We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for kids and thats about it!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Camping Le Petit Rocher
Certificate of Excellence
Devon, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good for kids and thats about it!”
Reviewed 18 September 2013

Just returned from a 2 week stay, staying in a EcoLodge. On arrival we were assigned our lodge, and from a quick look all seemed great... apart from the stench of fish throughout our whole lodge! Obviously the previous people staying in the lodge had kept fish in the fridge and made the whole lodge smelt of it. Then looking closer at the lodge, it was filthy! Floors were covered in hairs,dust,sand etc. The shower was dirty, all old scum and sand in there. And the kitchen sink unit had not been cleaned properly! I went to tell the manager that there was a horrible smell of fish and she did not care and was very rude,she just sent a maintenance man round with some spray to clean the fridge.-Which did not help atall! Then i had to go back and ask for a hoover as it was filthy. I did not speak to the manager this time, just a guy on reception, he went out the back and spoke to the manager, he just came out to give me the hoover and said sorry. The manager did not bother to come out to see what the problem was or apologize! She was too busy having her cigarette. On leaving the lodges, 'cleaners' are meant to come round and check if it has been cleaned properly, either they didn't do this or they did and they have no sense of smell or eyes!? Our electric also went off twice while we were there, our shower fell apart 3 times and the pipes under our bathroom sink fell apart leaking water everywhere. I did not bother to tell the manager about this as she was so rude to begin with i thought no point. We were with another party and happy to say there EcoLodge was clean and no problems with electric and shower etc. My main issue was the way the manager dealt with situation or more to the point didn't! The grounds of the campsite are not very pretty atall, compared to lots of other campsites in France. However they have a very good play area for kids and a multisports area, and the pool is a good size and the slides are a good addition. They have entertainment every night, not that we went to it, but you could hear it a mile off! So loud its ridiculous goes on till midnight some nights... great if your trying to get your children/babies to sleep!! I'm all up for entertainment if that's what your in to, but its stupid having it so loud and sooo late!

Main thing that let this campsite down was how the staff (manager) deal with customers.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Layla M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

427 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    122
    220
    50
    29
    6
See reviews for
321
63
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013 via mobile

Our family with two young children did some 'glamping' at Le Petit Rocher. The site is very well located to the beach, with some beach style restaurants and a boulangerie nearby. The site is set in lovely woodlands, and is of a modest scale. There are numerous local cycle routes. The site has a pool, and other amenities for children. Our four year old felt to young for the kids club, which seemed to be for slightly older kids (6-10). The service was good and the staff do speak English, though we did try French ! It would seem that at high season travelling shows, and salesman visit the site, which is a nice little extra. The site has a good mix of static caravans and pitches for camping. We would visit again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlie_W_Collins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CAMP A, Communication Department at Camping Le Petit Rocher, responded to this review, 29 August 2013
We thank you for taking time to comment on your stay in our campsite and we are glad to read you have enjoyed it! We are looking forward to seeing you and your family again for your next holidays! The team CAMP'ATLANTIQUE.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2012

We have just returned from here after an 18 night stay with our caravan.
The campsite is in an excellent location you are literally minutes from the beach walking. Along the road from the site to the beach there are a small selection of bars, souvenir shops and a bakery. And approx 3kms away is a cash machine and a supermarket.
We had a good sized camping pitch with electricity the pitches are marked out with hedges. There are electric points and shared water taps located around the campsite. Some of these are in need of modernising but we managed fine.
There are 3 sanitary blocks on site with mixed toilets, wash basins and showers. Some of the sanitary blocks had been modernised. Most of the time there was hot showers.There are seperate sinks for washing dishes and clothes, these always had hot water.
The site has a small but adequate pool area with slides and flumes. There are plenty of sun loungers we could always get one. The site has a no swimming shorts in the pool policy.
The reception staff are excellent and very helpful, and one evening when our electric went off we phoned the technical helpline and a man came within 10 minutes to put it back on. The site also has a security man who patrols the site during the night, after midnight noise is to kept to a minimum.
There are no bars, take aways or shops on site but this was fine as you could bread etc from outside the site.
The site has kids club and a busy entertainments programme but we didn't use it.
Overall we had a fantastic time here and although many of the facilities are not 5 star the location and the value for money is. We will definitely consider returning here again.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DAllsopp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Longeville-sur-mer
9.9 mi away
Camping Bel Air
Camping Bel Air
#1 of 3 in L'Aiguillon-sur-Mer
434 reviews
5.0 mi away
Camping Les Blancs Chenes
Camping Les Blancs Chenes
#3 of 18 in La Tranche sur Mer
460 reviews
11.4 mi away
Camping Bel Air
Camping Bel Air
#2 of 6 in Chateau-d'Olonne
246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Le Jard Camping Caravaning
Le Jard Camping Caravaning
#5 of 18 in La Tranche sur Mer
169 reviews
1.5 mi away
Le Domaine des Oyats
Le Domaine des Oyats
#4 of 12 in Longeville-sur-mer
52 reviews
21.0 mi away
Camping L'Ocean
Camping L'Ocean
#1 of 5 in Brem Sur Mer
223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camping Le Petit Rocher? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camping Le Petit Rocher

Property: Camping Le Petit Rocher
Address: 1250 avenue du Docteur Mathevet, 85560 Longeville-sur-mer, France
Region: France > Pays de la Loire > Vendee > Longeville-sur-mer
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 Speciality Lodging in Longeville-sur-mer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Camping Le Petit Rocher 4*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situé à 150m de la plage dans un site boisé, à proximité de commerces, c'est le cadre idéal pour les amateurs de nature. Decouvrez différentes activités : Espace aquatique chauffée avec toboggan et pataugeoire, un club enfants...Nouveautés 2012 : Espace Animation Couvert.Ouvert du 28 Avril au 16 Septembre 2012. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Camping Le Petit Rocher reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Camping Le Petit Rocher Hotel Longeville-Sur-Mer

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing