We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Reliable place to crash”

Zofingen Youth Hostel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Zofingen Youth Hostel
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Reliable place to crash”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2013

Literally 5 minutes from the train station, this YHA is a classic 'does what it says on the tin' youth hostel. It was very quiet when I stayed as the whole of the first floor was booked out for workers at a local festival. Suited me as I prefer the option of staff from the festival staying in the hostel than revellers!
The rooms were clean, good space in the 6 bed dorm I was in and although it was hot and humid, leaving the windows open through the night helped.
A small breakfast was included in the stay - coffee, juices, bread, cold meat and cereal.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mks200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5
    7
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
5
1
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Basel
Level Contributor
194 reviews
114 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2012

I've lived in Switzerland for 11 years and have only discovered Zofingen, population 11,000, this last weekend. It`s a very pretty Habsburg town with a beautiful centre.

We stayed one night -- my first in a youth hostel. The hostel is an historic house. It's right on the edge of town, so it's really easy to get to. There's a carpark right outside.

The welcome was friendly and the breakfast was surprisingly good. It's not incredibly cheap (CHF90 plus for us as a couple in a 3-bed room), but it was by far the cheapest accommodation deal in town. Our room was right at the top of the building, looking out over a expansive lawn.

If you don't mind having to make and unmake your beds, and if you don't mind stairs, then give it a go.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BaselLisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2012

Drove past the Jugendherberge Zofingen twice, stopped and asked, and then arrived at the right place. Not clearly indicated from the streets side. However, the reception was good. Room was clean. Towels and sheets were clean. The youth hostel was clean everywhere. The breakfast was very good. I will go back to them when next in this area.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cornelis S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesapeake, Virginia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2012

i stayed here for 6 nights and enjoyed every minute of it. The staff were extremely helpful and went above and beyond when it came to making sure the guests were comfortable and had what they needed. The breakfast, which is included in the rate, is well stocked, healthy, and very enjoyable.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fusedmind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
154 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 202 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2008

YHA Hostel in historic house on edge of town centre
(10 mins walk from train station). Friendly english-speaking
manager. Internet terminal in reception area.
Lots of stairs to climb, but comfortable dorm rooms with
pine bunk beds, writing table and chair. Very clean bathrooms.
I stayed here twice during my 9mth trip. Breakfast buffet of
good quality (typical of all Swiss Hostels). Breakfast room is
spacious and overlooks the side and back garden.
Was quiet both times I stayed, though the place seems to
be regularly booked by groups. Relaxed and secure place.
Single travellers are welcomed - I certainly was. Zofingen is
a pretty, historic town worth a visit. Only half hour by train
from Luzern.

  • Stayed July 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Avanti_SG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Zofingen
0.1 mi away
Hotel Engel Zofingen
Hotel Engel Zofingen
#1 of 3 in Zofingen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Zofingen
Hotel Zofingen
#3 of 3 in Zofingen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
3.0 mi away
ibis Rothrist Olten
ibis Rothrist Olten
#1 of 1 in Rothrist
3.5 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Landgasthof Kreuz
Landgasthof Kreuz
#1 of 1 in Kappel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Amadeo
Hotel Amadeo
#2 of 3 in Zofingen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 8 reviews
2.3 mi away
No photo provided
Mein Zimmer
#1 of 1 in Rothrist
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zofingen Youth Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zofingen Youth Hostel

Property: Zofingen Youth Hostel
Address: General-Guisan-Strasse 10 | 4800 Zofingen, Zofingen 4800, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Aargau > Zofingen
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Zofingen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Zofingen Youth Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The historic market town of Zofingen is a captivating place to visit, with its charming Old Town. The town became famous thanks to Ringier, the Swiss media company. Zofingen is one hour by train from Zurich, Basle, Lucerne and Berne. The youth hostel lies on the edge of the Old Town, in a beautiful park full of old trees. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Zofingen Youth Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing