natalie for the spontaneous and detailed review you have given us. It was lovely to meet you and Peter, and we do hope to get to the chinese restaurant some time in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (382)
There are newer reviews for Avocado Grove B&B
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

267 - 273 of 382 reviews

Reviewed 16 October 2013

Avocado Grove B&B: Nev & Trish O'B had a 2 night mid-week great experience. The arrival afternoon tea was a big surprise in both quality & quantity. We were lucky in having the dinner on the second night. Dinner was an arranged meal as Nev is fussy about vegs- not a problem Sonya & John catered for the fussy bit & the rest was really well cooked & presented. Dessert oh yeah. Now breakie- big & everything was there & yummy. Even though the Grove is only on a street parallel to the "main" road noise was not heard- the only noises was the lovely sound of birds early in the morning. Trish went for several walks on the B&B property looking at the lovely sunsets. Sonya & John were very welcoming & natural hosts. PS: we did take a nice bottle of wine.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neville O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sonya B, Owner at Avocado Grove B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2013

Wow! Thank you so much for taking the time to write us an amazing review, we look forward catching up again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2013

Our first 3 nights away without children in 10 years!! We were somewhat shell-shocked but John & Sonya took it all in their stride. We had no real need to go out and find restaurants as the food was excellent.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathryn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sonya B, Manager at Avocado Grove B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2013

Thank you for your excellent review, and we do hope to see you both again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

We chose this B&B simply because of the great Tripadviser's visitors comments and we weren't disappointed, and as expected we experienced really exceptional hospitality... we couldn't fault our stay...and as so many previous guests have commented .....John and Sonya are just the most fantastic hosts.....nothing was too much trouble. Originally we intended going out for dinner, but (luckily) we realised they offered a "simple" dinner menu... but it was nothing simple we assure you !!!!.....and worthy of any 5 star restaurant anywhere..... my wife had their yummy home made soup and then a perfectly cooked steak. I chose the salmon, and a little concerned as one of my pet hates is overcooked fish, again just perfectly cooked. As neither of us enjoy desserts we asked when booking if some cheese and biscuits would be possible.. again was it simple plastic "mass produced cheese" ???.... no way... a beautiful cheese board was presented.

Great night sleep followed by an amazing breakfast (their house special is strongly recommended) and another personal hate is badly brewed or even worse stewed coffee... again all the (3) cups were superb... my wife enjoys Earl Grey... just the standard tea bag .....no way...

Anything wrong ??? Yes !!!... perhaps a little too cheap but don't tell John and Sonya as we will be going back... it is really great to be able to give them a really great review ....they deserve every single word... don't miss this one on your travels....

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bernard T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sonya B, Owner at Avocado Grove B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2013

"O M G" What can we say!!! Thank you so much for the excellent review, you made our day after we read it. Thank you also for the bottle of wine, and we look forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2013

We had a great stay at the Avocado Grove B&B. John and Sonya were fantastic hosts, and the accomodation was very comfortable and the breakfasts were amazing. The hospitality was excellent. We had a 6 day old baby and John and Sonya were so welcoming and made our first outing with our baby girl very special. We would highly recommend staying in this beautiful location with such lovely hosts.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joanne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sonya B, Owner at Avocado Grove B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2013

Thank you Jo and Al for the beautiful review you have given us. It was lovely to meet you both, baby Lotte and Als family. We are pleased your first outing with Lotte went well. Thankyou.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013

Avocado Grove B&B was excellent. I stayed for 2 nights and attended a wedding at Flaxton Gardens. Sonya and John are excellent hosts and nothing was too much trouble. The breakfast was delicious, easily one of the best breakfasts I have had for years. The room was spacious and very well appointed, and I greatly enjoyed having breakfast on the verandah. Thank you for a wonderful stay! I will definitely be recommending Avocado Grove to others.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ingrid K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sonya B, Owner at Avocado Grove B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2013

Ingrid, thankyou for the amazing review on your recent stay here, whilst attending a wedding. We appreciate you taking the time to write such great comments about the B&B. Thankyou heaps.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013

Gloriously situated, a Tropical wonderland with beautiful views, enchanting bird song and a feeling of peace and tranquility.
All of this was wonderfully balanced with scrumptious food, very comfortable beds and the warm and friendly, gracious hospitality of Sonja and John.
We spent a delightful 3 nights in this lovely place. I cannot recommend this B&B highly enough.
Marsha and Judith.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marsha w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sonya B, Owner at Avocado Grove B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2013

Thank you so much Marsha and Judith for the excellent review you have given us. We enjoyed meeting you both and sharing interesting conversations, and we do hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Flaxton
1.5 mi away
Kondalilla Eco Resort
Kondalilla Eco Resort
#1 of 1 in Flaxton
443 reviews
4.3 mi away
Clouds of Montville
Clouds of Montville
#3 of 3 in Montville
178 reviews
2.7 mi away
Narrows Escape Rainforest Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
The Falls Montville
The Falls Montville
#1 of 3 in Montville
466 reviews
1.1 mi away
Peppertree Cottage
Peppertree Cottage
#3 of 5 in Flaxton
97 reviews
6.2 mi away
Maleny Tropical Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avocado Grove B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avocado Grove B&B

Address: 10 Carramar Ct, Flaxton, Queensland 4560, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Sunshine Coast > Flaxton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Flaxton
Price Range: £84 - £119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Avocado Grove is a modern western red cedar Queenslander with wrap around verandahs, situated away from the main road in quiet, peaceful leafy surrounds, and landscaped gardens. Located at Flaxton, near Montville Mapleton and Maleny on the beautiful Blackall Range (Sunshine Coast Hinterland).Avocado Grove has over 3 acres of land and was originally part of an extensive Avocado Farm. Many of the trees have been retained and still produce a healthy crop. We offer a choice of 4 guest rooms: Sharwil Suite, Reed Hass and Shepard. The lounge is air conditioned and well equipped with large Plasma screen, DVD, Stereo, books games and a fireplace for those cool winter evenings, and not to forget the port barrel.Breakfast is served on the Gazebo facing the Blackall Range. There is also a fridge here for guests.2/3 Course dinners can be served either in the dining room or on the Gazebo. We are situated only 500 metres from Flaxton Gardens. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing