We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I like it; I would go again”
Review of Hotel Fonda Vela

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Fonda Vela
Ranked #14 of 20 Hotels in Monteverde
Reviewed 14 February 2014

Lovely, relaxed, good food, charming staff.
The food is good, but beware, many (but not all of) the portions are USA size – so order one for 2 and share it. There is a little touch of amateurism here – but it is charming and friendly and not inefficient.
We had a lovely room with an great view. Go for a walk around the grounds – lots to see.

But it would be nice if they didn’t play piped music all the time

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank p47rick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (736)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

306 - 312 of 736 reviews

Reviewed 8 February 2014

Huge apratment in two levels that sleeps 4 - onlly one bathroom. Great view, good breakfat. Near park entrance. A bit outside town but you need wheels here, unless backpacking downtown. Nice staff.

Only downside is poos selecton of TV channels and no wifi in rooms.

Good pool with allmost enough sunnbeds.

Very quiet and lot of space.

Remembe it gets cold in the eveing. And do Ziolline!!!

Room Tip: Standard room is fine and huge
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EnClair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2014

The trip from La Fortuna to this place was an adventure - first by boat across Lake Arenal (with some animal watching from the boat), then by car for ca. 40km all gravel roads. I do not want to know how these roads look like in the rainy season, but we got quiete a massage in the car.

The hotel is quiete some distance from town, but taxis are not expensive. Our room was large, clean and calm, but the furniture was a bit run down and needed certainly some upgrading (this is the reason for the 3-star rating). Airconditioning was not provided, but also not needed when we were there. The view into the garden was nice as well as the restaurant. The service was really good and friendly and we were happy with the restaurant for dinner and breakfeast.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Frank R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2014

So, this isn't just a hotel/motel with pool. It is a series of buildings built on two sides of a steep hill. The roads between buildings are gravel. Luckily, our luggage was taken by pickup truck to our room since we didn't have a vehicle of our own. There are fans in the room but when it got warm, we just opened the sliding glass door to our deck or the windows. The rooms are large and comfortable with adequate bathrooms. The restaurant was very good with just enough variety. There is covered pool and two Jacuzzis with a bar. Birds and animals wander the grounds and the view is terrific with some stunning sunsets. If you want to leave the resort, you will need a vehicle but we signed up for local tours and they came and got us. The desk staff is extremely helpful in finding tours and transportation or handling any problems. Since this was January, it was heavily couples in the resort. I was told that they are very popular with Spanish honeymooners and US families. I can see the appeal for both groups.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NJworldwidetraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2014

We were so pleasantly surprised. Our room was super large (Junior suite) with a great view, seating area, and best of all; a shower with HOT water and strong water pressure! Heaven after a long rainforest walk. The onsite pool is large, but the water is chilly. Does not get much sun in the rain! But the 2 large whirlpools were working and hot!
The internet did not work in the rooms, too far from the router (hotel lobby).
Did not eat here, went to Saint Elena town and to Stella's down the street. Great food at Stella's for breakfast/lunch.
Hotel is super close to Monteverde park, and about 8k from Saint Elena park. We liked them both. Probably the paths are easier to navigate at Saint Elena, and it's cheaper to get in. ($18 each for Monteverde, $10 each Saint Elena.)

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OntarioCambridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2014

We stayed here in room 37 which was an upstairs junior suite overlooking the slightly run down garden.
Our greeting on arrival was very friendly and everything was explained to us, where the restaurant was, the pool, meal times etc. the buildings are spread out so some walking is required but none too far. The staff are friendly and helpfull.
Our room was huge with wood panelling everywhere and dark wooden furniture throughout. The bathroom was adequate, shower over the bath but it worked fine. toileteries in dispensers on the wall. Very clean but like the rest of the room, a bit dated although our maid was rather slap dash on the second day and did not make the bed properly or clean the toilet.There are large windows with fly screens that can be opened. This was a good thing as the room smelt a bit musty on arrival. Needless to say it is the cloud forest so the air is damp most of the time. There appeared very few insects around regardless of the screens.
Breakfast here was one of the best we experienced out of the 6 hotels we stayed in. A good choice of fruit, yogurt, pancakes, eggs etc. for lunch and dinner there's a good selection on the menu. Beautifully cooked and tasty. As with our hotel in Arenal there tended to be too much sauce and brightly coloured creams and decoration for us but it was enjoyable never the less. The dining room is like an old English drawing room with a lovely fireplace and is very warm and cosy and very un Costa Rican!
The location is lovely but isolated unless you have a vehicle.
The pool is under an open sided cover and there are two jacuzzis which tended to get very busy which for us meant we didn't bother as they were not relaxing with people talking/ shouting/ on phones and drinking in them. The sunsets from the pool area are wonderful.
The gardens are a bit tired and neglected but there is an excellent dry river walk so you can have a private nature hike. We saw butterflies, catapillars, a sloth and agouti. Again a bit of tidying up of rubbish would not go amiss.
All in all we had a good time here, just a little more attention to detail would improve it greatly.

Room Tip: All the suites have clear view of the garden and surrounding landscape. Have an upstairs room to avo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lorraine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2014

We enjoyed two nights at this hotel. It was isolated but the view from our room was fantastic and the sunset was great from the deck by the pool. Buffet breakfast was good and our rooms were very comfortable. Great to walk around on the grounds.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monteverde hotels
1 mi away
Hotel Belmar
Hotel Belmar
#1 of 20 in Monteverde
1,413 reviews
1.2 mi away
Monteverde Inn
Monteverde Inn
#6 of 20 in Monteverde
290 reviews
1.5 mi away
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
#3 of 20 in Monteverde
1,176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Los Pinos - Cabanas y Jardines
0.7 mi away
Hotel El Bosque
Hotel El Bosque
#9 of 20 in Monteverde
279 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco
Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco
#3 of 7 in Santa Elena
746 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Fonda Vela? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Fonda Vela

Address: 1km past the Monteverde Cheese Factory and 2km before the Monteverde Reserve., Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Monteverde
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 20 Hotels in Monteverde
Price Range: £89 - £141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Fonda Vela 3.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fonda Vela Hotel is located in beautifulMonteverde, famous for its Resplendent Quetzals,Three-wattled Bellbirds, an abundance of orchids anda gorgeous cloud forest. The climate is refreshing,often referred to as "The Eternal Spring". The views ofthe Gulf of Nicoya from the hotel’s 1400-meterelevation are spectacular. Monteverde is an idealdestination for relaxing and enjoying the wonders ofthe tropics. A visit of at least two nights inMonteverde is recommended. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Fonda Vela reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fonda Vela Hotel
Fonda Vela Monteverde

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing