We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic experience!”
Review of Ecolodge San Luis

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Monteverde
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ecolodge San Luis
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fantastic experience!”
Reviewed 12 May 2014 via mobile

This place is refreshingly different from your usual hotel as it is part of a university. We loved the guided walks we did with the volunteer naturalists: insects, birds, sustainability, night walk through the forest. They all had huge amounts of information to share. Our children thought it was all amazing. We saw all sorts of wildlife including capuchin monkeys, tarantula and toucans.

Dining is cafeteria style with local food, some of which is grown / reared on site.

Some of the cabinas are a bit of a walk (10 mins max) from the main buildings if you don't have a car. Just ask when you book.

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
Thank debandjimUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    102
    16
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
55
32
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014

This place is really cool. It's beautiful and a welcome change from the usual hotel or B&B. The students who checked us in and gave us a night tour were incredibly knowledgeable and the place was alive not only with nature but also with the energy of students and faculty who were incredibly friendly and obviously enjoying their time in this setting. We saw monkeys, several kinds of birds, a baby pit viper, and a couple agoutis even though we were only at the lodge 1 night. The food was good and the communal eating a nice change from the restaurant scene. We were even able to pack lunches to take with us while checking out the sights in Monteverde. I was a little worried this place would be far from other attractions in the area but it was actually just a few minutes from Santa Elena by car and easy to find. Our kids (12 and 15) and we all really enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rainygurl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014

I have visited this lovely station with my family and have taken my college classes. This place is for a traveler that is keen to learn. So many opportunities!! Contact with resident researchers, lectures, library access, knowledgeable interpreters, botanical garden, guided night hikes...you see what I mean.
I really loved the on-site alternative energy tour of biodigestor. Yes, they are sustainable so you can even feel good about your stay.

Over the 14 years I have had several issues arise where I needed help. This is where the Ecolodge shines. In each instance the staff have showed our group incredible support and helped address and remedy whatever the situation, making our bumpier travel experience as smooth as possible.

A real bargain too. There are so many activities and resources available to the visitor for free, several days worth at least. Delicious food always as well.

Planning to return.

Room Tip: The bungalows are most conveniently located
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Replicon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Golden, Colorado
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2014

This was the high-point of our trip. I was a bit put off when we arrived, but as the days went on my wife and I fell in love with the place and the people. Everyone there really cares about the place, their work, and are eager to show you the wonders of the cloud forest and to make you comfortable. Its most contagious; we found it enchanting.

As others have written, this is not a tourist lodge. It is an academic campus and research station owned and operated by the University of Georgia. Groups of undergraduates and visiting researchers are the primary "customers", though tourists are allowed to rent rooms in an outlying housing area. The campus consists of a dozen or more buildings, including labs, classrooms, student and staff housing, and a common area with a library, eating hall, and a large deck with stunning views and lots of students - attracted like hummingbirds - to the wi-fi node.

Meals are served at fixed times; you line up with the students cafeteria-style, and eat at long shared tables with benches. The food is quite basic, but will keep you alive and healthy. The housing is in the same style: basic and adequate. Bring lots of spare batteries for your flashlights, as the lighting in the rooms is Spartan. Also, it's several hundred yards of dirt road from the housing to the main campus. There's hot water, and an in-suite bathroom and shower.

For tourists, there are guides. These are recent biology graduates who are volunteering their time. They are knowledgeable and enthusiastic, considerably beyond the typical commercial guides. Most activities are on campus, but they are also familiar with the off-campus attractions in the area, and will offer suggestions as to where to go (and which to avoid), and arrange transportation. You will be assigned to one, and they will explain the available activities and work out your personalized schedule for days to come to suit your interests. Our days started early - 6:30 or so, and sometimes continued after dinner for night hikes. There is an administrator on duty who handles finances and bookings - and is a wonderful, caring person.

Room Tip: Ask for a cabina with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alex B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2014

This place was fantastic! My wife and I stayed here for about 5 days in mid January, and had such a wonderful time. First, it is neither a hostel or a hotel, so don't expect anything typical of either of those types of accommodation. Expect wonderful service, great food (3 meals a day, included in nightly rate), awesome tours and hikes (many of which are included in the nightly rate), and a level of interaction beyond what you would get in most places. Everyone dines at the same time in the same place, and we met and talked with so many wonderful and interesting people while we were there. The interns who took us on most of the tours were also really great, and were a wealth of knowledge about the area, and just fun people to hang out with in general. The setting was fantastic, just below the cloud forest reserve. The grounds and hiking trails/gardens on the property were so beautiful and fun to explore. We stayed in the bungalows, which are on the rustic side, but still very well kept. Beds weren't the most comfortable, but that was more than made up for by how awesome everything else was! If you are looking for a level of immersion beyond what you typically find at a hotel, I would suggest a visit to this place. We felt like part of the family while we were there, and their commitment to providing education to guests resulted in some of the best guided hikes/tours I have ever been on.

Room Tip: Bungalows had pretty thin walls and were 4 to a block, so noisy neighbors could be a bit of an issue...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fred-locks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, Mississippi, USA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014

I came here in December, 2013, with my husband and three other faculty colleagues at the University of Mississippi, to check out your facilities with the aim of perhaps developing Environmental Studies courses to be taught there. We all fell in love with the ecolodge. The facilities themselves are lovely and every bit of our trip was both fascinating and informative. We went on hikes on the ecolodge property including a night hike, toured a small extremely biodiverse coffe farm and a one-man chocolate-making business, took a beautifully guided hike in the Monteverde Cloud Forest, went on the canopy bridges in the cloud forest, and on our final day took a lovely hike to a river and then had the most delicious pizza at a little place near the ecolodge. It's hard to overemphasize the beauty and friendliness of Costa Rica. The ecolodge is extremely well run, the facilities are spotless and the food is quite delicious and plentiful. We all can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: The cabins are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 68annie68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Costa Rica
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2013 via mobile

We spent three days and nights at the Ecolodge San Luis operated as part of the University of Georgia Athens (UGA) environmental research campus. Our family of three shared a bungalow which was very simple and clean with an ensuite bathroom with hot shower. All meals were included in the per person rate and were served in a dining hall which provided an opportunity to interact with the resident student naturalists and other guests. Included in the rate were a campus tour, a natural history tour, a night hike, a tour of the biodigestors used to create methane gas for del-sustainable energy, and a tour of the medicinal plant garden. It is a great family experience especially for elementary school-age children. The Monteverde Cloud Forest was a short drive and could easily be included as part of an all- inclusive package. We would highly recommend the Ecolodge as part of a visit to the Monteverde area. The only down-side was that the signage was inadequate making it a bit difficult to find, but that's Costa Rica !

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mason43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monteverde hotels
2.7 mi away
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
#3 of 20 in Monteverde
1,079 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hotel Belmar
Hotel Belmar
#1 of 20 in Monteverde
1,297 reviews
2.4 mi away
Monteverde Inn
Monteverde Inn
#5 of 20 in Monteverde
233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Hotel El Bosque
Hotel El Bosque
#8 of 20 in Monteverde
234 reviews
3.1 mi away
Monteverde Cloud Forest Lodge
2.3 mi away
Los Pinos - Cabanas y Jardines
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ecolodge San Luis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ecolodge San Luis

Property: Ecolodge San Luis
Address: San Luis de Monteverde, 700, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Monteverde
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 72 Speciality Lodging in Monteverde
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For a culturally authentic educational experience, make the Ecolodge San Luis at the University of Georgia's Costa Rica Campus your base for exploring the Monteverde Cloud Forest!Guests at the Ecolodge San Luis enjoy a wide range of educational, nature-based, and cultural activities, both on our campus and in the local community. Ecolodge San Luis won an international Innovation in Sustainability award. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ecolodge San Luis Hotel Monteverde

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing