We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superb food and atmosphere” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cafe Orchid Coffee Shop

Cafe Orchid Coffee Shop
Ranked #1 of 7 Dessert in Monteverde
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$2 - US$9
Cuisines: American, Cafe, Costa Rican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Specialty hot and iced coffee, crepes, salads, paninis. Home made bakery
London
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Superb food and atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

The food was fantastic! And the smoothies were sooooo good.

I had one of the savoury crepes which had a lovely flavourful pesto and avocados. There were so many good options to choose from on the menu I felt spoilt for choice.

I like the atmosphere and the hippy way in which the restaurant was decorated.

This was my favourite meal in Costa Rica!!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Nomad_Neena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

700 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    570
    98
    18
    6
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
35 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great cafe to visit after (or before) an exerting day”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014 via mobile

Came in one cool afternoon for some sandwiches and cold drinks. I had the pavo (turkey panini) and a vittorio, an iced coffee, whiskey, chocolate, and ice cream blend that was delicious. My wife had a frozen lemonade and caprice (mozzarella, basil, tomato panini).

The food was excellent, service prompt and courteous, wifi was fast, and, as an unexpected bonus, they had a very nice smelling bathroom with scented candles.

The prices were very reasonable. We plan on returning to try out their crepes and coffee. Definitely recommend to cafe fans visiting Monteverde.

Helpful?
Thank TrailRunner125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Federal Way, Washington
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Nice stop for lunch.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014

This is one of the best places to eat in town, as they are obviously committed to quality ingredients and great food. This is a couple minutes walk away from the Triangle (center of town) and abuts a private orchid garden and wildlife park.

This is not a "meat & potatoes" American-style family place where you park your butt and inhale food for an hour or two, which believe me, is a good thing. More like a European bistro, with lighter but really good food.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank IndigoB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
75 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“A real gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2014 via mobile

A couple we met recommended this place and we're so glad they did-the food we had was great (especially the chicken and spinach panini) and the cappuccino was the best I've had in Costa Rica. Not cheap but wifi is free and it smashes some of its local rivals out the water

Helpful?
Thank adam_monty25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herts
Level Contributor
186 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2014

Stopped for traditional Tico coffee, smoothie and cake - pineapple and coconut tart and a chocolate brownie. All superb - cakes were home-made and delicious. Service was quick and friendly. A great place to chill

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MikeH98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cafe Orchid Coffee Shop also viewed

Monteverde, Province of Puntarenas
Santa Elena, Monteverde
 
Monteverde, Province of Puntarenas
Santa Elena, Monteverde
 
Santa Elena, Monteverde
 

Been to Cafe Orchid Coffee Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing