We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great management, great hotel, pity about the dogs!”
Review of Marlin Creek

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Marlin Creek
Certificate of Excellence
Velaux, France
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great management, great hotel, pity about the dogs!”
Reviewed 18 January 2012

I loved the great, warm feeling given by the owner, Amori and the manager, both are fantastic persons, so nice, helpful and warm. Everything was great: the room, very tastefully decorated, you feel really good in there, the awesome breakfast, the lovely pool and gardens...it would be the perfect place if there was not a big problem: the place is surrounded by stray dogs and I understand they can't do much about it! So, they bark a lot ( almost all day) and when you want to enjoy your terrace, well;, it's a bit of a problem... Thanks God, I didn't hear them at night. But it's a let down as, when you are on vacations, you want (and need! ) calm. So this place would be perfect if it was quiet. It's a pity because that's the only default but a big one. I really enjoyed my stay there except for that point.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank djbambi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    166
    15
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
31
129
4
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Prague, Czech Republic
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2011

Marlin Creek is great situated, beautiful residence you can´t miss during your stay in Mauritius! The rooms are amazing with all you need, great pool and staff is more than friendly! We had great time here! We have been welcomed by Amari who showed us everything and being more than helpfull during our stay, he is also great barman in the evening and you should not miss delicious dinner made by his wife. I recommend this residence to everybody and hope to have an opportunity to come back soon!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tereza K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2011

Marlin Creek Residence stands as a great choice for a pleasant, well-situated B&B on the west coast of Mauritius. Here you can enjoy nice and spacious rooms : we chose a "studio plus" room with toilets, open bathroom, balcony and terrace and the price was very interesting. The stay includes a rather simple breakfast, but I have to mention that the refreshments during the afternoon are not included, as it may be understood from the website, as well as the "panoramic bar" on top of the building.

The location of Marlin Creek Residence is interesting, as you can enjoy many restaurants in the vicinity (I mean by car), the Ruisseau Creole commercial center and the Riviere Noire post office. There also is a port just 1 minute by walk, where you can take a trip with a catamaran visiting the coast. The beautiful beaches of the south are reachable in 10 minutes by car, whose rental seems really necessary, as the bus system is quite slow and taxi can be expensive.

All in all, a great stay in Mauritius

Room Tip: the studio plus rooms have a terrace
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Systool81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Krefeld, Germany
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2011

We stayed 8 days in this Hotel. The rooms are very spacious, perfectly clean and the design tasteful. But what made the stay really remarkable was the kindness of the tenants (Christophe and his brother) who provide a great service and are always there to make your stay in Mauritius the most enjoyable. We would recommend Marlin Creek to anyone.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thierry T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2010

We have been in Mauritius for 3 weeks visiting family as my hubby is mauritian and we live in London. We wanted some time away on our own and chose Black River as we know and love the area. More laidback and calmer than Grand Bay. We spent 4 days at Marlin Creek with our 5 year old in a bungalow as we wanted separate bedrooms (altho the studios there are large enough for couple with a child). The 2 studios that we saw were large, gorgeous bathrooms with huge beds and very nicely decorated. They also had small kitchenette in the studios. The Bungalow was more simple but had loads of space - 3 double bedrooms and the main bedroom was big. We had a well equiped kitchen that opened to a dining area and small lounge with tv and dvd (quite important when you travel with small kids) Great pool in lush peaceful garden -with plenty of cool loungers and a hammock! Breakfast was best continental we have had in Mauritius and served by the pool -toast/cheeseboard/fruit/banana bread/youghurt and cereals were nicely presented. Owners are so helpful and the staff very nice. Everywhere was always clean and we had a lovely terrace to sit out on with our own lounge area and large dining table. Very thoughtful touches like leaving us freshly sliced fruit and a bottle of water in the fridge when we arrived and the free marlin creek t-shirts on our beds! Free wifi if you need it...
Although not right on the beach, it is just far enough away from the main road to be quiet but close enough to be convenient for local shops and restaurants. Although we had the only child in the place we were never made to feel as though we were disturbing anyone and we would definitely come back. The small bar is open at night from 5.30 to 7.30 and is very reasonably priced with glass of wine only 1.euro 50 - cheaper than anywhere else we have been in our 3 weeks all over the island. My hubby is from Mauritius and was very impressed by the place as there is not a lot of choice in Black River so I hope that more people find out about Marlin Creek. It deserves to do well. Please remember this is a small guesthouse with about 12 rooms and if you are after the large impersonal style of a 5 star resort and all those facilities - you will not find it here. If you want something more intimate and relaxed then this is the place.
Places to eat near by - Gios for reasonably priced Mauritian food -good curries and they do kids portions and have small play area.... Cabanon Creole for more sophisticated (and slightly pricier) Creole food served on the terrace of a house. Juste a Cote - upstairs above shops and only open at nights - serve pizza/pasta/crepes/curries and other mauritian dishes and have a small chillout space for kids with dvds ! They also serve Moroccan food if you order the day before and all very well priced. Balikopy is a bar restaurant where you sit outside in individual balinese style platforms full of cushions and low tables - there is also a small pool and cocktails etc.
If you want to buy local stuff like baskets/cloth/clothing etc - go to Quatre Borne market as it is the cheapest place. thursday and sunday mornings.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank UnitedGirlLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bologna
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2009

Precious hotel in grand riviere noire in mauritius, very close to everything...by car. The hotel is extremely clean and beautiful as it was a 5 stars hotel! Remarkable is the breakfast in the garden just next the swimming pool. The owners are sweet and will help you in any kind of activity you will plan.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elenaserchi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Riviere Noire
4.8 mi away
LUX* Le Morne
LUX* Le Morne
#1 of 11 in Le Morne
4,711 reviews
6.5 mi away
The Bay
The Bay
#1 of 2 in Riviere Noire
424 reviews
4.4 mi away
Dinarobin Beachcomber Golf Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
33.3 mi away
Merville Beach Hotel
Merville Beach Hotel
#4 of 28 in Grand Baie
2,372 reviews
31.2 mi away
Mon Choisy Beach R.
Mon Choisy Beach R.
#1 of 8 in Mont Choisy
475 reviews
5.0 mi away
Tamassa Resort
Tamassa Resort
#1 of 6 in Bel Ombre
5,083 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marlin Creek? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marlin Creek

Property: Marlin Creek
Address: 10 Ave Colonel Dean, Riviere Noire, Mauritius
Region: Mauritius > Riviere Noire District > Riviere Noire
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Riviere Noire
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marlin Creek 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the west coast of Mauritius Island, close to the seaside in the heart of the bay (100 Mts close to the bay) and near the river, the Marlin Creek residence offers accommodation close to the local population.THE CLOSEST BLUE LAGOON AND WHITE SAND BEACH IS AT 1.5 Km.We recommand our guest to consider renting a vehicle (with or without driver) during their stay.Couple or family can choose between studios or bungalows. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Marlin Creek reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marlin Creek Mauritius/Riviere Noire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing