We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine Place”
Review of Hotel Trapp Family

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Trapp Family
Ranked #9 of 20 Hotels in Monteverde
Advance, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fine Place”
Reviewed 21 November 2013

Great place to stay if you are vigorous. We, unfortunately, had to climb quite a bit of stairs and rocks. Really, not bad, but a slight challenge. Great people who handled our reservations to perfection. Would consider going again. Excellent restaurant; what more do you expect in the middle of the Rain Forest??

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hondothe3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

622 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    183
    255
    126
    38
    20
See reviews for
142
329
16
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2013 via mobile

The hotel is high up in the mountains in monteverde. 10minutes from st elena by car. The hotel is really nice and the rooms are quite large with 2 double beds and a built-in porch.
Because the hotel is mostly made from wood, the floors are noisy. We heard guests above us all evening. The breakfast is not elaborate but everything is fresh. Too bad they have no facilities in the hotel in case of bad weather.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Stevendj84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2013 via mobile

Big clean rooms suitable for 4 persons. Wifi everywhere, but no gym, pool or other facilities. Great to see that the hotel cares about the nature by recycling everything possible.

In monte verde the weather is bad the most of the time. Therefore some facitities in the hotel would be nice.

When it's dry Monte Verde offers a lot and then the hotel is sufficiënt.

We dind't have diner here. The breakfast was ok.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Bart S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2013

The Trapp Family Lodge was perfect for our one night stay in Monteverde. The rooms were clean and comfortable, and the staff was very helpful and friendly. The hotel is a little far from the city center, but has it's own bar and restaurant which made getting dinner convenient.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jaztraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013

I went to Costa Rica last weekend with my sister and had a GREAT experience at the Trapp Family Lodge. We stayed for 2 nights, and the rooms were spacious, the dark wood created a very Swiss/Austrian ski lodge type experience, and the wait staff (from the front desk agent to the bartender and waiter) were extremely nice and attentive. The only drawback was that the view was of trees and the very very tops of mountains - but that was hardly an issue. I highly recommend this place to anyone looking for a great, first class experience in Monteverde.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DavidtheConsultant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, MA
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2013

We enjoyed our 1 night stay. The hotel is clean and the rooms are nice. Nice big glass windows, wood floors, and comfortable beds. Didn't notice any heat or A/C, but it isn't really needed because at that elevation it doesn't get hot like the rest of Costa Rica. We would have appreciated toiletries. There was just a soap dispenser near the sink and in the shower. Very close to the national park. Be prepared for a bumpy ride. There is a 17 km dirt/rock road up to the town, and then from the town another few kms to the hotel. We were glad we rented a 4x4, though lots of people seemed to get by fine with standard 2 wheel drive cars. Breakfast was nicer than most included breakfasts. It was sit down and our server brought us orange juice and coffee, then a plate with sliced banana and watermelon. Then some toast with orange marmalade. Only downside is that the items are just brought to you, no menu or choices. We were brought pancakes and had to send them back due to dietary restrictions. Overall a good stay. We'd visit again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vision337
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2013

The location of this hotel is one of the closest hotels to the National Park, which offers so much peace and quiet. The grounds are well kept and the staff very friendly. I highly recommend to stay in the newest room which is more quiet and the rooms a lot nicer. Had such a great relaxing time in the hotel where we had stayed for 2 nights.

Room Tip: Stay in the newer addition and look out for bugs that may crawl into your room if you leave your doo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MeliChinaTica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monteverde hotels
1.7 mi away
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
#3 of 20 in Monteverde
1,088 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Belmar
Hotel Belmar
#1 of 20 in Monteverde
1,309 reviews
1.4 mi away
Monteverde Inn
Monteverde Inn
#5 of 20 in Monteverde
236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Los Pinos - Cabanas y Jardines
0.9 mi away
Hotel El Bosque
Hotel El Bosque
#8 of 20 in Monteverde
237 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco
Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco
#13 of 20 in Monteverde
675 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Trapp Family? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Trapp Family

Property: Hotel Trapp Family
Address: LG Monteverde, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Monteverde
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 20 Hotels in Monteverde
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Trapp Family 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Trapp Family reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trapp Family Hotel Monteverde

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing