We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and coffee”
Review of Orchid Coffee Shop

Orchid Coffee Shop
Ranked #1 of 7 Dessert in Monteverde
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$2 - US$10
Cuisines: American, Cafe, Healthy, Costa Rican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Drinks, Breakfast, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: We must be what we eat, which is why our products are healthy, full of ingredients that provide energy to our body. Each dish is designed to intensify our senses, flavors that awaken interest, in smells that make us dream. With all this, we captivate palates and hearts that become satisfied customers.
Fox Lake, Illinois
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great food and coffee”
Reviewed 26 June 2014

We had sandwiches and Turkish cappuccino, which I think was supposed to be like sahlep, both great! The desserts looked good, too. It is a pretty restaurant, and an easy walk in Santa Elena, though not in the middle of everything else. One of my favorite meals we had during our stay.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank NikkBT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

739 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    607
    100
    18
    6
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Best lunch in Monteverde”
Reviewed 23 June 2014 via mobile

They care about the details here. I had a turkey pita w/ avocado, pesto and mozza. It was excellent. For dessert, we shared a passionfruit cheesecake. The cake itself was delicious and moist and would have been even better with just a touch more fruit. I would definitely go back. Service was great and restaurant was extraordinarily clean.

Helpful?
Thank tmadd928
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Superb food and atmosphere”
Reviewed 16 June 2014

The food was fantastic! And the smoothies were sooooo good.

I had one of the savoury crepes which had a lovely flavourful pesto and avocados. There were so many good options to choose from on the menu I felt spoilt for choice.

I like the atmosphere and the hippy way in which the restaurant was decorated.

This was my favourite meal in Costa Rica!!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Nomad_Neena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
35 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great cafe to visit after (or before) an exerting day”
Reviewed 3 May 2014 via mobile

Came in one cool afternoon for some sandwiches and cold drinks. I had the pavo (turkey panini) and a vittorio, an iced coffee, whiskey, chocolate, and ice cream blend that was delicious. My wife had a frozen lemonade and caprice (mozzarella, basil, tomato panini).

The food was excellent, service prompt and courteous, wifi was fast, and, as an unexpected bonus, they had a very nice smelling bathroom with scented candles.

The prices were very reasonable. We plan on returning to try out their crepes and coffee. Definitely recommend to cafe fans visiting Monteverde.

Helpful?
Thank TrailRunner125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Federal Way, Washington
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Nice stop for lunch.”
Reviewed 3 May 2014

This is one of the best places to eat in town, as they are obviously committed to quality ingredients and great food. This is a couple minutes walk away from the Triangle (center of town) and abuts a private orchid garden and wildlife park.

This is not a "meat & potatoes" American-style family place where you park your butt and inhale food for an hour or two, which believe me, is a good thing. More like a European bistro, with lighter but really good food.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank IndigoB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Orchid Coffee Shop also viewed

Santa Elena, Monteverde
Monteverde, Province of Puntarenas
 
Monteverde, Province of Puntarenas
Santa Elena, Monteverde
 

Been to Orchid Coffee Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing