We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Large rooms but far from town” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Fonda Vela

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Fonda Vela
Ranked #12 of 23 Hotels in Monteverde
Level Contributor
98 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Large rooms but far from town”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2013 via mobile

We stayed here since the other hotels were booked. It's abit far from town but its also close to the cloud forest . We walked from the hotel to the sanctuary it took about 30-40 min. Also there is an Italian restaurant called trimonti about 10 min wall from the hotel which was very good.
We asked for a free upgrade to the junior suites which they did free of charge for us.
The hotel restaurant is not good. We had lunch and breakfast there. We did not care for it. But sometimes you don't have many options.
When we were there they were doing maintenance on the pool so we did not use the pool or the jacuzzi. But would have since there is only wifi in the common areas of the hotel.

The beds were comfy and the rooms were large. I would recommend the place for families. For the price we paid I think it's a fair place. But we wished we stayed closer to town.
Friendly staff at reception spoke English and recommended tours and places to eat.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bowiebow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

663 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    229
    252
    114
    34
    34
See reviews for
180
315
11
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2013

My husband and I stayed here as the last stop on our Honeymoon in February 2012. I was so pleasantly surprised by this little hidden gem! The property is expansive and absolutely beautiful. We were in a large corner villa with two queen beds and a very modern, updated bathroom. The rest of the room was dated but in great shape. The pool area was fantastic with beautiful changing rooms that looked like they were out of an exclusive country club. The pool bar served wonderful pina coladas made with fresh fruit. I loved how quiet the hotel is - very relaxing and you can just take in all the nature. Tons of places to walk around and it is fairly close to the cheese factory which was interesting. The front desk staff were very accomodating and pleasant and will help you book tours in the area. The best part about the hotel was the restaurant - we had the best filet mignon EVER there. I loved it so much I ordered it two nights in a row. The included breakfast was also very tasty. A very beautiful ambiance and staff works very hard to make your stay comfortable.

I would highly recommend the Fonda Vela to anyone who wants to experience the beauty and tranquility of Monteverde. I loved having the older villa style room, but there is also a newer "highrise" style building on the property if you want something more updated. If you are booked here, do not have any worries or hesitations - it is a great hotel for the value.

Room Tip: The corner villas offer superb views and are private
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tanya M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2013

This lodge is beautifully situated in the cloud forests with lovely trails to walk around the lodge area. The rooms are huge with great beds and a big TV. They are situated close to many of the main attractions and provides a lovely place for relaxing in gorgeous surroundings. The only thing that goes agains it is it's overly formal restaurant set up. The food was very nice, if a little over priced, but the atmosphere was more that of a highbrow city restaurant where it was difficult to fully relax and just enjoy the surround. The staff were all lovely and attentive but it would have been nice to have a more cafe like aspect to part of the restaurant when you wanted a light meal and a chat without worrying where to place your elbows!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mop22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2013

For this school teacher & nurse, we couldn't believe that we were staying in such a great place.
The grounds were well maintained, the pool area (we had it to ourselves) & locker facilities were outright posh. We did not eat at the hotel, but picnicked on items picked up in the town itself. We picked this hotel because of it's proximity to the Cloud Forest Bio Reserve. We also were upgraded to a junior suite instead of a standard room, so perhaps for the $$$ we really lucked out in what we got. Internet connection was available in the office area, and maybe because we were there during the off-season, we had no waiting. Breakfast WAS OK.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank snurb55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2013

The hotel is lovely but is not clear about what it offers; Cable tv means a cable attached to the t.v; most stations are in Spanish (only 2 English stations); Wi fi is only in the lobby and pool area, which is far from the rooms, and you have to lug your laptop into the rain to use it;
It is a rain forest, so it rains a lot which is fine up the bedding smelt of mold so that was not pleasant; Also the beds were very hard and not easy to sleep on!!!
There was also some man taking inappropriate pictures of some young women in the pool area which made me feel quite uncomfortable; I reported to staff but the man who asked him to stop seemed to enjoy the show (as a woman I found their poses were gross!! and I did not like having to watch this from the hot tub)

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ilonaL63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2013

Hotel Fonda Vela is a little far from the heart of Monte Verde, but it is a spectacular property. The rooms are spread out across a sweeping property, and there are tons of places to explore. Our junior suite was extremely spacious and comfortable. I loved the floor to ceiling windows that look out over the grounds. The pool and hot tubs are large and well-kept and an added bonus. The only thing I missed from the room was a great luxurious bathroom.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
245 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2013

nice room. there was a ledge in the middle that was treacherous at night as it was not easy to see. the location was really good for hikes and walks. the restaurant was good. the staff was really great in helping make reservations and getting taxis. easy check in and check out process as well. the view was really nice.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rdrdr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monteverde hotels
1.5 mi away
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
#3 of 23 in Monteverde
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,035 reviews
1.1 mi away
Monteverde Inn
Monteverde Inn
#6 of 23 in Monteverde
4.5 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
1.1 mi away
Los Pinos - Cabanas y Jardines
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel El Bosque
Hotel El Bosque
#8 of 23 in Monteverde
4.5 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Belmar
Hotel Belmar
#1 of 23 in Monteverde
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,250 reviews
1.8 mi away
Monteverde Cloud Forest Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Fonda Vela? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Fonda Vela

Property: Hotel Fonda Vela
Address: 1km past the Monteverde Cheese Factory and 2km before the Monteverde Reserve., Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Monteverde
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 23 Hotels in Monteverde
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Fonda Vela 3.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fonda Vela Hotel is located in beautifulMonteverde, famous for its Resplendent Quetzals,Three-wattled Bellbirds, an abundance of orchids anda gorgeous cloud forest. The climate is refreshing,often referred to as "The Eternal Spring". The views ofthe Gulf of Nicoya from the hotel’s 1400-meterelevation are spectacular. Monteverde is an idealdestination for relaxing and enjoying the wonders ofthe tropics. A visit of at least two nights inMonteverde is recommended. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK) and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Fonda Vela reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fonda Vela Hotel
Fonda Vela Monteverde

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing