We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beautiful retreat close to it all”
Review of TreeTop House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Monteverde
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
TreeTop House
Ranked #28 of 43 Monteverde B&B and Inns
Reviewed 24 April 2014

We thought we wanted a treehouse experience but this beautiful house hanging out in the canopy at the end of the road was exactly what we were looking for. Thanks to Sabine's great suggestions and local know-how we launched right into the heart of what we hoped to see in Monteverde. The bird watching blew our minds as did the night hikes and local eateries. We had no trouble using taxis to get to and from St. Elena, even with our 'pidgin' Spanish. We walked to many spots as well as using the organic grocery around the corner. Stella's redefines breakfast luxury . . . Thanks so much Sabine. The TreeTop House is part of my regular dreamtime haunts now.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Forest Room and loved the windows opening into the branches - even int he shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eloise M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TreeTopHouseCostaRic, Owner at TreeTop House, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

Thank you for sharing your wonderful experience in the TreeTop House with us. I am glad you are having nice memories that will last a lifetime. May be you will find your way back to Monteverde and us one day again. Remember dreams usually become true.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (61)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 19 of 61 reviews

Reviewed 15 April 2014

The house is very charming but not made for people expecting a high end 5 star hotel: we had a couple of bugs visit us, and the noise level is pretty high (we could hear everything our kids were saying on the floor below the one we were occupying, and vice versa)!! That said, that's exactly what we expected and had signed up for!
My family and I stayed there for 2 nights and thoroughly enjoyed our stay: Sabine was very helpful in organizing all the tours that we picked for us, including a Cloud Forest tour with Melvin, a wonderful tour guide and nature lover. We had lunch every day at the nearby Stella bakery, and bought fabulous goat cheese and local honey at the nearby grocery store.
Overall a wonderful experience and we would visit again in a heartbeat

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jehane G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TreeTopHouseCostaRic, Owner at TreeTop House, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

We are very happy that you shared your authentic experience. We are providing a wonderful experience for nature lovers that are not looking for a 5 star hotel and so we will want to keep it. We are making sure that we do have either one big family/group together in all levels of the house or we keep floors unoccupied to make sure couples have enough privacy one to another. Thank you for your feedback; it helps others have a clear vision for what this quaint building is about.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 December 2013

My friends and I were in Monteverde earlier this year. We traveled around a lot and then decided that Monteverde was one of the better places so we came back for Christmas 2013 before flying back home.
The house is creatively connected to nature, it's very artsy while not being completely rustic. We stayed in the "Forest Apartment" with one of the additional rooms. The apartment was well equipped and very nicely decorated. There were two bathrooms one inside and one outside for the room upstairs. Sabine, the owner, was very helpful both times we were there. She helped us book our tours. Both times it was sunny, with just a slight breeze.
The house was perfectly placed. It wasn't in town but it wasn't to far from everything. It was in walking distance from "Stella's Bakery" and "Tramonti" an Italian Restaurant.
We highly recommend this place to other travelers, it's a place with great individuality and great atmosphere....

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Crazy_Book_Girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TreeTopHouseCostaRic, Owner at TreeTop House, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2014

Thank you for coming back to the TreeTop House. We appreciate positive feedback and are glad that you enjoyed your time or times, with us. Sabine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2013

we were there over the Xmas holidays 2012. It was cold and rainy and the windows rattled day and night! The toilet overflowed in the top floor and soaked all the way thru to the ground floor drenching our suitcases and clothing in all the rooms [our family was staying on all floors]
The stove didn't work and you had to go outside to get to the bathroom for many of the rooms,
and there wasn't enough hot water for the shower for all of us.
I could go on-but it is too depressing--the land-lady owner was falsely cheerful but unhelpful.

Room Tip: there have to be better places to stay in Monte Verde
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CaliforniaDavid92103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TreeTopHouseCostaRic, Owner at TreeTop House, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2014

Thank you for your feedback on the TreeTop House. We are sorry to hear that your Christmas in 2012 was unpleasant. In 2013 the weather was much better over the holidays.
We want to apologize that we had an unexpected problem with the toilet, please note that we fixed that afterwards.
We are also sorry that you have experienced Sabine as falsely cheerful and unhelpful. We genuinely do our best to comfort you while you are staying with us.
The TreeTop House is designed to be integrated into the flora and fauna. This is truly made for nature lovers. We want to apologize again for your difficult experience in the TreeTop House and in Monteverde, Costa Rica. Sabine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2013

We stayed in the tree top apartment and one of the rooms below in early August. The place is just as cool as it looks in the pictures and has wonderful views of the trees. The only problem was that it was so noisy from the wind that it was really difficult to sleep at night. The room on the floor below the apartment wasn't as bad so maybe the lower floors would be better.

I thought the location was great. It was out of the town hustle and bustle but still within walking distance of Stella's Bakery and the art center.

Sabine and Guy were very helpful in arranging tours. They set us up with Melvin for a cloud forest tour. Melvin was a wonderful guide.

Room Tip: While the view is great from the tree top apartment, I would recommend a lower floor to avoid the wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JLH_in_CO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2013

We spent 5 nights here and loved every minute of it! The tree top apartment is smallish, but completely functional for our family of four (kids ages 8 & 10). Yes, it is a simple place, but there is great beauty in simplicity. Sabine and Guy made sure we were comfortable and set us up with all of the activities that we needed. The kids loved the swing on the middle level and all of us were fascinated by the occasional visits by the capuchins coming through in the evening.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CAFAM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013

My wife and I spent two nights in the top apartment with our two kids. We had the entire place to ourselves which was nice. The top floor is literally in the tree tops with a beautiful view of the hillside across the valley. The furnishings are very unique and there is artwork scattered throughout the interior and exterior. This place is one-of-a-kind. It had everything we needed in the kitchen. It is also a short walk to restaurants which was great. Highly recommended.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
Thank EricandJane2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monteverde hotels
0.5 mi away
Cala Lodge
Cala Lodge
#5 of 20 in Monteverde
515 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Jardines de Monteverde
Hotel Jardines de Monteverde
#17 of 20 in Monteverde
140 reviews
0.5 mi away
Monteverde Inn
Monteverde Inn
#4 of 20 in Monteverde
273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Los Pinos - Cabanas y Jardines
1.1 mi away
Monteverde Cloud Forest Lodge
0.2 mi away
Hotel Belmar
Hotel Belmar
#1 of 20 in Monteverde
1,389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TreeTop House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TreeTop House

Address: 200 m beyond CPI | Entrance Left - Last House, 5655, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Monteverde
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Monteverde
Price Range: £76 - £152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your opportunity to live your vacation in the TreeTops in Monteverde. This artistic charming house is located off the main road to the rain forest of Monteverde between the reserve of Monteverde and the village of Sta. Elena of Monteverde sitting in the Canopies. All levels have separate entrances and are inner-connected with the canopy stairs. Big parking area, garden area, trail in the forest, look over canopy and waterfall, recreation areas. Hot showers. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Treetop House Hotel Monteverde

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing