We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Fonda Vela
Nearby Hotels
Cala Lodge(Monteverde)
US$104
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$94
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
El Establo(Monteverde)
US$269
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$163
Hotwire.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$120
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$109
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Monteverde Inn(Monteverde)(Great Value!)
US$55
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Los Pinos - Cabanas y Jardines(Cerro Plano)
US$99
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$102
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$267
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$259
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Trapp Family(Monteverde)
US$107
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Belmar(Monteverde)
US$225
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel El Bosque(Monteverde)(Great Value!)
US$62
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$49
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (766)
Filter reviews
766 results
Traveller rating
252
300
133
42
39
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
252
300
133
42
39
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsjunior suitecloud forestpool areacosta ricahardwood floorsoverlooking the groundshotel groundslarge windowstwo nightshotel restaurantking bedcheese factorysanta elenatour companyno wifi in the roomsspread outstandard room
Filter
Updating list...
347 - 352 of 766 reviews
Reviewed 29 July 2013

nice room. there was a ledge in the middle that was treacherous at night as it was not easy to see. the location was really good for hikes and walks. the restaurant was good. the staff was really great in helping make reservations and getting taxis. easy check in and check out process as well. the view was really nice.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rdrdr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2013

When booking our package, this was not our first choice because it seemed a bit far from town. I am so glad our first choice was booked. This is the most beautiful property!! The grounds are amazing. We had a great hike on the trails at the hotel and saw as many animals and amazing plants there as we did on other hikes we paid for. The pictures do not do it justice. The rooms are huge, clean and comfortable. There any many "extra touches" such as local artists' work in the rooms and on the grounds, lush robes, a country club style locker room at the pool. The food was good in the restaurant and the service was excellent. We loved our stay here!!!!

Room Tip: The rooms are spread out, which seemed inconvenient to me at first, but I do not think there are bad rooms because each has amazing views of flora and fauna. This is a beautiful property! We stayed in #15 which had great views and was close enough to the pool to get wi-fi.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DFWTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2013

My family of 7 had 2 Jr. Suites for 3 nights in July 2013. These rooms are very large, nice, and both ours had a seating area overlooking the grounds, fountains, and forest view. The covered pool is enormous but it was a bit too chilly the days we were there. Still we used the two nice hot tubs and several of us used the pool table while others relaxed with the birds and great view on the adjoining deck. The grounds have lots of statues and are very attractive. We also had coffee and played cards in several of the outside seating areas. We arrived hours later than expected after a road detour caused the bus to go a long way around and the person checking us in quickly telephoned the restaurant that we would be there a little after the normal last seating time. I knew breakfast is not included. Two mornings there was a buffet that was quite tasty. The one day that we ordered we had very fast service and had plenty of time until the tour. We took the bus to town and also had the number for a taxi van. The time to town was not great and we felt it was a benefit to be out so close to the reserve. The teen kids were very happy with playing pool and cards. We knew there was only wifi in the main buildings but that was never a problem.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank slix1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2013

Fonda Vela is a 45 minute walk down a rocky road to the edge of the main town, but a positive is that it is a short walk to a cloud forest preserve in the other direction (dead end of same road). The grounds are really nice, the room we got (a junior suite) was very nice and spacious, and if you are paying in the $130 to $170 per night range you are getting a really good deal by US standards. The staff is very nice. Pool area is great, with hot tubs, and pool/ping pong tables, and a nice locker / shower area next to it. We did not eat in the restaurant, it looked over-priced. This hotel is a 20 minute walk down to an area with two restaurants (one Italian, one Argentine) and both of these restaurants are reasonable and good, a cab ride back to the hotel if it is too dark from this area is $8, same as a cab ride all the way into the main town. Rooms and furnishings are new. If you want peace and quiet, and to be away from the main town, this is a great choice. Bring a flash-light if you want to walk in the evenings, it is dark, roads are safe because people go really slow because of the rocks and turns, you can hear people coming way before you see them.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2013

You would never find me camping in the woods-- but you would find me staying at Fonda vela in the monteverde cloud forest! This place is beautiful and perfectly situated to all of the goings on in and around Monteverde. Our room was upgraded to a junior suite without requesting it because we were fortunate to travel in "rainy" season when it wasn't too busy. The hotel has wifi in all The main buildings which works great and they also have umbrellas outside your door which is a nice touch!

The landscape of the hotel is beautiful and perfectly manicured. There were a few spiders in our room which is why I mentioned "camping" but you are in a huge cloud forest so it's to be expected!!

The one staff member that really stood out was Alan. He was super helpful and really enhanced our stay- he even called around for me to get me into yoga class. thanks Alan !!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews