We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top Notch”

The Original Canopy Tour
Book In Advance
More Info
US$45.00*
and up
Canopy Tour in Monteverde
Certificate of Excellence
Denver, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Top Notch”
Reviewed 1 January 2014

Take the original tour and fly from tree top to tree top. great guides, equipment and most of all beautiful views -

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank RobbieSeesTheWord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

445 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    397
    36
    8
    0
    4
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A true bucket list experience”
Reviewed 29 December 2013

We made a special trip to experience the Original Canopy Tour. Three-and-a-half hours up to Monteverde from San Jose, with the last 45 minutes a "Costa Rican massage". We had a great pair of guides that made us feel safe, and they took tons of pictures and videos for us. The hardest part was staying calm enough to truly experience what was going on around us. It was amazing.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank albalnyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Reasonably priced, safe, exciting, incredibly fun!”
Reviewed 29 December 2013

This may be the best $45 you spend per person on a Costa Rican activity. The guides are fun, friendly, and knowledgable. The gear is in fantastic operating order. The course is extensive and beautiful...and it's a really good time.

This tour is great for first-timers, like myself, and people who already know they love zipling (as others on my tour).

After being fitted with 3-point harnesses, helmets, and gloves, a short hike lead us to the first activity. This Tarzan Swing was thrilling, and quickly gives the guides a good idea of who may be more apprehensive, which allowed them to grant greater personal attention to the customers we moved forward.

From there we traveled line after line through the rainforest and climbed up into a stranger fig as part of the adventure course. Our group was comprised of customers ranging in age from early 20s to late 50s and everyone completed the course with a smile on their face.

I would do this tour again and I will recommend it highly.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank biancaontheroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great staff, scenery and unexpected wildlife viewing”
Reviewed 14 December 2013

For some reason our hotel tried to steer us towards one of the newer bigger faster canopy rides (higher booking commissions?) but we went for the "original" to get more authentic experience and because of trip advisor ratings. We were not disappointed. Staff was excellent and patient. Canopy was amazing. As a bonus, spotted a few agoutis and even a group of howler monkeys on hike up to first platform. 2nd last zip of 800 meters was a total thrill. Guide took my camera and took lots of great pics of us until batteries ran out!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank ClaireinOttawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Lafayette, Indiana
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing, super fun, great guides”
Reviewed 12 December 2013 via mobile

We have done other canopy tour/zip line excursions, but this was our absolute favorite. The addition of the Tarzan swing, repelling, and climbing the fig tree really completed the experience! Another wonderful aspect was the guides, and the small group 3 friends, that did it alone. The whole experience is something that I would love to do again! We highly suggest this zip line tour!

Helpful?
Thank bnekolny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Original Canopy Tour also viewed

Monteverde, Province of Puntarenas
 
Monteverde, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to The Original Canopy Tour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing