We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TreeTop House
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Fonda Vela(Monteverde)
US$125
US$121
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
El Establo(Monteverde)
US$136
US$120
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Cala Lodge(Monteverde)
US$104
US$79
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Monteverde Inn(Monteverde)(Great Value!)
US$55
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel El Bosque(Monteverde)(Great Value!)
US$62
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Los Pinos - Cabanas y Jardines(Cerro Plano)
US$99
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$111
US$108
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$82
US$77
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$102
US$99
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Belmar(Monteverde)
US$225
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (62)
Filter reviews
62 results
Traveller rating
39
16
2
2
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
39
16
2
2
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssmiling horsestop flooran art galleryhighly recommend this housethe ownersabineapartmenthillsidetown
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
16 - 21 of 62 reviews
Reviewed 22 December 2013

we were there over the Xmas holidays 2012. It was cold and rainy and the windows rattled day and night! The toilet overflowed in the top floor and soaked all the way thru to the ground floor drenching our suitcases and clothing in all the rooms [our family was staying on all floors]
The stove didn't work and you had to go outside to get to the bathroom for many of the rooms,
and there wasn't enough hot water for the shower for all of us.
I could go on-but it is too depressing--the land-lady owner was falsely cheerful but unhelpful.

Room Tip: there have to be better places to stay in Monte Verde
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CaliforniaDavid92103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TreeTopHouseCostaRic, Owner at TreeTop House, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2014

Thank you for your feedback on the TreeTop House. We are sorry to hear that your Christmas in 2012 was unpleasant. In 2013 the weather was much better over the holidays.
We want to apologize that we had an unexpected problem with the toilet, please note that we fixed that afterwards.
We are also sorry that you have experienced Sabine as falsely cheerful and unhelpful. We genuinely do our best to comfort you while you are staying with us.
The TreeTop House is designed to be integrated into the flora and fauna. This is truly made for nature lovers. We want to apologize again for your difficult experience in the TreeTop House and in Monteverde, Costa Rica. Sabine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2013

We stayed in the tree top apartment and one of the rooms below in early August. The place is just as cool as it looks in the pictures and has wonderful views of the trees. The only problem was that it was so noisy from the wind that it was really difficult to sleep at night. The room on the floor below the apartment wasn't as bad so maybe the lower floors would be better.

I thought the location was great. It was out of the town hustle and bustle but still within walking distance of Stella's Bakery and the art center.

Sabine and Guy were very helpful in arranging tours. They set us up with Melvin for a cloud forest tour. Melvin was a wonderful guide.

Room Tip: While the view is great from the tree top apartment, I would recommend a lower floor to avoid the wind noise.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JLH_in_CO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2013

We spent 5 nights here and loved every minute of it! The tree top apartment is smallish, but completely functional for our family of four (kids ages 8 & 10). Yes, it is a simple place, but there is great beauty in simplicity. Sabine and Guy made sure we were comfortable and set us up with all of the activities that we needed. The kids loved the swing on the middle level and all of us were fascinated by the occasional visits by the capuchins coming through in the evening.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CAFAM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013

My wife and I spent two nights in the top apartment with our two kids. We had the entire place to ourselves which was nice. The top floor is literally in the tree tops with a beautiful view of the hillside across the valley. The furnishings are very unique and there is artwork scattered throughout the interior and exterior. This place is one-of-a-kind. It had everything we needed in the kitchen. It is also a short walk to restaurants which was great. Highly recommended.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
Thank EricandJane2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2013

It was a neat place with a pretty view of the mountainside and little river down below. We were greeted by monkeys towards our last days there, which was pretty neat. The first level shower was falling apart - literally....we could see the shower water pour out through the crack between the wall and floor..so that was a little frightening. The middle level with the two bedrooms on each side was neat, but had no bathroom or sink...or any place to unpack like drawers or shelves...so we had to blindly shuffle downstairs in rainstorms to find the bathroom the size of an outhouse because the motion-sensor light was out or broken...or something. The upstairs set up was nice. It was the only level that had a real kitchen with a sink and a real shower that wasn't collapsing so our three families spent the majority of time hanging out there and also outside in the mezzanine patio area. This place is really interesting because it truly is a tree house, which is very unique. But this isn't a four or five star place...this is more of a cabin-like setting. I don't even think there were fans for airflow..and honestly sometimes the humidity was a bit stifling. Am I kind of a priss? No...but at the same time my mind was set for a more relaxing time where running water is taken for granted and we didn't have to share just one shower. But if you're up for an adventurous time in a treehouse, then this place is it!

Our host was great by the way. He had really good recommendations of the area and we took his advice on a lot of suggestions...and we were not disappointed for the area tours.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
Thank ToastyHam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews