We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome and unique place”

Monteverde Wildlife Refuge
Ranked #19 of 63 things to do in Monteverde
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: The Monteverde Wildlife Refuge is committed to the preservation of our native flora and fauna. It features animal views, guided family walks, and guided sunset nocturnal toursSit under a shady tree and watch Quetzals, Bell Birds, Umbrella Birds, Snakes and a variety of other birds in their natural habitat.Monteverde Wildlife Refuge is a private sanctuary, staffed by nature lovers and is the newest Wildlife Refuge in Monteverde Costa Rica.
Toledo, Ohio
Level Contributor
444 reviews
268 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
“Awesome and unique place”
Reviewed 1 March 2014

We took a tour from Central American Tours to Monteverde. It is a long 3-4 hour ride and is very bumpy on undeveloped roads. The bumpy ride is worth it but if you get car sick take medicine before going. Beatiful views of countryside and cloud forest. Saw jhummingbirds before beginning our walk in the cloud forest. Take a rain coat or jacket as it can be rainy and wet here. A one hour walk through forest over a series of hanging bridges was very cool. We saw wildlife such as howler monkeys. Our guide was informative and helpful. Afterwards we had a tour of butterfly garden which had a great collection of butterflies. Highly recommend tour even with bumpy ride.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank SharonB231
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    82
    39
    16
    8
    5
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
“Interesting and educational”
Reviewed 23 February 2014

I'm so glad we made the effort to include this (Feb 8/14) in our visit of the area! Our guide through the reserve was very knowledgeable and respectful of the plants; mammals; insects and visitors! I learned a lot, and it is good to know such important work is being done there. Thank you for hosting us.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lynda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Schomberg, Canada
Level Contributor
55 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Fantastic Night Tour”
Reviewed 16 February 2014

We booked this tour before arriving in Santa Elena and had a quick early supper before being picked up at our hotel.
We saw more at night than a daytime trip to the cloud forest although not as clearly. We saw the two toes sloth that we missed in Manuel Antonio Park.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Tim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Monteverde Night Tours”
Reviewed 4 January 2014

The night tour at the Monteverde Wildlife Refuge was the first thing I did in Monteverde. Literally, I went to this attraction within the hour of arriving in Santa Elena.

Our guide was quite knowledgeable about the flora and fauna in the area and did his best to find us some prime specimens - rather, I think most of the other guides relied quite a bit on his knowledge and frequently asked him for tips. Unfortunately, our group wasn't very lucky and only saw a few animals during our two-hour tour.

I also came here during high season and the number of visitors during our night tour group was enormous. The number of flashlights illuminating the refuge took away from any sense of isolated exploration, and probably scared away most of the animals into hiding.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephanie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas
Level Contributor
110 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Night Tour exceeded expectations!”
Reviewed 31 December 2013

This was our first night tour and we didn't quite know what to expect. Our guide Andres Alvarado of Forests Alive knew that our primary interest was birds, so he worked hard to show us birds too. We were very fortunate to see several birds asleep - an ant vireo, a keel-billed toucan, an emerald toucanet, a yellow bellied trogon, a tree-creeper and a chlorophonia. We also saw an armadillo, two gray foxes, an ant-eater on a tree, several kinkajous, a couple of pit-vipers, several frogs and crickets and a leaf-mimic katydid which was quite amazing. If we'd had time, I would have liked to return early in the morning for a bird tour.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank tvplano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Monteverde Wildlife Refuge also viewed

Monteverde Cloud Forest Reserve, Monteverde
Monteverde, Province of Puntarenas
 
Monteverde, Province of Puntarenas
Monteverde, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to Monteverde Wildlife Refuge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing