We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful, peaceful, hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Fonda Vela

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Fonda Vela
Ranked #12 of 23 Hotels in Monteverde
Nazareth, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
“Beautiful, peaceful, hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2013

Fonda vela is a hotel made up of seperate buildings scattered on beautiful grounds in the hills below the cloud forest. My suite was bright and airy, with a beautiful view of a garden with a fountain. The staff is extremely friendly and helpful. The pool, with its canopy roof and bar, has WIFI so is great for relaxing while you connect with the poor folks in the outside world. Dinners in the restaurant is average but I suggest the casado for lunch with the really good local beef. Pair it with a glass of the local Bavaria dark beer and you have the perfect lunch. Only down side is the hotel is far enough from town that a cab ride is about 12 dollars. But guides will pick you up at the hotel so there really isn't much need to go to town.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Charles R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

663 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    229
    252
    114
    34
    34
See reviews for
180
315
11
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Westchester, New York, United States
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2013

Lots of space in the room as it has two floors. Very clean. Great staff and the restaurant was great too. Entire area Is not paved, only parts of it are. Great value overall though. Pool is nice but not heated.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nev K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2013

Lovely property - our room was upgraded to a Junior Suite and it was beautiful. I wish we could've stayed longer. HUGE room, two king beds, great balcony and view of the cloudforest, monkeys, and amazing birds. It is indeed far away from restaurant options, so you are limited to the on-site dining unless you have a car. Has a hot tub and large covered pool with bar.

Room Tip: Right by reserve so all kinds of nature and wildlife to see right outside the window
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VickiANDJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sonoita, Arizona
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2013

Hotel Fonda Vela is a little rustic at 1st glance, but if your a nature lover it is a place to stay. You can walk to the Cloud Forest or Curi-Cancha a birders paradise. Rooms that are super clean with hardwood floors and food that is fine dinning in real ambiance. The staff is helpful and cater to your needs. There is shuttle and bus service to the areas great sights or just bird and walk there and enjoy the views of Nicoye Bay, its gardens, trails and a great pool. Our first bird was a covey of Black-breasted Woodquail and a resident Blue crowned Motmot. Need a guide ask for Esteban.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
109 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2013

We stayed 2 nights at this hotel. The rooms are huge with wonderful teak flooring and large windows to view the grounds. The bathroom was small but had the sink outside the toilet/shower area making it convenient for couples. The pool had a covering over it since it probably rains quite a bit there. It was not raining while we were there but it was a bit chilly. There's also a bar located at the end of the pool and we received a complimentary drink on arrival. Two large stone hot tubs were also adjacent to the pool. Breakfast was served buffet style in their large high ceiling room. You could choose from custom made omelets, scrambled eggs, juice, pancakes and several kinds of bacon/sausage. Quite good. We did eat dinner there as well but in a more intimate room with a lit fireplace. The pasta plus salad and $4 glass of wine was nice. My only complaint was that the hotel was far out of town with the taxi ride into town costing $10. That seems, however, to be the case for many hotels in Costa Rica.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ida M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Georges, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2013

We stayed 2 nights in this hotel. The rooms are located in different building among the trees and birds. The road going there from Santa Elena is typical of ground roads of Costa Rica... Everything was all right. Rooms were confortable and clean. Service was OK. You can take a bird tour at 6 am around the hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pierre P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penryn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2013

This hotel wasn't as good as the others we stayed at during our three weeks in Costa Rica, primarily because the restaurant had no ambience. Although the staff were attentive in taking orders etc. it seemed almost to be an automatic response. The seating area outside our rooms was a bench shared with the next door apartment and smoke drifted through the window when someone sat outside to smoke. Reception staff were very helpful. the rooms were well appointed and there were even towelling robes provided. The swimming pool is of good size but because of the night time temperatures was cold. Beds were comfortable with plenty of bedding for the cold nights. Monte Verde Cloud Forest is within easy walking distance but as already stated the town is some distance away.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view down the valley.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Retired-08-2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monteverde hotels
1.5 mi away
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
#3 of 23 in Monteverde
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,035 reviews
1.1 mi away
Monteverde Inn
Monteverde Inn
#6 of 23 in Monteverde
4.5 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
1.1 mi away
Los Pinos - Cabanas y Jardines
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel El Bosque
Hotel El Bosque
#8 of 23 in Monteverde
4.5 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Belmar
Hotel Belmar
#1 of 23 in Monteverde
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,250 reviews
1.8 mi away
Monteverde Cloud Forest Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Fonda Vela? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Fonda Vela

Property: Hotel Fonda Vela
Address: 1km past the Monteverde Cheese Factory and 2km before the Monteverde Reserve., Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Monteverde
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 23 Hotels in Monteverde
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Fonda Vela 3.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fonda Vela Hotel is located in beautifulMonteverde, famous for its Resplendent Quetzals,Three-wattled Bellbirds, an abundance of orchids anda gorgeous cloud forest. The climate is refreshing,often referred to as "The Eternal Spring". The views ofthe Gulf of Nicoya from the hotel’s 1400-meterelevation are spectacular. Monteverde is an idealdestination for relaxing and enjoying the wonders ofthe tropics. A visit of at least two nights inMonteverde is recommended. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK) and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Fonda Vela reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fonda Vela Hotel
Fonda Vela Monteverde

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing