We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very knowledgable guide!”

Monteverde Wildlife Refuge
Ranked #20 of 63 things to do in Monteverde
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: The Monteverde Wildlife Refuge is committed to the preservation of our native flora and fauna. It features animal views, guided family walks, and guided sunset nocturnal toursSit under a shady tree and watch Quetzals, Bell Birds, Umbrella Birds, Snakes and a variety of other birds in their natural habitat.Monteverde Wildlife Refuge is a private sanctuary, staffed by nature lovers and is the newest Wildlife Refuge in Monteverde Costa Rica.
Monument, CO
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Very knowledgable guide!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2014 via mobile

We really enjoyed our night hike! (2 kids ages 9 and 12 also) (Note it was cold - maybe close to 50's so dress appropriately!) price included transportation to/from hotel too. Our group was about 8 people (they separate you based on hotels so there is a large group to start and they offer coffee and crackers while you wait) and Chris was our guide- a local guy with a huge knowledge of everything Eco related! We learned so much from him and his enthusiasm for his job and the animals, insects was infectious! His English was perfect too! We each got a flashlight and the tour took 2 hours or so? We saw scorpions, kinkajous, sleeping porcupines in trees, kill bill toucans, grey foxes(more like cats) masked tityra, leaf cutter ants/nest, leaf bug, walking stick, side striped palm pit viper-- and learned so many facts about each! We were driving out to leave and the driver stopped and a sloth was right above us eating so we all got out to watch it for awhile- this was by far my favorite sighting! Our guide magically appeared and told us all we ever wanted to know about the sloths then too. It was a perfect night- we enjoyed all of it!!!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Monument101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    81
    39
    16
    8
    5
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Florida
Level Contributor
48 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A bit of a crowd, but an excellent night walk.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014

I had been told that this night walk was a bit crowded, and it was - the group was broken into about four groups of six people. This tended not to be a casual stroll through the rainforest looking for things type of night walk. The guides knew where various animals could be found, so we tended to head from one spot to another. So at times it seemed like there were a lot of people walking around on the trails, but on the other hand, we saw a lot - several pit vipers, an olingo, and a hummingbird nesting, It was definitely worthwhile, and I was contemplating even going back a second night.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Stephen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level Contributor
69 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Worthwile night tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2014

This walk in the dark was well worth the modest fee. We saw a sloth waking up, a Kinkajou, a skunk, a walking stick, Katydids, a firefly like beetle, a tarantula, many sleeping birds, etc. The guide provides flashlights and the tour is about two hours long. So many of the forest animals are nocturnal that this kind of tour is a must see.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank TomLaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
42 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A unique experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2014

The night tour was absolutely a great experience. Our guide was very knowledgeable and we saw many animals, birds, reptiles, amphibians and insects that are impossible to notice if you are a novice. The only negative point was that there were too many people in the group.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jojo201403
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tacoma, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great night hike, overrun front desk”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2014

We had an excellent evening on the night hike and saw lots of animals. Our guide's English was excellent and he did a great job of sharing his enthusiasm for his work with us. Unfortunately, there was a big rush at the front desk as we arrived and only 1 person working to check everyone in, take payments, and answer multiple phones. It worked out ok, but a little more help at the front desk might be good in the future to make things go more smoothly.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank LovinLife1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Monteverde Wildlife Refuge also viewed

Monteverde Cloud Forest Reserve, Monteverde
Monteverde, Province of Puntarenas
 
Monteverde, Province of Puntarenas
Monteverde, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to Monteverde Wildlife Refuge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing