We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In nature. Rooms are spacious”
Review of Cala Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Cala Lodge
Ranked #4 of 20 Hotels in Monteverde
Certificate of Excellence
Pembroke Pines, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“In nature. Rooms are spacious”
Reviewed 21 May 2014

We stayed two nights at $110 per night which includes breakfast.The rooms are clean and have a terrace or balcony. The views were beautiful and there is a short nature walk for young ones. The staff was friendly and very helpful,

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tommy745
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

486 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    324
    124
    26
    9
    3
See reviews for
107
236
27
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014

I loved staying at Cala Lodge! The location is spectacular.. perched up in the mountains and forests of Monteverde, away from the bustle of the town it provides a great refresher for the soul. It gets even better with a made to order hot breakfast cooked and served by the wonderful staff. Both Josies at the reception provided us with great service and excellent recommendations for things to do around town.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hargun C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fredericton, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Simple accommodations, feels like a treehouse.
We were there near the end of April. At night it's cold & windy so pack some warm clothes.
It's a short walk to Greens restaurant (try their creative menu) & Johnny's tapas bar/pizza place.
Both very inexpensive but excellent food & service.
You can walk to downtown fr cala lodge but it is all uphill on the way back. Luckily a taxi only costs $3
The cook was so friendly & even tho we were early for breakfast she would let us in to help ourselves to the coffee.
They have a read & trade library in the main lodge which is nice.
A perfect addition to the lodge would be a hot tub to enjoy after a long day.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Playaplayer_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

I stayed at this place on two separate trips, one with friends and another with my boyfriend, and loved both times. The cabins are beautiful and some have great balconies. The ones without balconies still have great views. The rooms are large and very clean. The shower is really nice with real water heaters, which are not common in Costa Rica. The bed is large and comfy. Overall, I would definitely recommend this place!!!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shengxiao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014 via mobile

The Cala Lodge is just a bit outside of the centre of Monteverde in a stunning location overlooking the rainforests. It is set in beautifully quiet and relaxing gardens where we saw more animals and birds then when we did the hanging bridges walk.

The rooms are basic, by this I mean they don't have a TV, telephone or fridge, but apart from the fridge I don't know why it would matter. We were on a ground floor room which was nice and had a little patio area outside the door but the ones on the 1st floor are the ones to go for if you can because of the view you get is incredible. The staff were very friendly and the breakfast was good consisting of fruit, cereals, toast, scrambled egg, tea coffee and orange juice ordered from a menu rather than buffet style.

When on route to the Cala Lodge for the first time we were getting very worried as the shuttle bus seemed to be heading quite far out of the town and up a very steep hill, however when we arrived we were immediately relieved as it's a lovely location. It was also only a 5-7 minute walk to a small area with a supermarket and a few restaurants and about 15-20 walk into the main town down the hill. We were told a taxi would cost about $5-6 if we wanted to get one there or back, but actually even after a big dinner in town the walk back up the hill wasn't so bad and we didn't use a taxi at any point whilst staying there. In terms of restaurants in town I would recommend Morpho (which was recommended to us by the owner of Cala Lodge.). It was the best meal we had in Costa Rica and was pretty reasonably priced.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Michael P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2014 via mobile

Cala Lodge has been so far my favourite lodge in Costa Rica. The rooms are too lovely. They have amazing views, beds, decor, bathrooms with hair dryer, full length mirror and a free safety deposit box. Staff are friendly and they recommend nice restaurants. Whilst I've been here I've enjoyed my stay and would definitely recommend this idyllically set lodge.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank beckyneilson09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnstaple, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed at Cala Lodge for 3nights whilst exploring Monteverde. The Hotel itself is in a beautiful location overlooking jungle but this does mean it is a 20-25 minute walk down a very steep hill into the little town of Santa Elena where a lot of the restaurants are. We didn't mind the walk, but I imagine it would be difficult with children.
Our room was on the ground floor (only has 2 floors) and was basic but very nice. I would suggest requesting a room on the first floor as it was very noisy hearing the other guests move around and go up and down the stairs outside our room. The rooms at the front of the building also had lovely balconies with a great view so I would also request one of them,we were at the back without much view.
The shower was hot and powerful-just what you needed after a long day in the jungle.
The breakfast here is not self service and you get a basic choice of scrambled eggs with cheese/tomato/ham added or 2pancakes. The food was nice but maybe would of been nice to have larger portions or more choice when you need to fill yourself up for the busy days ahead exploring the jungle.
Staff were great and very helpful-helped us arrange all our tours and rang some companies in our lonely planet guide for us. Overall a nice stay.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ClaireandTim2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monteverde hotels
0.2 mi away
Los Pinos - Cabanas y Jardines
0.2 mi away
Monteverde Inn
Monteverde Inn
#6 of 20 in Monteverde
245 reviews
0.3 mi away
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
#3 of 20 in Monteverde
1,119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel El Bosque
Hotel El Bosque
#8 of 20 in Monteverde
240 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco
Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco
#13 of 20 in Monteverde
686 reviews
0.9 mi away
Monteverde Cloud Forest Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cala Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cala Lodge

Property: Cala Lodge
Address: | 200 M Oeste Y 325 Sur De La Escuela, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Monteverde
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 20 Hotels in Monteverde
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Cala Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cala Lodge was built on three acres of property (1.2 hectares) of forest right next to the world-renowned Children's Eternal Rain Forest which has an area of 52.800 acres. It is the largest private reserve in Central America. Cala Lodge offers reasonably priced, cozy accommodations secluded from the noise and crowds and surrounded by beautiful forest with easy access to all the main attractions in the area. We help our visitors to design the best itineraries to take advantage of their stay in Monteverde and make it a memorable esperience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Odigeo, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Cala Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cala Hotel Monteverde

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing