We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely awesome!!!”
Review of Vista Verde Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Vista Verde Lodge
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
“Absolutely awesome!!!”
Reviewed 10 February 2013

We just returned from Costa-Rica and spent 2 wonderful nights at the Lodge. We were treated like family, Eulogio, the administrator made us feel at home, pampering us and providing valuable suggestions as per excursions to be made in the area, in fact everything he recommended was the best we could hope for, and our experience went way beyond our expectations. The Lodge is located 7km uphill from Santa Elena, but transportation can be arranged by Eulogio, so if you do not have a car, don't let this deter you. Once you get there you will be rewarded with the most awesome view you can imagine, Accomodations are simple and rather rustic but quite comfortable and the view from the room is outstanding.. Breakfast is included and is lovingly prepared by his mother, upon request evening meals can also be arranged and each was really delicious and very reasonably priced considering the quality and care involved in the preparations. There are trails available right off the property that will take you straight into your own private rainforest, we were accompanied by Francisco who made us feel quite safe in exploring the area. We really enjoyed our stay, had a fantastic time, and hope to return soon!

Room Tip: the 2 rooms located next to the dining room offer outstanding views of the volcano and the lake area...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yojo2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    36
    22
    9
    6
    6
See reviews for
22
29
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2013

We read about Vista Verde Lodge in a travel book a few hours before making the ascent up to Monte Verde. We decided to check it out based on the intriguing description and were beyond surprised by the prominent view of the volcano and lake when we arrived. The family that operates the hotel was so sweet and extremely accommodating. They gave great recommendations on the activities to check out while in town, their son took us on a hike to the waterfalls on the property, and they were lovely company whenever we were in the dining/common space. The room rate includes a tasty breakfast made to order, and we had lunch and dinner at the hotel several times as well. The grounds are very lush and totally secluded. It was the perfect find for us – off the beaten path and a little adventurous.

I would not recommend Vista Verde if you aren’t comfortable driving an extra 20-30 minutes outside of Santa Helena on a very rough “road” (make sure you have 4-wheel-drive and call for directions in advance). Also, if you are looking for something with luxury then this would not be the spot for you. The rooms are very simple, and you definitely will feel the elements (drafty, damp sheets, dim lights, a spider here and there), though I imagine this is the case at most of the lodging in the region.

Overall, for the great price and hospitality, I’d say it’s hard to beat!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Erin J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 January 2013

My Wife and I had an awesome time here @ Vista Verde Lodge. It was a nice change from the Hustle and Bustle of Tamarindo where we were for a week previous. Eulogio picked us up and on the way picked up his Mom Hermida who did the cooking which was delicious. She had called her eldest granddaughter Karina for help serving in the lodge which help with the communication as we had no Spanish. We felt like part of the family & they were helpful with things to do. We did some hiking at the lodge and the next day to Selvatura & did horsebacking riding right from the hotel with Alberto which Eulogio arranged for us. The view is breathtaking and alone was worth the trip. We had 4 windows with views of the Volcano and surrounding mountains and valley. Beautiful flowers landscaped the grounds. We would defintely go back and recommend to those not expecting the frills of a fancy hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bob f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johnstown, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2012

The worst place I have ever stayed! Our bathroom was an entymologists dream. I couldn't even count all the bugs in the bathtub. Getting to and from the lodge area in the pouring rain and fog was practically impossible because of the mud.
It is wayyyyyy out and getting there from the nearest town took at least 45 minutes to go 10 miles.
The only saving grace was the staff. They were very pleasant and the food was some of the best we had in Costa Rica.
We were booked for 3 nights but left after 2.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LeslieClemenson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
farmington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 April 2012

Vista Verde Lodge is a treasure! What a view of Arenal Volcano, right from our room! Great food--organic and locally grown, lovely staff, and excellent service! Several trails lead into the cloud forest. Lots of adventure/tours near the lodge. The Administer, Eulogio, and the wonderful chef, Ermina, treated us like family!! Will go there again...very soon I hope!!!

Room Tip: Room #1 has the best view of the volcano.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lenda c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santiago
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2012

We stayed three nights and would go back again, mostly because of the tremendously warm welcome and good service we recieved from the staff. The owner, Eulogio, and his indefatigable mother Hermida, who does the cooking, will go out of their way to make your stay as pleasant as possible. The food was excellent -- simple Costa Rican fare but very well cooked. The rooms aren't luxurious but they're spacious and at this place you're paying for the views and seclusion rather than the amenities. Don't expect cable TV and jacuzzis. If you're NOT going to Arenal then this is the best way to see the volcano without making the trip. We had a spectacular view of it without even getting out of bed! Yes, it's a bit a long way out of Santa Elena, but the advantage of that (apart from the seclusion) is that you're closer to the Santa Elena reserve and to other attractions like Selvatura (which I would thoroughly recommend for zip-lining, treetop walks etc). We walked from the lodge to both Selvatura and to the reserve. If you want bars and nightlife, DON'T stay here. If you want tranquility, great views and a very personal welcome from the owners, DO.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gideon_long
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boulder, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 April 2012

We (a familiy of four from Colorado) recently stayed at the Vista Verde Lodge. It was a high point of our trip to CR. The staff (Hermida and Eulogio) are really some of the most helpful, friendly folks you could hope to meet. A really nice family atmosphere, with tasty meals, a great view on the Arenal volcano (probably not always to be counted on, but we had great weather). The location is indeed out of the way- a nice break from the parts of Monteverde that are getting to be a bit Disneylandy.

The staff helped us arrange a horseback ride with Sabine's which worked out really well.

The property has its own set of trails and waterfalls that make a nice mini-excursion.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheTedR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monteverde hotels
3.8 mi away
Monteverde Inn
Monteverde Inn
#6 of 20 in Monteverde
246 reviews
3.6 mi away
Los Pinos - Cabanas y Jardines
4.0 mi away
Hotel El Bosque
Hotel El Bosque
#8 of 20 in Monteverde
240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Camino Verde Bed & Breakfast Monteverde
3.2 mi away
Mar Inn Bed & Breakfast
Mar Inn Bed & Breakfast
#10 of 34 in Santa Elena
222 reviews
3.7 mi away
Monteverde Villa Lodge
Monteverde Villa Lodge
#2 of 14 in Santa Elena
479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vista Verde Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vista Verde Lodge

Property: Vista Verde Lodge
Address: 2 kms Norte de Selvatura | 1 km despues del tren, 5655-66, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Monteverde
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 74 Speciality Lodging in Monteverde
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Vista Verde Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All our rooms have stunning views of the lake and Arenal Volcano, something that if we make clear is that we are located in a cloud forest that means not always clear, we trail to a waterfall and others because the hotel has 100 acres primary forest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your Vista Verde Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vista Verde Hotel Monteverde

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing