We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Magical Place & Amazing Sabine!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of TreeTop House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Monteverde
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
TreeTop House
Ranked #23 of 40 Monteverde B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Magical Place & Amazing Sabine!”
Reviewed 14 August 2014

Our stay at the TreeTop House was magical. For us, it was the perfect marriage of adventure, comfort, convenience, charm and isolation. We wanted a tree house type experience, but still wanted clean comfy beds, indoor plumbing and the ability to provide our own meals. We were two families of 4 traveling together with kids ranging from age 7-12. The Treetop house exceeded our expectations. It is a truly unique place unlike any other.

We rented all levels of the house and would highly recommend doing this if possible. It allowed us to spread out and have all the privacy we wanted and needed. We used the top level as a gathering space for meals (as it has the best equipped kitchen of all the rooms) and the two levels below were used as sleeping quarters where the kids could play around during the day and we could sleep comfortably at night. If you are looking to rent the TreeTop house by individual level or room, take into consideration that every level is connected and privacy & noise could be an issue as some of the units share bathrooms and common areas. All the units are clean comfortable and nicely decorated, but vary in the amenities they have. Two of the bedrooms have a shared bathroom outside, while the top and bottom floors have their own bathroom & shower. If you are traveling with children, I recommend renting the entire house. It is very reasonably priced and the peace of mind that you’re the only people on the property is worth it. Otherwise, think of it as a pension where each room is rented separately, common areas are shared and plan on coming in close contact with other the other guests.

What makes the TreeTophouse such an amazing experience is its location and its owner, Sabine. The house is situated in the canopy of the Monteverde Cloudforest and has expansive views from the back. It is walking distance to the local bakery, restaurants and all the Biological wonders Monteverde has to offer. It is close to the downtown area where there is a Super Compro and plenty of restaurants and night life.

Sabine was a delight to work with and from the first day I inquired about the TreeTop house, she was cheery, helpful and responsive. The night we arrived, we were hours later than expected and Sabine was patient and took every measure to ensure we were comfortable and had what we needed. She also checked in with us each day and even brought coffee for our first morning from her coffee plantation.

Our experience wouldn’t have been what it was, without the amazing tours Sabine set up on our behalf. She has wonderful local connections and was able to set up tours with the best guides and made reservations for the best tours. We truly woke up each morning and Sabine had everything arranged for an amazing day of adventure. I spent weeks before our trip researching what tours to do and what places to see. Sabine never steered us wrong and was able to create an experience that wouldn’t have been possible without her local connections and expertise. When traveling in a foreign country, having a local who can give you advice and help steer you in the right direction is invaluable and is often overlooked when planning a vacation. The TreeTop House itself was memorable and unique, but combined with Sabine’s hospitality, it made for a trip we’ll never forget.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rebecca q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    38
    16
    2
    2
    3
See reviews for
35
10
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Carrollton, Georgia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

The house is unique, spacious, fun, comfortable and affordable. Sabine was a very helpful host. She suggested tours and helped set them up. We enjoyed them all, especially the coffee plantation tour. As good as a tree house. Nice environs. Kids really enjoyed the hammock swing. Can imagine it would be a great house for a group of 14 or so. Good for families too - Sabine will rent by the room or the whole house.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tori K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TreeTopHouseCostaRic, Owner at TreeTop House, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
We are very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay in our TreeTop House. You had a great experience without a car and found your way easy around to the highlights in Monteverde. We hope to have you one day again here with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hadley, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014

We loved our stay in the TreeTop House. We're a group of four teachers who bring ten students to Costa Rica every year. This was our first time staying at the TreeTop House but it won't be our last. Our students absolutely loved it and rated it as one of their favorite parts of the trip. It fit our group perfectly with privacy for the adults and great communal space for the students. It's in a great location with easy access to Santa Elena as well as many of the forests in Monteverde. Sabine, the owner, was great, helping us with all of our itinerary during our stay. She also owns Sabine's Smiling Horses - some of the nicest and well cared for horses in the country. We look forward to staying with Sabine again next year!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank northmonomoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TreeTopHouseCostaRic, Owner at TreeTop House, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
We are glad to have your group with us every year at Smiling Horses and now also give you a great time in the TreeTop House. Thank you for making the TreeTop House one of the key destinations on your yearly visits to Costa Rica. We are already looking forward to host you in 2015.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Invermere, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014

We thought we wanted a treehouse experience but this beautiful house hanging out in the canopy at the end of the road was exactly what we were looking for. Thanks to Sabine's great suggestions and local know-how we launched right into the heart of what we hoped to see in Monteverde. The bird watching blew our minds as did the night hikes and local eateries. We had no trouble using taxis to get to and from St. Elena, even with our 'pidgin' Spanish. We walked to many spots as well as using the organic grocery around the corner. Stella's redefines breakfast luxury . . . Thanks so much Sabine. The TreeTop House is part of my regular dreamtime haunts now.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Forest Room and loved the windows opening into the branches - even int he shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eloise M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TreeTopHouseCostaRic, Owner at TreeTop House, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Thank you for sharing your wonderful experience in the TreeTop House with us. I am glad you are having nice memories that will last a lifetime. May be you will find your way back to Monteverde and us one day again. Remember dreams usually become true.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 15 April 2014

The house is very charming but not made for people expecting a high end 5 star hotel: we had a couple of bugs visit us, and the noise level is pretty high (we could hear everything our kids were saying on the floor below the one we were occupying, and vice versa)!! That said, that's exactly what we expected and had signed up for!
My family and I stayed there for 2 nights and thoroughly enjoyed our stay: Sabine was very helpful in organizing all the tours that we picked for us, including a Cloud Forest tour with Melvin, a wonderful tour guide and nature lover. We had lunch every day at the nearby Stella bakery, and bought fabulous goat cheese and local honey at the nearby grocery store.
Overall a wonderful experience and we would visit again in a heartbeat

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jehane G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TreeTopHouseCostaRic, Owner at TreeTop House, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
We are very happy that you shared your authentic experience. We are providing a wonderful experience for nature lovers that are not looking for a 5 star hotel and so we will want to keep it. We are making sure that we do have either one big family/group together in all levels of the house or we keep floors unoccupied to make sure couples have enough privacy one to another. Thank you for your feedback; it helps others have a clear vision for what this quaint building is about.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 December 2013

My friends and I were in Monteverde earlier this year. We traveled around a lot and then decided that Monteverde was one of the better places so we came back for Christmas 2013 before flying back home.
The house is creatively connected to nature, it's very artsy while not being completely rustic. We stayed in the "Forest Apartment" with one of the additional rooms. The apartment was well equipped and very nicely decorated. There were two bathrooms one inside and one outside for the room upstairs. Sabine, the owner, was very helpful both times we were there. She helped us book our tours. Both times it was sunny, with just a slight breeze.
The house was perfectly placed. It wasn't in town but it wasn't to far from everything. It was in walking distance from "Stella's Bakery" and "Tramonti" an Italian Restaurant.
We highly recommend this place to other travelers, it's a place with great individuality and great atmosphere....

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Crazy_Book_Girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TreeTopHouseCostaRic, Owner at TreeTop House, responded to this review, 2 January 2014
Thank you for coming back to the TreeTop House. We appreciate positive feedback and are glad that you enjoyed your time or times, with us. Sabine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2013

we were there over the Xmas holidays 2012. It was cold and rainy and the windows rattled day and night! The toilet overflowed in the top floor and soaked all the way thru to the ground floor drenching our suitcases and clothing in all the rooms [our family was staying on all floors]
The stove didn't work and you had to go outside to get to the bathroom for many of the rooms,
and there wasn't enough hot water for the shower for all of us.
I could go on-but it is too depressing--the land-lady owner was falsely cheerful but unhelpful.

Room Tip: there have to be better places to stay in Monte Verde
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CaliforniaDavid92103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TreeTopHouseCostaRic, Owner at TreeTop House, responded to this review, 2 January 2014
Thank you for your feedback on the TreeTop House. We are sorry to hear that your Christmas in 2012 was unpleasant. In 2013 the weather was much better over the holidays.
We want to apologize that we had an unexpected problem with the toilet, please note that we fixed that afterwards.
We are also sorry that you have experienced Sabine as falsely cheerful and unhelpful. We genuinely do our best to comfort you while you are staying with us.
The TreeTop House is designed to be integrated into the flora and fauna. This is truly made for nature lovers. We want to apologize again for your difficult experience in the TreeTop House and in Monteverde, Costa Rica. Sabine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monteverde hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel El Bosque
Hotel El Bosque
#8 of 22 in Monteverde
223 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Fonda Vela
Hotel Fonda Vela
#12 of 22 in Monteverde
673 reviews
1.5 mi away
Sunset Hotel Monteverde
Sunset Hotel Monteverde
#10 of 22 in Monteverde
194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
#3 of 22 in Monteverde
1,054 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Villa Verde
Hotel Villa Verde
#20 of 22 in Monteverde
63 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel BellBird
Hotel BellBird
#22 of 72 in Monteverde
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TreeTop House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TreeTop House

Property: TreeTop House
Address: 200 m beyond CPI | entrance left - last house, 5655, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Monteverde
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 40 B&Bs / Inns in Monteverde
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your opportunity to live your vacation in the TreeTops in Monteverde. This artistic charming house is located off the main road to the rain forest of Monteverde between the reserve of Monteverde and the village of Sta. Elena of Monteverde sitting in the Canopies. All levels have separate entrances and are inner-connected with the canopy stairs. Big parking area, garden area, trail in the forest, look over canopy and waterfall, recreation areas. Hot showers. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Treetop House Hotel Monteverde

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing