We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tiny Eton Mess”
Review of The Crown Inn

The Crown Inn
Ranked #5 of 10 Restaurants in Anstey
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Leicestershire
Level Contributor
202 reviews
136 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Tiny Eton Mess”
Reviewed 10 May 2014

Here we go again! A facelift and new owners. The place looks lovely with some nice touches on the decor. I was a little disappointed to be honest. Although it's lovely to see The Crown alive and busy again, it was a bit too noisy with loud music making conversation difficult. I fully realise that makes me sound really old!
The menu is interesting with a good choice of dishes. I had the mackerel and horseradish pate which was very tasty but a little too smooth and over processed but that's my personal taste. I had the trio of pork which was just ok. It was disappointing that there were no pea and pancetta croquettes with it but I have to say that the bacon jam which replaced them was knockout!
However the dessert was poor value...I had eton mess. It tasted nice but the portion size was tiny. No way worth the £5 they charged for it. Service pleasant and friendly but a little slow at times
I think this place has the potential to be great again but it's not quite there yet

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mealpup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    23
    16
    11
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leicestershire, England
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Fabulous Sunday Lunch”
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Just like to say how pleased we were with our Sunday dinner at The Crown. My daughter and I and two children chose from the set menu which was absolutely beautiful. Vegetables and meat all cooked to a very high standard. Well done and good luck for your new venture.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank suzie081
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmyScott-Harper, Manager at The Crown Inn, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Thank you for such a lovely review. Your kind words mean a lot!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Bad chicken burger! Like something from a burger van!!”
Reviewed 22 April 2014 via mobile

Decor is very nice and staff friendly.
We ordered 2 chicken and sun dried tomato burgers. They sounded lovely.
The burgers arrived and I had to ask our waitress if they were chicken burgers when she told me they were I was very shocked!
The burgers looked like something you would have got from a burger van on football match day for £2 or a pack of 10 from Iceland for £1!
They looked like they had been fried to the last limits of their lives. The chips were good and salad fine (but you can't go much wrong with this).
The burgers were tasteless and dry! We also ordered some onion rings to accompany the burgers. They arrived and we ended up with 5 onion rings in a bowl for £2.50! Very expensive!!
Overall the staff were friendly but the meal wasn't great....

Helpful?
Thank Bubby70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmyScott-Harper, Manager at The Crown Inn, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Thank you for your review. We appreciate all feedback whether it is positive or not as it gives us something to work from and improve. We have taken your comments on board and will be withdrawing the Chicken Burgers from our Menu when we make the seasonal changeover soon.

They are however high quality burgers made from pure chicken breast with sun dried tomatoes and basil so I am disappointed to hear you were unsatisfied by them. The Onion Rings are handmade with fresh cider batter and we feel that a portion of 5 large rings is satisfactory for £2.50.

I am disappointed that overall you were unsatisfied with your visit and hope you return and give us another shot because as you can see, our food is being met with lots of praise and encouragement so hopefully 2nd time around you will leave satisfied and happy too.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Sunday lunch”
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Had a fantastic Sunday lunch today. Meat cooked just right. Veggies very nice and cauliflower cheese amazing. Would recommend highly.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank murf28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Will definitely be back to try the Tapas!”
Reviewed 12 April 2014

Myself and my husband popped in here tonight for something to eat and straight away we were bowled over by how buzzing the pub was. Great atmosphere and lovely and busy. We ordered and were swiftly served our delicious meals. The Bradgate Park Venison is a must try dish! I also was able to enjoy ny favourite Aspalls Cider on draught which only added to the experience. All of the staff we came across were very pleasant and friendly and were doing a great job. Our bill was very reasonable too. We cant wait to come and sample the tapas menu one day and also more of tbe desserts. Definitely worth a visit and we shall tell all of our friends to do the same! Thanks all

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank kate-g76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Crown Inn also viewed

 
Leicester, Leicestershire
Leicester, Leicestershire
 

Been to The Crown Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing