We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fonda Vela Stay”
Review of Hotel Fonda Vela

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Fonda Vela
Ranked #14 of 20 Hotels in Monteverde
Reviewed 2 May 2013

Stayed here four nights. Room clean and comfortable. Staff quite helpful, including calling our room to let my wife know she had left her purse in the restaurant. Location quite good for access to the Monteverde Cloud Forest. Grounds very pleasant.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roger M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (736)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

344 - 350 of 736 reviews

Reviewed 1 May 2013

Excellent staff. The place is made from wood, and there's not much insulation. We had a family with a special needs child staying below us, and were able to enjoy the bedtime story the parents read to the child. Who knows what the child learned from listening to us!
Be careful about the breakfast. It may or may not be included in your room rate. A guest was pretty upset because she had been told by her travel agent that breakfast was included and it wasn't! Just ask ahead of time. Breakfast is buffet some mornings and is $10.00 other mornings there's just ordering off the menu.
Nice covered pool if you're in to that sort of thing.

Room Tip: Try to get upstairs. Quiter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jsdive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2013

What a nice place! Out of town in very nice, wel kept, natural grounds. We even saw more animals in the hotel grounds than in the close national park. As it was of season, now at the end of April, only 1 building was kept open and a free upgrade was offered. Wat a wonderful room!
So quiet.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BLOEMBLOEM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2013

Hotel Fonda Vela in the Monteverde cloud forest is absolutely the place to stay!
The reception staff are amazing and the rooms will definitely not disappoint.
Although they suites available, the "standard rooms" are perfect.
I recommend trying to get rooms 1-12 as they have the best views.
However, any room will be perfect.
The amount of flora and fauna on site allow you to bird watch or just wander the grounds without ever leaving the property.
The restaurant is lovely, even though the staff could work on their pr skills a bit.
The breakfast buffet is ample even though you can expect the traditional Costa Rica fare.
It's worth the fee extra dollars to stay at this lovely facility. GO FOR IT!

Room Tip: Be sure to have a four wheel drive if you are going to Monteverde!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debbie-Innkeeper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2013

This was the second of three stops on my wife and I's honeymoon and it did not disappoint. Nestled up in the cloud forest of Costa Rica is a wonderful little town called Monteverde. Is has all of the charm that you would expect from a central american mountain town...great food, friendly people, and lots of awesome activities to experience.
Hotel Fonda Vela is by far one of the nicest places to stay in Monteverde. The resort is located kind of off the beaten path, about 1.5 miles outside of town. The rooms are broken up into the three large buildings that overlook the valley. We stayed in a suite for two nights and breakfast was including in our stay. (Sidenote: If you ever get the chance to sample a typical Costa Rican breakfast, do yourself a favor and take advantage. Rice and Beans, fresh cheese, perfect eggs, the freshest fruit you have ever had, and the most mind-blowing coffee you will ever taste). The rooms themselves were nice. Large and spacious and very comfortable. We came during the off-season, so we had the pool all to ourselves, as well as the bar and on-site restaurant. Though, because of all of the excursions we had planned, we didn't spend much time at the resort.
If you get a chance to travel to this wonderful place, there are a few things you need to try:
Ziplining-Holy crap, not your ordinary zip-lines. Higher, faster, longer than anything you have ever been on. The views were incredible...like nothing I have ever seen.
Don Juan Coffee Tour-Super informative, hilarious tour guides, and a sampling of the most fantastic coffees (we actually bought so much at the plantation we were worried about getting stopped by US Customs coming home). We also got to meet the founder of the plantation, Don Juan. He is the tiniest 90 yr. old Costa Rican man who hugged every person he met. Probably the coolest dude we met on the whole trip.
The food in town-the town has wonderful little restaurant peppered throughout. The was one in particular and if I find it on this website I will write up another review. You wouldnt know it was a restaurant unless you stumbled into it, since you have walk below street level to get to it, It had maybe 5 tables, and served the most unbelievable pizza my wife and I had ever eaten. Maybe we were a little burnt out on rice and plantains, but if you get a change, are a little hungry, and have $7 US to spare, walk down and order a large. You wont regret it.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nicholas F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2013

If you're heading to Monteverde to visit the cloud forest or go zip lining, you'll need a great place to rest your tired feet. Boy, do I have one. The Hotel Fonda Vela is without a doubt a place you will remember. The rooms are very cozy and have view to die for. Large windows help bring the outdoors closer. When we return, we'll book Fonda Vela.

Room Tip: We had room 4,corner room with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Randy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2013

Beautiful surrondings - abit out of the town though. Rooms were excellent - we had a lovely view over the gardens. Not sure the pool fit in with the rest of the buildings. We ate in the restaurant both at lunch and dinner and could not fault it - very reasonalby priced. There was a lovely fire roaring in the restaurant at night which was a god send as the nights got quite nippy. The staff were there when you needed them but they weren't always fussing arround you. Nice tranquil place to stay but a couple of nights were enough.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DorothyCumbria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monteverde hotels
1 mi away
Hotel Belmar
Hotel Belmar
#1 of 20 in Monteverde
1,413 reviews
1.2 mi away
Monteverde Inn
Monteverde Inn
#6 of 20 in Monteverde
289 reviews
1.5 mi away
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
#3 of 20 in Monteverde
1,176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Los Pinos - Cabanas y Jardines
0.7 mi away
Hotel El Bosque
Hotel El Bosque
#9 of 20 in Monteverde
278 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco
Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco
#3 of 7 in Santa Elena
746 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Fonda Vela? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Fonda Vela

Address: 1km past the Monteverde Cheese Factory and 2km before the Monteverde Reserve., Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Monteverde
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 20 Hotels in Monteverde
Price Range: £89 - £141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Fonda Vela 3.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fonda Vela Hotel is located in beautifulMonteverde, famous for its Resplendent Quetzals,Three-wattled Bellbirds, an abundance of orchids anda gorgeous cloud forest. The climate is refreshing,often referred to as "The Eternal Spring". The views ofthe Gulf of Nicoya from the hotel’s 1400-meterelevation are spectacular. Monteverde is an idealdestination for relaxing and enjoying the wonders ofthe tropics. A visit of at least two nights inMonteverde is recommended. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Fonda Vela reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fonda Vela Hotel
Fonda Vela Monteverde

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing