We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really Enjoyed Hotel Fonda Vela”
Review of Hotel Fonda Vela

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Fonda Vela
Ranked #12 of 20 Hotels in Monteverde
Reviewed 16 February 2008

We spent 2 nights at this wonderful establishment. They have beautiful grounds and are close to the Cloud Forest. One of the best places we stayed at in Costa Rica. We also had dinner one night in the hotel and the food was excellent. I recommend staying here if it is in your budget.

  • Stayed: February 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bradiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (706)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

532 - 538 of 707 reviews

Reviewed 10 February 2008

I stayed here for 3 nights in Feb 2008. The hotel is in a beautiful, picturesque location 15 minutes walk (severely uphill) to the cloud forest entrance.

I staye din a junior suite which was a huge room with a king size and a queen sie bed, and a nice indoor seating area in a bay window. The room was comfortable and clean.

The only issue I have with the hotel is it's location which is quite isolated from the village of Santa Elena which is the only nearby village with any restaurants / bars / shops etc.

But if you are happy to stay in a high quality hotel, in a picturesque location, and are happy to take taxis or your rental car to the local village this hotel will be ideal.

  • Stayed: February 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank journeyman29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2008

This was really our idea of a hotel in the forest. The room was huge, scenery and BIRDS were just wonderful. Restaurant was indeed good, with very nice staff. It was very close to the Cloudforest, which was the reason we were there. The desk staff was helpful. There was a hiking trail, which was a beautiful preview of the huge Cloudforest. Hint: Be sure you have a guide on your Cloudforest trip.
You will see things you would never see without one.

  • Stayed: January 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank fairleigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2008

The room was large and well-furnished. The view of the gardens from the large windows was magnificent. We enjoyed the sitting area near the windows in the Junior Suite. The food at the restaurant was excellent. The staff was very helpful in finding us a guide for the reserve, and arranging transportation.

Stayed: December 2007
1  Thank paticon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2007

We stayed at the Fonda Vela for 3 nights and enjoyed our stay. The staff was very helpful and friendly. The room was large with huge windows which ordinarily would be nice but because we were in a corner room on the bottom floor we had to pull all of shades shut all the time or we felt like we were in a fish bowl. I'd recommend a room away from everything or on the 2nd floor for maximum privacy.

The decor was a bit dark for us and the beds were just ok. I would have preferred more counter space in the bathrooms and less room in the bedroom. All in all it was a good place to stay and was located in a great area for the activities we selected such as a guided walk in the nearby nature preserve in the cloud forest, and zipline and hanging bridges tours with the Selvatura company. We truly enjoyed MonteVerde. The restaurant had fairly good food and the staff seemed eager to please. I would recommend this place for the location and the nice staff more than for the rooms.

I

Stayed: December 2007
3  Thank Landgirl76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2007

My wife and I stayed in Monteverde for two nights - one at El Viandante (not good - see my review for details), and one at the Fonda Vela. Hotel Fonda Vela was an excellent place to stay.

Pros:
Beautiful rustic large room. Lots of dark wood.
Exceptional view from our room.
Excellent well maintained grounds complete with small walking trail.
Comfortable bed.
Walking distance to the Monteverde Cloud Forest Preserve.
Excellent restaurant (a bit pricey though).
TV in room (we didn't turn it on so I can't tell you if it worked).


Cons:
More expensive than some other options in Monteverde (but well worth it).
Breakfast not included ($5-7 per person at their restaurant) - but it was excellent.
Shower fixture was loose (but worked fine, lots of hot water, good water pressure).
On the bumpy road from town (which has a paved road) to the Monteverde Cloud Forest - but if you made it this far this isn't really going to be an issue.

Overall, we were really happy with our stay. Excellent rooms, great rustic feel, perfect location, and really friendly staff. I would stay here again in a heartbeat! Thanks tripadvisor!

  • Stayed: December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank detifoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2007

Hotel Fonda Vela is a beautiful hotel located just 2 km from the Monteverde Cloud Forest Preserve. Our room was huge, charmingly rustic, and had huge plate glass windows looking out into the forest. The staff here is very friendly and the whole area is unspoiled by the kind of tourism you see elsewhere. From what we've read, about 1.5 million tourists come to Costa Rica each year, but only 80,000 of them make it to Monteverde. (This is probably because of the awful roads leading to this remote area. The guidebooks suggest renting a 4 x 4.....a very, very good idea.)

The hotel has a restaurant on the premises and serves breakfast buffet style, allowing you to start your morning tour at 7:00 or 7:15. Juan, the receptionist at the lodge, is very friendly and goes out of his way to help you make arrangements for touring the area. The room has a log cabin feel and a rustic charm all its own. The only downsides to the room are a very small bathroom and poor lighting (poor lighting is something we've found in virtually every non US hotel we've ever stayed, though).

One word of warning: the roads into Monteverde were pretty bad. We averaged 15 km per hour kilometer after kilometer, and we had a large 4 x 4. The unpaved road from Monteverde to Hotel Fonda Villa is even worse. It's a bone-jarring couple of kilometers into town. You have to go with the flow armed with a sense of humor and expect to get lost (or expect your coffee cup to empty its contents all over the console). If you are driving a rented vehicle, stop and ask directions a lot. The saner choice is to take a bus......

If you wil be spending most of your time in the cloud forest reserve, Fonda Vela is an excellent choice and probably the best hotel in the vicinity. It is not terribly convenient to all the activities based out of St. Elena, but your tour company can arrange transportation to these events. Nights are very peaceful and the restaurant serves decent food in a cozy setting.

  • Stayed: November 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank Sue H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monteverde hotels
1.5 mi away
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
#3 of 20 in Monteverde
1,132 reviews
1.1 mi away
Monteverde Inn
Monteverde Inn
#4 of 20 in Monteverde
263 reviews
1 mi away
Los Pinos - Cabanas y Jardines
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Belmar
Hotel Belmar
#1 of 20 in Monteverde
1,370 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco
Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco
#3 of 7 in Santa Elena
717 reviews
1.1 mi away
Cala Lodge
Cala Lodge
#5 of 20 in Monteverde
503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Fonda Vela? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Fonda Vela

Address: 1km past the Monteverde Cheese Factory and 2km before the Monteverde Reserve., Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Monteverde
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 20 Hotels in Monteverde
Price Range: £102 - £173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Fonda Vela 3.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fonda Vela Hotel is located in beautifulMonteverde, famous for its Resplendent Quetzals,Three-wattled Bellbirds, an abundance of orchids anda gorgeous cloud forest. The climate is refreshing,often referred to as "The Eternal Spring". The views ofthe Gulf of Nicoya from the hotel’s 1400-meterelevation are spectacular. Monteverde is an idealdestination for relaxing and enjoying the wonders ofthe tropics. A visit of at least two nights inMonteverde is recommended. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Fonda Vela reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fonda Vela Hotel
Fonda Vela Monteverde

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing