We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional Honeymoon”
Review of Ecolodge San Luis

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Monteverde
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ecolodge San Luis
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Exceptional Honeymoon”
Reviewed 4 April 2013

My wife and I recently visited here on the last leg of our honeymoon and absolutely loved it. The staff was super friendly and knowledgeable. The food was always delicious and you could eat until you could not eat anymore. While this is not a luxury resort, the accomodations are very clean and a perfect way to reconnect with nature (no TV, radio, etc. in the room). We will definitely be back again and again.

Room Tip: We stayed in the cabinas and had the whole room to ourselves (normally sleeps 4-6). Very secluded a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    104
    16
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
57
32
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
london
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2013

we stayed here for 5 days. We came straight from San Jose to the lodge. It was an amazing start to our holiday. We were travelling with our over active toddler. The staff were fantastic - all of them! They helped organise our activities, ran around after our daughter and taught us loads about the surrounding area. It was a pleasure to stay there.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wss42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2013

I visited the ecolodge in late December with my parents on a bird watching trip, and we had a wonderful time, in spite of my mom's back going out. Room #3 was beautiful (all that solid wood!), very clean, and comfortable (expect firm beds). Be aware that if you don't have a car, it is a ten minute walk from the room to meals at the main building. The food was tasty and plentiful, and it was fun to have a communal dining experience. Don't miss the hot chocolate made with fresh milk in the evening! The grounds are lovely, and birds congregate in the fruiting and flowering trees and shrubs around the deck at the lodge reception area. Birding here was a highlight of the trip. Definitely take advantage of the night hike; we saw an eyelash pit viper (safely), mottled owl, frogs, kinkajou, and several other critters. Trails are well-maintained, and the naturalists were extremely helpful and knowledgeable. Thank you Katie, Matt, Alex, Lukas, Laura, Kristy, and Wayner for making our stay comfortable, interesting, and memorable!

Room Tip: The view from room #3 was lovely--we could see out to Nicoya Bay when the sun was out! Wonderful de...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Amakihi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BOULDER
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2013

Ecolodge San Luis is a little off the beaten path near Monteverde, which is wonderful. The grounds are beautiful and the staff is incredibly friendly and helpful. You can enjoy the beautiful setting on your own or join the naturalists on hikes to learn more about the flora and fauna. The naturalists are U of Georgia students who are passionate about the ecology and help you learn about the unique environment of the cloud forest.

The accommodations are comfortable, roomy and clean, and are in a beautiful setting. The food is delicious and is served buffet style with other guests and students. At each meal, you get an opportunity to talk with someone new from around the world.

We highly recommend the Ecolodge San Luis. Even though the setting and facilities are great, it's the staff that makes it a fantastic experience.

Room Tip: Cabins 1-3 have great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank EdC_in_CO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntley, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2012

Nature geek or not, if you like learning about the place you're visiting, Ecolodge San Luis is not to be missed! This University of Georgia research campus is a gem near the Monteverde Cloud Forest. The roads are a little rough getting there, and you need to pay close attention to directions, such as turning at the ruins of a bus shelter (see my photo). I booked two nights there and we got lost for such a long time that we had to find somewhere else to stay! Then when we found the UGa campus, we only had one night left. It would be better to have several nights here, if you can. But we packed in a lot of activities, from a very cool night hike to milking a cow, so it was time well spent. Beautiful place, pleasant rooms, and super-friendly staff. We enjoyed all the interns very much! Early December was a quiet time to be there, with no researchers or students around, so we had almost a family kind of feeling at the shared meals. I liked the food and it was nice to have milk from the resident cows for our Costa Rican coffee.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wolftracks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Davis, West Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2012

This place is tucked away on a beautiful piece of land near Monteverde. There are so many opportunities to take advantage of here that are included in your stay. We helped milk cows one morning, and hiked to a beautiful waterfall later that day. A resident naturalist can take you on walks around the property to learn about animals and the environment. This is also an educational center, so it's easy to meet people who are researching and learning about this unique area! The rooms are simple and clean. We stayed in a cabina with french doors that opened onto a covered porch that overlooked the forest. There are polished wood floors throughout every room. The food is typical Costa Rican, cooked family-style by locals. Very good. The staff is so friendly, knowledgeable, and helpful. They can set you up with easy day trips to go zip lining, take guided chocolate tours, and my favorite was walking to a local finca and meeting the families that own the land, and learning about how coffee is grown and roasted. A nice touch to the tour was participating in the old-fashioned way of crushing sugarcane using a trapiche to extract juice for cane sugar. We learned step by step how it's done, and got to sample fresh sugar! Thank you UGA Ecolodge for such a memorable experience!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kristy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
174 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2012

We arrived at Ecolodge having just traveled through the mountains. It is a peaceful area where you are forced to slow down in a good way. Life is simple here. You can participate in many educational experiences which are included in your lodging fee (as are your meals). Everything here is done in consideration of the ecological and environmental impact. The cabinas were quite comfortable. If you book here consider your budget there are many types of housing available but all include food, lodging and some activities. We enjoyed birdwatching, milking cows and the waterfall hike! Probably I enjoyed the meals and gathering times the most where students studying there, faculty and tourists all come together.

I will come again. It is a Jewel.

Room Tip: Depending on your budget.... we enjoyed the cabinas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank EcoAdventuretraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Monteverde
2.7 mi away
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
#3 of 20 in Monteverde
1,121 reviews
3.1 mi away
Monteverde Cloud Forest Lodge
1.9 mi away
Hotel El Bosque
Hotel El Bosque
#8 of 20 in Monteverde
240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Los Pinos - Cabanas y Jardines
2.4 mi away
Cala Lodge
Cala Lodge
#4 of 20 in Monteverde
487 reviews
16.1 mi away
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
#4 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,869 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ecolodge San Luis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ecolodge San Luis

Property: Ecolodge San Luis
Address: San Luis de Monteverde, 700, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Monteverde
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 74 Speciality Lodging in Monteverde
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For a culturally authentic educational experience, make the Ecolodge San Luis at the University of Georgia's Costa Rica Campus your base for exploring the Monteverde Cloud Forest!Guests at the Ecolodge San Luis enjoy a wide range of educational, nature-based, and cultural activities, both on our campus and in the local community. Ecolodge San Luis won an international Innovation in Sustainability award. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ecolodge San Luis Hotel Monteverde

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing