We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Deserves to be successful”
Review of The Bay

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Bay
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Riviere Noire
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 December 2013

We had enjoyed dinner at The Bay last year, so had a good idea of what to expect this year, and we were not disappointed. We had the large suite on the first floor with views over the swimming pool and sea - masses of space and a large terrace/balcony to relax on after a tough day at the beach and sightseeing. We have a clear preference for this type of boutique hotel over the resort type, with a relaxed, more laid-back atmosphere, and you get this in spades at the Bay.

Our suite was very comfortable with efficient A/C and a large whirlpool bath as well as a shower and a dressing area. The only noise to wake you might be the many different types of birds competing for the best dawn chorus! Oh, and the semi-open Reception area has a number of resident martins flying around and putting up with us guests!

We made the most of the bar (good cocktails) and enjoyed the food, though felt that the a la carte menu should have more choice. However, there were daily specials that helped to ring the changes, and very good they were too.

The staff were, in the main, friendly giving the impression that nothing was too much trouble, and made us feel very welcome. Fred and Aurelie, who run the establishment, have done wonders in the 4 years they've been there, turning around a run-down hotel into a very acceptable place to relax and enjoy. Both have excellent hotel and F&B credentials and deserve to be very successful in their efforts, especially as they probably have a tight budget to work with. I would love to give them 5 stars, but they would be the first to tell you that there is still work to be done. Time and their enthusiasm will iron out the minor wrinkles.

We will be back and will be happy to recommend The Bay! Bonne chance, Fred et Aurelie!

Room Tip: The rooms vary in size and price, but any with a view over the pool/sea are worthwhile - Room 16 is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PestfromBuda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (434)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

73 - 79 of 434 reviews

Reviewed 23 November 2013

We had been swimming with the dolphins in the bay which put us in a great mood later we went snorkelling and got dropped off on the beach we found the Bay hotel and the out door restaurant looked good to we had a very nice lunch great sea views so would recommend

Room Tip: Would like to stop at this hotel next time I visit
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013

First impressions - we had arrived in paradise. We had a ground floor room in front of the pool beyond which we watched the sun set across the sea . Brightly coloured petals had been artfully placed around the room and across the bed. The hotel was tasteful and comfortable, let down only by a bathroom that required some tlc. The food was excellent, all meals served on the terrace with beautiful sea views. However, our experience with the staff was very mixed. They are the only hotel I have encountered where guests were provided with one bath towel each and one hand towel between us. I had to therefore ask for an extra towel to dry my hair which proved difficult for the receptionist to find and I felt awkward for asking. After 3 days we put our towels on the floor as instructed if you wanted them changed, but found the same dirty towels had been hung up again on our return! Again, I had to ask for fresh towels. There was confusion with our booking for the barbeque and we missed out as a result, and we were told breakfast things would be left out for us one morning when we had to leave early for a sea trip, but it wasn't. Some (not all) of the restaurant staff were quite distracted at times. On two occasions a waiter taking our order suddenly walked off to serve someone else! He was very sulky after we pointed it out to him too!! These are all fairly minor points but if corrected would make for an excellent stay.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ziggy029
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2013

I stayed at The Bay for 4 nights at the start of Oct 2013. The pre-arrival communication was attentive with prompt replies, hotel-arranged transfer worked well, rooms are well appointed, clean with fairly new amenities. The location is good, within walking distance of the supermarket and short drive to restaurants/bars, situated right on the beach, it is a lovely quiet location. The staff are the real asset to the hotel - so friendly, attentive (but not intrusive), smiling and willing to help with anything, from directions to booking activities. The restaurant is also very good; being vegetarian, I sometimes suffer from lack of choice, but the creative chef came up with amazing dishes for me each night-ended up eating in the restaurant every night and my expectations were exceeded each time. I had plenty of hot water and no issue with children as it was not the school holidays. I would highly recommend a stay at the Bay.

Room Tip: Upstairs balcony rooms have nice views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SLJ-UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2013

We stayed in The Bay Hotel in Sept 2013. We enjoyed our stay. Everything was awesome: stuff is helpful, friendly and always smiling :)
2nd floor rooms have amazing sunset view from your own terrace! If you'll have an option - choose superior or suits. They really make THE difference!
Dinner is very good, and they vary it a lot. However breakfast is nice, but always the same and becomes very boring after 3-4 days, especially if you stay for 2 weeks.

But overall it's a very good place and we definitely will come back!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lechitel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2013

We did not stay at this hotel, but we had a most enjoyable lunch at the hotel restaurant. We were six adults and two small children. The location is great, outdoors under cover and right on the beach with a view on to the Indian Ocean. Service was prompt and attentive. The food was very well-presented and very tasty. A good selection of cocktails, beers, wines. A relaxed venue with a good ambience. Good value. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MartinG987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2013

My husband and I have recently moved to live in Mauritius for 3 years. We found The Bay and love it. It is a beautiful setting which is so relaxing and quiet. We have been a few times for drinks. The brushetta's from the bar snack menu are great, especially the marlin and eggplant ones! We went for lunch for our anniversary and the food was excellent. We all enjoyed our meal and all ordered differently. Reasonably priced and great service. Definitely worth a visit.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank OVERSD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Riviere Noire
28.9 mi away
Pereybere Hotel & Spa
Pereybere Hotel & Spa
#1 of 5 in Pereybere
586 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa
Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa
#6 of 18 in Flic En Flac
2,580 reviews
28.2 mi away
Merville Beach Hotel
Merville Beach Hotel
#5 of 27 in Grand Baie
2,522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
28 mi away
Laguna Beach Hotel & Spa
Laguna Beach Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Grande Riviere Sud Est
534 reviews
6.5 mi away
Paradis Beachcomber Golf Resort & Spa
21 mi away
Holiday Inn Mauritius Mon Tresor
Holiday Inn Mauritius Mon Tresor
#1 of 1 in Plaine Magnien
376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bay

Address: Avenue des Cocotiers, Riviere Noire, Mauritius
Phone Number:
Region: Mauritius > Riviere Noire District > Riviere Noire
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Riviere Noire
Price Range: £107 - £279 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Bay 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the delights of a beachfront holiday and discover the mauritian rhythm of life. Situated on the west coast, famous for its romantic sunsets and all-year round sunshine. The ambient harmony is ideal for those in search of authenticity & conviviality and the delicate & friendly welcome + the personalised service will make you feel at home. Our perfect location will give you access to a large choice of activities and renowned mauritian cultural sites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L., Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Les Sirandanes Riviere Noire
The Bay Mauritius/Riviere Noire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing