We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hinterland Hideaway gets it right!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Allara Homestead Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 5 Flaxton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
65 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Hinterland Hideaway gets it right!”
Reviewed 10 February 2013

This delightful hinterland hideaway is a true gem in a beautiful part of the world. Cheryl and Ian have created a charming, peaceful and stylish getaway in a glorious setting. The sparkling clean and fresh rooms have quality fixtures and lovely décor. Port and chocolates, tea and coffee making facilities and sound system with I pod connectivity were great touches. Each room has its own private deck overlooking the beautifully landscaped grounds. Native birds provide the entertainment as they flit about the lush foliage. The true “bar raiser” here though is the friendly service and little extras provided to make the guest feel at home. Fresh scones on arrival were a real treat, Cheryl loves to cook and breakfast is a fresh mix of home cooking and quality locally sourced produce.
At Allara the right balance between welcoming hospitality and privacy has been met perfectly. This is the quintessential B&B experience. Thank you so much Cheryl and Ian, we hope to be back some time in the near future.

Room Tip: We stayed 1 night in Vintage rose, Queen size bed firm but comfy, nice deck, .
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheryl R, Owner at Allara Homestead Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 26 March 2013
We enjoyed having the two of you stay with us here at Allara Homestead. Providing the right balance between welcoming hospitality and privacy for our guests is a very important factor to us We look forward to your return.
Cheryl & Ian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    131
    4
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
12
103
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Toowoomba, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2013

if you want a 'vacant' sterile unfriendly enviroment of a weekend away - Go to a resort because this place is the complete opposite!!
We had an amazing visit with Ian & Cheryl, couldnt have felt more welcome and as if we belonged there. Rooms were beautiful, clean with their own private & discrete balcony, or if you wanted to socialize, brilliant verandah with such a great atmosphere, even down to playing cards with the other guests and Ian. Our hosts could not do enough to make our stay more enjoyable and NOTHING was too much trouble. Quite a tranquile garden to wander in, very relaxing with a breakfast to die for on the most gorgeous china.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tania a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheryl R, Owner at Allara Homestead Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 15 February 2013
Hi Tania,
Ian and I enjoyed getting to know the four of you over a very relaxed week end. Even though I was in the kitchen preparing for the next morning's breakfast, I was throughly entertained by you all having such a great time playing cards on the back deck. Ian loved the fact that you included him in on your card game and how lovely was it, that our other guests whom have stayed with us 3 times now, also joined in and had a very memorable afternoon. I have posted a photo of everyone playing cards on FB. Thank you for writing such a great review for others to read. Thank you also, for your kind words in the kitchen about wanting to return when you had only been here for 5 minutes!!! We will certainally look forward to your return. Loved every minute you were here.
Regards Cheryl & Ian :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 20 January 2013

My partner and I have just returned home after a week-end at Flaxton wherein we were
treated beautifully by Cheryl the owner of Allara Homestead Bed & Breakfast.

Allara Homestead is set in absolutely gorgeous grounds and the ambience is one of
perfect peace and tranquility. The rooms are just gorgeous and each have their own private deck overlooking the grounds.

Cheryl's attention to detail is next to none and is evident from the moment you book in.

Breakfast was served on the main deck and allows guests to either enjoy their own company or
mingle with the other guests. Again during breakfast, attention to detail is evident from start
to finish. Breakfast was delightful and the food fantastic.

We would absolutely recommend a week-end at Allara Homestead and cannot wait for our
next trip to Allara.

A big thank you to Cheryl ..... see you next time.

Bruce and Rowena

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rowena N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheryl R, Owner at Allara Homestead Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 22 January 2013
Hi Bruce and Rowena

Thank you for letting future travellers know just how much you enjoyed your week end here with us at "Allara Homestead".
Our aim is to give our guests the most memorable stay and that they want to return. We are so glad that you are looking forward to coming back in the future. We also look forward to seeing you again and being able to give you some special treatment.
It was lovely to see your interaction with the other guests at breakfast, I know they enjoyed chatting with you too!
Warm regards Cheryl & Ian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 January 2013

Nice little cottage and a warm welcome but not if you like your privacy, if you like the idea of grabbing your keys and enjoying some private time it's not for you, the welcome, although lovely can be a little intrusive and I am sure The hosts are only trying to be friendly but after a long drive we didn't want to be bombarded with questions. The room was tiny and cluttered, could not find anywhere to put anything. The wooden blinds do not fit the windows and the sun shone in from 4am, especially worrying is the blind in the shower it didn't fit the window and you could be seen from outside whilst showering (not frosted glass), There was also no water pressure in the shower. Breakfast wasn't for me as it was served on the verandah of the hosts own home and involved a "meet and greet" with two other couples staying there. Not ideal if you are a shy or private person.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jane_coppock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheryl R, Owner at Allara Homestead Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 6 January 2013
Thank you for the time to review your stay at Allara Homestead. Your feedback is important to us.

We (the property owners) review all feedback and reviews with a view to continually improving the experience of our guests, wherever possible. With this in mind, we would like to take this opportunity to address the points you have raised.

1. Welcome, property familiarisation and general introduction .....

Thank you for commenting on the warm welcome you received. This is a critical component of our interaction with guests and we appreciate your acknowledgement. With regard to your comments regarding our questions at introduction, we regret that our eagerness to understand where we could best meet your needs has resulted in you feeling intruded-upon. While our approach in this area is most often regarded as positive, we do accept that not all of our guests are interested in the social interaction generally associated with a bed and breakfast experience.

2. Room size and free space for personal items

While we generally find that bed and breakfast guests seek an intimate and cosy experience, we do have a larger guest room available (at additional cost) for guests seeking a more spacious experience. This information is available on our website.

3. Light coming through around blinds

The timber blinds installed in all guest rooms have been made to measure, however, a small area around each installation does allow light to enter into the rooms. This is a result of an intended "feel" (enjoying the dawn) and is consistent with the rustic theme of the property.

4. Absence of frosted glass in bathroom

Your comment relating to the lack of total privacy in the bathroom is certainly worthy of our attention. We have discussed your concern and have decided to apply frosting to the glass window in the bathroom of Vintage Views. While we are of the view it is unlikely the absence of frosting on this window will result in any breach of personal privacy (when the timber blinds are closed), it is essential that our guests feel entirely comfortable with the level of privacy provided by us during their stay. This will be addressed immediately.

5. Lack of shower water pressure

We cannot explain why you have experienced poor water pressure in the shower of Vintage Views. Since your feedback, we have engaged a plumber to carry-out a full pressure inspection of all outlets on the property and we have been advised that all are "more than adequate". We have not heard of this problem prior to your feedback. We will continue to monitor this issue with a view to establishing an understanding of any intermittent problem that may exist.

6. Introductions to other guests

We regret that our introductions amongst guests during your stay made you feel uncomfortable. We do understand that this approach does not suit all guests, however, most often we find that our guests enjoy the social interaction and sometimes this even results in new friendships being formed. However, as you have suggested in your review, "Nice, but not for us" is probably a fair assessment.

In summary, while we regret that your stay at Allara Homestead has resulted in our lowest ever TripAdvisor ratings score, and also regret that the experience for you was less than what you were expecting, we do appreciate your feedback and would very much welcome the opportunity to have you stay with us again sometime in the future. We would very much appreciate the opportunity to be your hosts once more, and would be thrilled to speak with you about how we could make your stay a much more positive experience.

Yours sincerely, Cheryl and Ian Robinson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 November 2012

I wanted to surprise my partner with a small holiday before Christmas. After reading reviews and checking out the website, I decided to call Allara Homestead. Best decision ever. From the very first phone call to make the booking, to the moment we said farewell to the hosts, Cheryl and Ian; my partner and I were catered for to the highest of standards.

We stayed in the new Country Boatshed room but had the opportunity to see all of the rooms. They are all stunning and have their own individual entrances - offering complete privacy from the outside world. It is easy to see that a lot of thought and care has gone into the design of each room. The attention to detail is superb. From the crisp linen to the soft luxurious towels, even the beautiful port glasses in our room (with complimentary port) - everything exudes quality and is the mark of hosts that really care about their guests.

The breakfasts are amazing and there was plenty of it. We were treated to a selection of cereals, artisan quality breads, yoghurts, a huge selection of handmade jams, seasonal fruit, a large variety of teas, fresh pressed juice, fresh-ground coffee, beautiful hot savouries....and that's just one breakfast!

The location is excellent with no road noise what-so-ever. Montville and Mapleton are just a few minutes' drive down the road so you're not far away from cafes, restaurants, shops etc.

The hosts, Cheryl and Ian, are wonderful people and made us feel truly welcome. The combination of our beautiful room, the excellent food and the wonderful hospitality we received, resulted in my partner and I having the most relaxing and wonderful holiday we could have ever asked for.

We will definitely be staying again, no question about it.

Room Tip: The country boatshed is our pick of the lot!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bazza_87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheryl R, Owner at Allara Homestead Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 3 December 2012
Hi Bazza

Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review for us and future travellers.
We both throughly enjoyed your stay with us, especially the unexpected port we shared late one evening. This was a lovely chance to get to know you both. Having lovely people like yourselves stay with us, make this business a very rewarding one. We look forward to your return some day!
C&I
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
193 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2012

This truly is the Home Away from Home, the hosts Cheryl and Ian are so accomodating nothing is too much trouble, I had a need to borrow some gardening tools while we stayed there and Cheryl dropped everything, rang Ian to coordinate my needs perfectly.
The 2 nights we stayed were very relaxing with a great breakfast in near perfect surroundings, it was that difficult to leave we booked again for this weekend.
Look after that broken toe Cheryl.
Well Done to Cheryl's friends for stepping in ( pardon the pun ) to look after the catering and cleaning while Cheryl had her toe elevated. They were also great hosts.

Room Tip: If you like a nice meal with a couple of drinks, the Homestead is not walking distance to the incred...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank George_E_K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheryl R, Owner at Allara Homestead Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 28 September 2012
Thank you so....much for your very kind words. It was really lovely getting to know the three of you. We feel very honoured to know that you enjoyed your stay with us, enough to want to return so soon. After breaking my toe while you were here, I was so glad to have the hired help of very good friends whom also enjoyed your company and helping me out with breakfast! Where would we be without good reliable friends!!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2012

We stayed in August with Cheryl for 4 nights. We had a great experience:

LOCATION:
Flaxton is a very convenient location to visit from Brisbane to Noosa. From Allara B&B we had daily trips to Australia Zoo, Montville/Maleny, Noosa, GlassHouse Moutains...
There are plenty of attractions to visit around and nice tea houses where to have afternoon teas.
In a nutshell: both lovely and convenient area.

B&B FACILITIES:
We stayed in "boat shed" room. It is very conformtable and very nicely decorated. (Cheryl does decorating arrangement herself, it is amazing to see the result).
We've visited the two other rooms: everything is less than 6 months old, you can trust the photos on B&B website, they're totally accurate.

The house has a very nice view over a small lake and Cheryl serves breakfast on a large veranda where you enjoy birds songs in the morning.

CLEANLINESS:
more than clean, spotless.

BREAKFAST:
Awesome. Cheryl wakes up 1h30 before you do, to make sure you get: organic cereals, homemade bread, freshly squeezed juice, home-brewed coffee, freshly prepared fruits and hot bites every morning.
She gets organic yogourt from Maleny cheese, and tries and cook something new every morning if you stay for a few nights.
I do restaurant reviews back in Paris. Trust me on this one: this is the best breakfast you'll get in Australia.

CHERYL:
Allara B&B is ALL ABOUT CHERYL.
She's a wonderfull host, always paying a great attention to her guests well-being without being intrusive. She has it all right.
She'll pay attention to anything you mention and try to please you.
We wouldn't have enjoyed our stay that much without her presence and kindness

Thank you Cheryl, hope you get the success your B&B deserves!
Fabrice & Aurelie from Paris

Room Tip: boat shed is the largest room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank aurelie75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheryl R, Owner at Allara Homestead Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 6 September 2012
Thank you for your wonderful review and kind words. I am only doing what I enjoy doing, and that is giving my guests what they truely deserve, a memerable and relaxing stay to remember. I throughly enjoyed having the two of you stay with us at "Allara Homestead" and glad you have enjoyed your visit to Australia from Paris. Take care and warm regards Cheryl
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Flaxton
0.6 mi away
Kondalilla Eco Resort
Kondalilla Eco Resort
#1 of 1 in Flaxton
416 reviews
3.6 mi away
Clouds of Montville
Clouds of Montville
#3 of 3 in Montville
175 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Falls Montville
The Falls Montville
#1 of 3 in Montville
449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Maleny Tropical Retreat
1.0 mi away
Avocado Grove B&B
Avocado Grove B&B
#1 of 5 in Flaxton
374 reviews
0.5 mi away
Belles at Montville
Belles at Montville
#1 of 2 in Flaxton
117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Allara Homestead Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Allara Homestead Bed & Breakfast

Property: Allara Homestead Bed & Breakfast
Address: 30 Allara St, Flaxton, Queensland 4560, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Sunshine Coast > Flaxton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Flaxton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Allara Homestead Bed & Breakfast 4.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Expect a warm and friendly welcome by your hosts, Chez & Ian, and enjoy a tempting homemade treat on arrival, with a comfortable and memorable stay. Breathtaking scenery of undulating hills and valleys, romantic wineries and the renowned Montville Village famous for its arts and crafts all within a short distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L., Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Allara Homestead Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing