We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful”
Review of Cala Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Cala Lodge
Ranked #5 of 20 Hotels in Monteverde
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Perfect for us!!! My adventurous daughter and I don't spend a lot of time at hotels, but it is nice to come back to a very quite and clean hotel with a great staff. They were very helpful, the breakfast was delicious and the room was very nice. Loved the back porch at the hotel lobby, saw all kinds of local animals and it had some comfy couches!!!!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Tony R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (501)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

197 - 203 of 501 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2014

Spent three nights here with my Family. Rooms where very comfortable and clean. Location was perfect with attention to creating a hotel that blended into its surroundings. Hotel Management and staff were extremely inviting making us feel "at home". Would definitely go back.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cedric C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

This place is beautiful. We were there in the off-season and there was construction going on so they upgraded us to a suite furthest away from the noise. It was so peaceful. We enjoyed walking the grounds and seeing toucans. The breakfast was included and was plenty to start the day with beautiful views overlooking the lush grounds and attached forests. The owners are extremely helpful and even specified guides to help us through the forests. They were exceptional guides. We visited 3 different cloud forests during our stay, explaining to them what we enjoyed, and they were right on, we had a wonderful time.

Room Tip: The suites are sooo nice, but the other buildings looked nice as well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alicia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014

A quiet small hotel with lovely grounds, consists of 3 buildings. Great gardens, I loved just sitting on the back porch behind the lobby/breakfast area drinking coffee & watching the humming birds & butterflies among the flowers. Breakfast was sit down with a simple menu, rather then buffet which made a nice change. It is about a 15 minute walk to downtown, but there are also a few restaurants & shops only 5 minutes away. In fact two of favorite Costa Rican restaurants were close to this hotel, The Green & Sofia's.
Our room was small but very nice with a balcony, one full & one twin bed. closet with safe and a good sized shower, and WIFI. In the room itself, there was room for improvement. The furniture was too large for it, which made the small room feel even smaller. Also the mattress itself was rather hard, it could have benefited from a mattress topper, I could feel the springs through the sheet. But even with the less then comfortable bed I would recommend this hotel & gladly return.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank a trudy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

hotel is nice and quaint - very few rooms and no tv but great wifi signal. breakfast was simple but good - eggs either scrambled or fried with ham, cheese, tomato, or pancakes. also served with fruit, coffee, juice. nice little getaway seclusion versus staying in typical, normal congested hotels. this has more of a cabin feel, in the woods, but again, it's very close to civilization - you just feel isolated.

Ken, FL

Room Tip: Rooms above the restaurant and #5 (upstairs) have the best view. Hotel is only a minute from main r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ken M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014

We stayed in the main building, looking directly out at the spectacular view. Our room was spacious and the bathroom was as well. Breakfast came with the room and included a fruit place, juice, coffee and then a made-to-order eggs, pancakes or granola, with fresh bread.

This is a very quiet (except for the wind) boutique property on a beautiful piece of land complete with a walking trail. It's still close enough to walk to several good restaurants.

Very good Wifi, nice common areas to hangout, and fantastic staff that helped coordinate our tours and transportation.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DanStone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

An absolutely perfect place for families. The suites are large enough to accommodate 5. The lodge is beautiful, and in the middle of a forrest with beautiful views. The desk is staffed by the couple who one the lodge, and could not be any friendlier or helpful. It is also only a 5-10 minute walk from the town center.

Best part may even be the made to order breakfast.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank MatthewEason
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monteverde hotels
0.2 mi away
Monteverde Inn
Monteverde Inn
#4 of 20 in Monteverde
260 reviews
0.2 mi away
Los Pinos - Cabanas y Jardines
0.3 mi away
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
#3 of 20 in Monteverde
1,129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Belmar
Hotel Belmar
#1 of 20 in Monteverde
1,357 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel El Bosque
Hotel El Bosque
#8 of 20 in Monteverde
250 reviews
0.9 mi away
Monteverde Cloud Forest Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cala Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cala Lodge

Address: | 200 M Oeste Y 325 Sur De La Escuela, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Monteverde
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 20 Hotels in Monteverde
Price Range: £65 - £112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cala Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cala Lodge was built on three acres of property (1.2 hectares) of forest right next to the world-renowned Children's Eternal Rain Forest which has an area of 52.800 acres. It is the largest private reserve in Central America. Cala Lodge offers reasonably priced, cozy accommodations secluded from the noise and crowds and surrounded by beautiful forest with easy access to all the main attractions in the area. We help our visitors to design the best itineraries to take advantage of their stay in Monteverde and make it a memorable esperience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Agoda, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick and getaroom.com so you can book your Cala Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cala Hotel Monteverde

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing