We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing holiday”
Review of Saphir Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Saphir Hotel
Budapest
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Disappointing holiday”
Reviewed 4 August 2013

Disappionting bad hotel
This was my first trip to turkey, and returned with very bad experience. As we arrived to the hotel we got a room on the 6th top floor. Approx 15sqm, and the ceiling as tall as I was, i hot more times my had with the ceiling. Temperature in the room over 40 celsius. We had an split air conditioner in the height of my neck. It was horrible. We had chance to change the room (I gave money for the receptionist 10 USD). That room was OK. The meal was horrible, my friend had problem with stomac from the first day! All the drinks have no taste, it is syrup combined with "drink"water. Staff is unfriendly, they put the meal away from you when you are not moving for 5 seconds... People from Russia owns the hotel for more than 95%. Pool is overcrowded, see is getting deep suddenly, you can just swim or not. You better take your swim shoes because of the big rocks and stones.
Animation is only for the Russians, Another nationalities are not supported.
It was a bad holiday, I think I will never come back....

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ildiko B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    118
    69
    29
    18
    22
See reviews for
150
47
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Pristina,, Kosovo
1 review
Reviewed 15 July 2013

I stayed in this hotel with my friends but it is more a hotel for family holiday.there weer too much people staying in this hotel,staff dont speak english and the water in the pool is very hot,the food is good.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dardan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cluj-Napoca, Romania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2013

I stayed in this hotel 7 days at the end of June 2013.I will tell the facts to help you in taking a decision regarding a possible holiday here.

In first of all it's a big complex, in summer season I would estimate between 1,300 and 1,700 guests daily average. Because of this:
1:eating place looks always crowded and noisy and if you want to have the possibility to choose from all the dishes, you should not go to eat in the last hour of the schedule displayed. Best experience if you are going at the beginning of the eating schedule(breakfast, lunch,dinner)
2:you have to wake up at least at 8:30 AM to get a good place on the pool or beach long chairs

During the day , between 10:00 AM until 6:00 PM(except during the lunch) on the main pool you have very loud music on the pool loudspeakers, together with all the entertaining activities (aqua gym,step, water games,darts, etc). If your room is facing to the main pool you could find difficult to take a nap in the afternoon.
Rooms facing to the side streets are more quiet during the day but in the night you will hear the loud music from two clubs and in the room facing to the mosque you will hear at 4:00 AM the islam call for prayer.(But this is the charm of a trip in islamic countries) . If you are a person with very light sleep you might find this annoying
Rooms from the villas facing to the second pool are more quiet.
The food is great and you have a plenty of choices.(of course you will not find pork meat, but is Turkey, what to expect?) A lot of fruits and vegetables (in June we got watermelons at every breakfast ,lunch ,dinner, every day and cherries 3 times--among many others fruits ).
Drinks: beer is Efes Pilsen ;wine(red, white) below average- as taste .Other non alcoholic drinks like in every all inclusive system. Vodka, tonic gin and other local alcoholic drinks.

Location itself is well maintained , a lot of palms, flowers, green zones, gardens,fountains.

A la carte restaurants( included in all inclusive offer ), Italian and Ottoman-you must try it. I had a good experience. Is not exactly a la carte because the menu is settled before and they just are serving you at the table.
95% of the guests are from Russian language speaking countries, so all the entertainment is in their language.(for kids and adults). All the entertainment I understood was belly dance and fire show :-)). i think they were in international languages :-) If you don't care about the entertainment you will not be bothered .
The beach is with sand alternating with gravel but full of round stones in the water, having the size bigger then a tennis ball. Would be a good idea to wear water shoes .(buy it from the shops across the street if you don't have in your laguage)

Right across the street you will find a lot of shops. A good and funny opportunity to bargain for a lot of goods. You should start negotiate from the half price you want to offer at the end of the process and to dissimulate that you are living if you don't get the desired price, and let the seller to come after you. If he comes after you then is sure he is interested in your offer. If not ,you have to rise the price.

My room was OK with no lurking bugs,but in this resort are hundreds. Room was cleaned every day , towels changed daily, beds sheets also.

Very few hotel staff members speaks English but almost everybody speaks Russian if this helps you. Funny thing was that every Russians who tried to speak with me, tried in their language but none of them understood a word in English so i googled haw to say in Russian "I do not understand Russian language" (Ya ponimayu po-russki ) and after that it was easy :-)
If you have kids, pay attention to the water slides because the kids are kids and they , specially the Russian spoiled kids, not understand the concept of waiting in the line and are pushing each other.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
18 Thank SuciuMoni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 June 2013 via mobile

Shooking family rooms when we arrived at 2am 12.06.2013. On the sd floor without lift & we have 2 small chilfren.Bathroom smealing humidity. The small bethroom door can not be closed without awaking the kids as it is realy hard to close. We also ear the same issues by neithbourg rooms...The baby bed has huge holes. The badge key was not working & i had to go twice at the reception after 2am to get a working badge.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank salambo71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Serbia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2013

I stayed in this hotel with my husband for a week, and we both are more than satisfied. It's a big complex, everthing you need is included: turkish bath, sauna, fitness room, playground, entertainment every night. Тhe food is excellent and diverse with so many choices. Rooms are clean, small, but cozy.
There are something for everyone: pilates on the beach, belly dancing school, beach volleyball, darts.
Hotel have two pools: one for relaxation and one for activities with pool bar in the middle.
Garden wich is surrounding the hotel is fantastically decorated with beautiful cultivated plants and a fountain that changes color at night.
I strongly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tdjv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belgrade, Serbia
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2013

Big complex. Bad rooms. We have non stop licking drom air condition.
Nice garden. Pools are ok bud my child have a foot injury because of floor in the pool.
Surranding of hotel not too good. Food ok, but too many tourist and its always crowded.
Very very average hotel. Need furnation. Probably never again

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ljubomir K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 13 May 2013

We have just arrived home from a weeks holiday at this hotel, we wish we had booked for longer!
We arrived late at night and was dealt with straight away by reception staff who were friendly and very helpful. We were shown to are room which was of a good size with a balcony which looked out over the sea. When we went down for breakfast in the morning we were surprised by the amount of choice of food there was. There was a wide variety of foods to suit all. At each meal we received waiter service for drinks I don't remember my glass ever being empty.
The hotel would be great for young families it provided fantastic entertainment throughout the day by the animation team from a kids club, sports, dances and shows at night.The beach was lovely and had the option to sunbath on the jetty which had a slide into the sea. If we had any questions we would see the guest relations who would go out of their way to sort things out they were extremely helpful. The facilities in the hotel were fantastic and we would recommend if you visit to try a Turkish shave from the hairdressers in the hotel. 100% we would go back to this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Konakli
0.2 mi away
Royal Garden Select & Suite
0.3 mi away
Titan Garden Hotel
Titan Garden Hotel
#10 of 64 in Konakli
236 reviews
3.0 mi away
Beach Club Doganay
Beach Club Doganay
#58 of 371 in Alanya
735 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Sirius Deluxe Hotel
Sirius Deluxe Hotel
#1 of 26 in Avsallar
477 reviews
5.4 mi away
SENTIDO Gold Island
SENTIDO Gold Island
#65 of 371 in Alanya
753 reviews
11.8 mi away
Saphir Resort & Spa
Saphir Resort & Spa
#6 of 34 in Okurcalar
258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saphir Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saphir Hotel

Property: Saphir Hotel
Address: Konakli Mevkii Alanya, Konakli, Alanya 07940, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Mediterranean Coast > Antalya Province > Alanya > Konakli
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Speciality Lodging in Konakli
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Saphir Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 556
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, HotelsClick, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Saphir Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saphir Hotel Turkey/Konakli, Antalya Province

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing