We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place!”
Review of Hotel BellBird

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel BellBird
Andover, New Hampshire
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great place!”
Reviewed 26 July 2013

This is a lodge style place that is very neat and tidy. It has a great location to access both Monteverde and Santa Elena and has a view of the Gulf of Nicoya. There are a couple of rooms with private baths and a couple of rooms that share a bathroom off of the sitting room. As a family we we're only in our rooms for sleeping, so the shared bathroom worked fine for us.
Downstairs is the dining room where breakfast is served. The food was very good.
Alexis is a wonderful host. He grew up in Monteverde and can help you plan your stay or just chat about the area.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lvbyfth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    46
    8
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
16
14
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2013

Lovely, great value, clean, charming owner, great views of the gulf from the second floor common room. We are very sorry we were not able to stay for breakfast. The owner of this place is so friendly, polite and welcoming. Very convenient location.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mimi5grana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2013

I will definitely stay here again on my next trip to Monteverde. Nice ambiance and very clean (wooden floors and big windows). The breakfasts were delicious and the rooms comfortable (my single with shared bath was on the cozy side, but there were very well-designed shelves to put things and at $16/night it was excellent value). The location is great - only 45 minute walk to the Monteverde reserve and right near a supermarket, a bakery, and a health food store. The service was truly exceptional - I had a mini transportation emergency and Alexis could not have been more helpful, even coming back to the hotel late in the evening to help me sort it out. Stay here!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank botanybabe1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toddington, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2013

Lovely hotel, excellent value for money (best value in Costa Rica) $35 for double room (with 2 bunk beds and one double bed) private bathroom, breakfast included. Good location. The room was lovely (wooden floors) and spotlessly clean. Alex is very helpful and arranged a wonderful bird watching tour for us and our visit to the frog pond. He would have arranged more tours for us if we'd had time (we only had one night/one day in MOnteverde). Very good Italian restaurant (Johnny's) just down the road from the hotel. Can also recommend Extremo Canopy Zipwires (if you dare!) - $45 so cheaper than most but the longest runs and awesome Tarzan Swing!!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chrisandbuzzard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2013 via mobile

Alexis made our family of four feel right at home during our recent stay at the Hotel Bellbird. The rooms are affordable, and neat and clean, the included breakfasts were terrific (great coffee!), and he helped us with local information - he was more than happy to call and arrange our coffee tour. The hotel is conveniently located a short walk from both the center of Monteverde, and the center of Santa Elena. We will definitely recommend this to our friends!

Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Joseph1717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterloo
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2013

We truly enjoyed our stay with Alexis and his family. I recommend the place to anyone. It is clean, relaxing and very close to the Cloud Forest Biological Reserve. The breakfasts were fantastic every morning. Alexis arranged our coffee and Biological Reserve tours and our trip across the lake to La Fortuna.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WaterlooDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashland, Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2012

In our six months in Monteverde, I got to know the management of Hotel Bellbird. Great, honest, local family; terrific food; helpful service. The hotel is in a central location (between the Santa Elena and Monteverde Reserves), with views of the Nicoya Penisula across the street. Walkable distance to both Santa Elena and Monteverde, as well as the hike to Cerro Amigos. Good budget option that supports a great local family who takes pride in good service, clean rooms, and great food.

Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank a_year_in_Costa_Rica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monteverde hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel El Bosque
Hotel El Bosque
#8 of 20 in Monteverde
240 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Fonda Vela
Hotel Fonda Vela
#12 of 20 in Monteverde
698 reviews
0.1 mi away
Los Pinos - Cabanas y Jardines
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Casas del Toro Apartments
Casas del Toro Apartments
#1 of 2 in Cerro Plano
32 reviews
0.0 mi away
Villa Ocotea Monteverde
Villa Ocotea Monteverde
#44 of 73 in Monteverde
7 reviews
0.2 mi away
Forest Dreams Hotel
Forest Dreams Hotel
#2 of 2 in Cerro Plano
27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel BellBird? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel BellBird

Property: Hotel BellBird
Address: Contiguo al CPI, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Monteverde
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 73 Speciality Lodging in Monteverde
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel BellBird reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing