We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hotel, amazing host!”
Review of Hotel BellBird

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel BellBird
Reviewed 13 October 2013

It's a long story, but we did not originally end up at the Hotel Bellbird on our overnight excursion to Monteverde. We were booked at the La Colina Lodge, but it was so horrible, I refused to let my kids sleep there (see my review of the La Colina Lodge for more info). So we ended up at the Bellbird, where we should have been all along. It was wonderful. Clean, warm, inviting and our host Alex made it all the more special. He could not have been more helpful or attentive. He even got up early to make us a delicious breakfast since we had an early tour booked (we told him not to bother, we didn't want to put him out, but he insisted). I would stay there again in a heartbeat. Thank you Alex and the Bellbird for making our stay in Monteverde wonderful.

Room Tip: Just tell Alex what you need. He gave my husband and I a room with an en suite and the kids the roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank roaming_with_my_boys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (55)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

22 - 28 of 55 reviews

Reviewed 28 August 2013

Looked up Hotel Bellbird on Tripadvisor. Reviews were good so we gave it a shot. It was a wonderful bed and breakfast very close to Monteverde. We had a room with two bunk beds for the kids and a bed for my wife and I. The breakfast was very good. Alex took great care of us. He helped us with our pre-plans when we discussed ideas over email. He helped us secure passage to Playa Coco. In his free time, Alex played ping pong with us. It was a great experience and we hope to return for a longer stay.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

I was really impressed by the hospitality of the owner. You feel like at home there. Cozy rooms, clean and comfortable. Tasty breakfast served at the suitable time, especially for you. You can also book any types of excursiones there. 2 little adorable girls and a puppy makes you feel at home rather than at a hotel.
The location is also very good. Close to Monteverde and Santa Elena. And the vies from the hotel is also amazing.
I would certainly recommend this place to my friends and come to stay there again when I visit Monteverde next time.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Serval47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2013

Alex was awesome! I totally recommend visiting his place because he does everything to make his guests feel at home. The setting is amazing. A great breakfast was included in the very very reasonable rate. Make sure to get in a game of ping pong too!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joe E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2013

This is a lodge style place that is very neat and tidy. It has a great location to access both Monteverde and Santa Elena and has a view of the Gulf of Nicoya. There are a couple of rooms with private baths and a couple of rooms that share a bathroom off of the sitting room. As a family we we're only in our rooms for sleeping, so the shared bathroom worked fine for us.
Downstairs is the dining room where breakfast is served. The food was very good.
Alexis is a wonderful host. He grew up in Monteverde and can help you plan your stay or just chat about the area.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lvbyfth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2013

Lovely, great value, clean, charming owner, great views of the gulf from the second floor common room. We are very sorry we were not able to stay for breakfast. The owner of this place is so friendly, polite and welcoming. Very convenient location.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mimi5grana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2013

I will definitely stay here again on my next trip to Monteverde. Nice ambiance and very clean (wooden floors and big windows). The breakfasts were delicious and the rooms comfortable (my single with shared bath was on the cozy side, but there were very well-designed shelves to put things and at $16/night it was excellent value). The location is great - only 45 minute walk to the Monteverde reserve and right near a supermarket, a bakery, and a health food store. The service was truly exceptional - I had a mini transportation emergency and Alexis could not have been more helpful, even coming back to the hotel late in the evening to help me sort it out. Stay here!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank botanybabe1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monteverde hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel El Bosque
Hotel El Bosque
#8 of 20 in Monteverde
245 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casas del Toro Apartments
Casas del Toro Apartments
#1 of 2 in Cerro Plano
33 reviews
0.9 mi away
Cabinas Nuestra Kasa
Cabinas Nuestra Kasa
#7 of 33 in Santa Elena
104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Rainbow Valley Lodge
Rainbow Valley Lodge
#2 of 33 in Santa Elena
520 reviews
0.9 mi away
Monteverde Backpackers
Monteverde Backpackers
#9 of 33 in Santa Elena
155 reviews
1.4 mi away
Cabanas La Pradera
Cabanas La Pradera
#8 of 75 in Monteverde
130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel BellBird? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel BellBird

Address: Contiguo al CPI, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Monteverde
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 75 Speciality Lodging in Monteverde
Price Range: £41 - £59 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel BellBird reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing