We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic stay for southern Mauritius”
Review of Vanilla House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Vanilla House
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Fantastic stay for southern Mauritius”
Reviewed 16 November 2013 via mobile

What a great choice! Within 30 mins drive of the scenic highlights of Mauritius- Le Morne peninsula, Black river gorges national park and seven coloured earth at Chamarel all close by. Rooms very modern with flat screen TV and kitchenette, very comfortable. Unfortunately the restaurant was closed due to Divali holiday but delicious breakfast was served at each room. Many eating options in Riviere Noire anyway which was a short drive away.

Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank martyn1108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    38
    25
    4
    7
    1
See reviews for
9
39
2
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2013

We stayed for 10 nights at Vanilly House. The room is great it's more like a small studio. The room is modern and well decorated. Also the breakfast is very nice you can choose between a continental of a full English version. Great value for the price.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank emilie982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London England
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2013

Very helpful people , clean and comfortable room. Campfire area
Good base to explore Mauritius independently - we loved hiking in the national park , swimming on the beaches and driving round the island. Bit isolated at night

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank westlondondave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blue Bay
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2013

Stayed here for one night last week, couldn't have asked for more. The rooms are well designed, modern, spacious and very clean. The breakfast was fantastic at vinilla bean and all the staff where very helpful.

Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank james c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bourke, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2013

My daughter wanted to stay at Vanilla House and looked up the website which said a minimum two night stay - a huge turnoff. My daughter is a Mauritian resident and we only needed to stay one night. We were able to negotiate a one night stay.
Initial impression when driving in, is of converted horse barns but the rooms are very nice, clean and well appointed. If you are disappointed after a visit here, you are very hard to please and should perhaps stay home. The breakfast was very nice - we had the full English breakfast but no sausage or bacon in Mauritius comes in cooee of Australian food - so do not expect Australian quality. Only two minuses about Vanilla House - the pillows are too big and the BBQ needs to be gas rather than wood fired. I would rather miss a BBQ than suffer the trauma of a wood fire.

Room Tip: I think all the rooms are similar - very quiet area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BOURKE2840
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milano Marittima, Italy
1 review
Reviewed 22 April 2013

We enjoyed stay with Vanilla Beans for 10 days. I must say all the staff are very helpful & friendly. We are being vegetarian, we have to adjust with the best tried breakfast served.

Location is away from the crowd and black river district is at west-south coast of Mauritius. Bus frequency is every half an hour & up to 6 PM going to Port-Louis, city center of Mauritius.

You can hire a two or four wheeler for complete stay and enjoy travelling as per your convenience, that is what we did. South coast is the most beautiful part from our angle.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShrikrishnaPuranik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Povazska Bystrica, Slovakia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 March 2013

We stood here to discover the beauties of the southwest of the island. Location a bit far away from beaches, shopping facilities, restaurants, but on the other hand you will find here a very friendly and helpfull staff. It is also a good starting point to the natural parcs in the close surroundings. A bit less coks outside would improve your morning sleep. Those, who look for an active stay will appreciate availability of bikes that are free of charge.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jaro Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Riviere Noire
1.7 mi away
The Bay
The Bay
#1 of 2 in Riviere Noire
424 reviews
7.5 mi away
LUX* Le Morne
LUX* Le Morne
#1 of 11 in Le Morne
4,707 reviews
6.8 mi away
Dinarobin Beachcomber Golf Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Hotel Tamarin
Hotel Tamarin
#2 of 2 in Tamarin
241 reviews
3.9 mi away
Maradiva Villas Resort and Spa
Maradiva Villas Resort and Spa
#3 of 18 in Flic En Flac
868 reviews
6.1 mi away
Paradis Beachcomber Golf Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vanilla House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vanilla House

Property: Vanilla House
Address: Royal Road, Riviere Noire, Mauritius 2354
Region: Mauritius > Riviere Noire District > Riviere Noire
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Riviere Noire
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Vanilla House 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vanilla House is a 9-room guest house with restaurant, located in Black River, Mauritius. The en-suite rooms count a kitchenette and terrace. They are equipped with television, wifi, air-conditioning. Guests can however enjoy the food from the “Vanilla Café,” our delicious little restaurant. The boarding is Bed & Breakfast, with the possibility to have lunch and order dinner on short notice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Vanilla House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vanilla House Mauritius/Riviere Noire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing