We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Greateful for yoga in Monteverde”
Review of Rio Shanti Spa - CLOSED

Rio Shanti Spa
Useful Information: Baby buggy parking
Attraction details
Useful Information: Baby buggy parking
Simi Valley, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Greateful for yoga in Monteverde”
Reviewed 22 December 2012

We had been on the road for almost a month. Back in LA we would practice yoga least a couple of times a week, but while traveling we rarely get the chance and when we do we have to cobble together a class of our own without an instructor so when Natalia was recommended we had to give her a try. We visited on a rainy day and were very happy we did. She is not only a proficient and engaged she is a lovely person. She asked us if there were any specific areas we wanted to concentrate on before she started the class and was clearly listening to the answer as she hit them perfectly. If you are visiting the Monteverde area and need you yoga fix rest assured you have your answer.

She also has a great boutique with yoga apparel, jewelry and other items for sale.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank JulieM80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    2
    1
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ashland, Oregon
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“peaceful spot for massage, facials, dance and yoga”
Reviewed 14 November 2012

Rio Shanti is a great place for yoga, dance, massage, facials and more. There are other spas and gyms in Santa Elena, but this has a great location along the river right in the heart of Monteverde, across from the historic Cheese Factory. We were told by an old-time Quaker that it's the oldest building in town.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank a_year_in_Costa_Rica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“a lasting impression...”
Reviewed 2 November 2012

I left Costa Rica about a month ago and an overwhelming thankfulness for my treatments at Rio Shanti remains! I received not only a transcendent massage from Natalya but also an Acutonics facial- wonderful work! In addition to the spa services there were serums, lotions and oils for sale -- using the products brings me right back to my experience... Ahhhh...
And they offer Yoga-- I attended a phenomenal class with Katy- a great teacher!
Rio Shanti was a wonderful discovery and I will return...

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank cbamarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alameda, California, United States
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A relaxing escape”
Reviewed 1 September 2012

The new owners of Rio Shanti are awesome. Owner Natalia teaches a killer yoga class open to the public, and from the way she lovingly assisted us with our poses, I can tell she would give a killer massage as well. We capped off our yoga session with a river walk on the property and felt relaxed and happy for the rest of the day. Natalia and Taylor have some work to do to get the studio in full working order, but they have some great plans for the place. I hope we can make it back someday to see everything finished. We wish them the best of luck in this new endeavor!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Danielle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
El Roble, Heredia, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nurture your self”
Reviewed 19 April 2012

Rio Shanti is a yoga center, spa, and store for nurturing your self and your loved ones. Janet's products are her own formulas, lovingly and excellently prepared and only available there. There's a yoga class every day. Massages, facials, pedicures and lovingly offered.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank JudeGladstoneCade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Rio Shanti Spa also viewed

Monteverde, Province of Puntarenas
Santa Elena, Monteverde
 
Monteverde, Province of Puntarenas
Monteverde, Province of Puntarenas
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing