We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet Hideaway”
Review of Hotel Fonda Vela

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Fonda Vela
Ranked #12 of 20 Hotels in Monteverde
Reviewed 11 March 2014

We stayed for two nights the first week of March 2014. Our hotel was on the 2nd floor near the pool/restaurant and had its own balcony. There is no air/heat, but it's not needed during this time of the year. There is a fan, and small windows you can open which let in plenty of fresh air. It gets chilly at night and in the mornings, so you may want to bring a sweater or something warmer.

The rooms are extremely clean - no bugs! There is hot water and the bathrooms are clean. Our bathroom did have a little bit of a funky smell, but it was nothing terrible.

You can see all sorts of birds from the room balconies. We even saw Agoutis and Possums.

We ate the buffet breakfast both days and it was fine - not bad like some people are saying. There is an egg station, rice & beans, bacon/sausage, fresh fruit, toast, plantains, and OJ/coffee. If you want to eat an american breakfast, don't come to Costa Rica. You're not going to find that unless you are staying at a national chain.

We had lunch at the hotel and had casado - the typical Costa Rican dish. While slightly more expensive than downtown Monteverde, it was still good.

The bar service was excellent - Isaac was wonderful and, like any bar, the longer you sit, the better the drinks!

It is about a $7 cab ride into town. Unless you have a car or a taxi, Monteverde isn't really a walkable area unless you are staying downtown in one of the hostels. This hotel, as many in the area, are located down a long dirt road.

For dinner, we went to Tramonti, which had excellent Italian food and was reasonably priced. We also ate at Sabor Tico for lunch.

The reception staff was extremely helpful, arranging reservations and cabs for us. If you are looking for one step up, try Hotel Belmar, but it's also not walkable.

If you stay here, you MUST do the El Trapiche tour.

Room Tip: There was some residual noise outside from the pool area and the view from room 16 wasn't anythi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hollyt919
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (703)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

272 - 278 of 703 reviews

Reviewed 10 March 2014

Although our room was in the lower level and it had an odor and a toilet problem, I must admit that the setting , the view of the forest, the birds that we saw from our veranda and the huge, rustique (not our taste of decoration but suits exactly the spot) room, made up for that.
The hotel is about 30 min.walking to the reserve, but far away from the town, so the dining possibilities are not by walking distance (especially sodas etc).And here it comes the reason why we didnt like it so much:BREAKFAST.Maybe the worst we have ever experienced in any hotel in the world(without exaggeration!) Quality was the worst, we couldnt easily find something to eat and we had peptic problems for days.Dinner was ok as for the main dishes, but the appetizers over priced and funny (the antipasto plate was 2 slices of tomato, 2 of aubergines, 1esparagus and 4-5common mushrooms, for 14d.) In Rome they still laugh!
Seriously now, except food, we liked the place and thank you to the reception guys for their informations and their help for organizing our tours.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Xristina T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Managerfondavela, Gerente at Hotel Fonda Vela, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2014

Dear Xristina T,
Thank you for taking the time to evaluate our Hotel. We really appreciate the opinions of our clients and we apologize if we did satisfy your expectations.
We are really glad that you enjoyed the view from the forest, the birds that you saw from the veranda and the room we provided for you. Our mission is to provide to our clients the best service we can. Unfortunately you tell us in a very harsh way that your breakfast was the worst you’ve had in any hotel in the world. During the history of our business we have never had a critique form any costumer that evaluates the breakfast we provide in the way that you did. In fact we often get compliments on the morning service we provide because of our dedication and love towards what we do in order to make our clients leave refreshed.
In our reservations history we do not have any reservation done under your name, so unfortunately we do not have the exact dates that you stayed. It is possible we were having buffet service that morning. And we believe that what caused your disturbance was due to the fact that you attended after ours witch meant that it was no longer going to be warm. In this case the best was to serve you with our menu to guarantee that your food would be served at your expectations. We will defiantly take this experience and make sure that it doesn’t happen again. Because as I mentioned before our mission is to give the best service we can.
We appreciate your comments as it helps us improve our accommodations. If you ever come back to our Hotel I would appreciate the opportunity to speak to you personally, and that way give you the best service we can provide. We hope to see you again in the future and we wish you the best.

Sincerely,
Heather Smith.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2014

Bedrooms were huge, cabin style. Ours had a whole separate bedroom upstairs as well as a living area. Lovely setting but a way out of town if you don't have a car but its close to the cloud forest. Breakfast was lovely but we didn't eat here for dinner so can't comment. Pool area is lovely with a nice veranda with views but the pool is freezing, except the jacuzzis which were lovely and warm.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2014

This hotel is nice but is not convenient unless you have a rental car. The hotel is located a distance to town so you must take a taxi to get into town. We found the restaurant too expensive to have dinner there, so we took a cab into town each night. Breakfasts were wonderful and the pool area enjoyable. The layout of the hotel is odd - everything is really spread out so there's a lot of walking. They only have internet at the office so we did a lot of walking back and forth to keep in touch with our family who were joining us for the next part of the trip.

Room Tip: Make sure you have a car if you stay here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank terriandjakes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2014

Our first trip to CR, and we already want to return. Monteverde/Santa Elena is a mountainous and more remote area of small towns and ranches, so prissy visitors may initially recoil at the arduous trip in and dusty unpaved roads. Once you are here you just feel safe, welcome and excited. Our room is very large and very charming, definite local flavour and yet clean and comfortable. Not a 5-star property but not meant to be - this is a respite from time and stress. Food is excellent and priced not to extort you. View is above some of the surrounding mountains so the wildlife and feel is wonderful. Forget your good shoes but enjoy a nice time here.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014

This was our 2nd destination from San Jose and when we arrived I immediately had this sense of peace. I loved the layout of the villas, our room was huge, beautifully decorated and because it's elevated, the view we had was just beautiful. We took advantage of the night walk tour nearby(upon the recommendation from the gentleman at the reception desk) now that was pretty cool !!! The art influence was outstanding and made this first experience at Hotel Fonda Vela truly unforgettable. Creative simplicity is probably my best description of this place. Thank goodness I had one sweater with me because it does get rather chilly up there. Thank You to everyone at Hotel Fonda Vela for your hospitality!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leana C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014

I was there 2/5-7 with 5 other family members in 3 rooms.
The hotel rooms we super large and had "a lot of charm and character" as did the entire facility. The rooms, decor and furniture made you feel like a guest in an old country estate. Since we were a ways from the actual town it was very nice to have such good food served in their restaurant. One day we had a logistical and timing issue with two members of our party due to some activities that we had booked separately. The front desk staff went into action and after multiple phone calls made arrangements and made it all work out flawlessly.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stu S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monteverde hotels
1.1 mi away
Monteverde Inn
Monteverde Inn
#4 of 20 in Monteverde
260 reviews
1.5 mi away
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
#3 of 20 in Monteverde
1,129 reviews
1.0 mi away
Los Pinos - Cabanas y Jardines
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Belmar
Hotel Belmar
#1 of 20 in Monteverde
1,357 reviews
1.1 mi away
Cala Lodge
Cala Lodge
#5 of 20 in Monteverde
500 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco
Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco
#3 of 7 in Santa Elena
709 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Fonda Vela? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Fonda Vela

Address: 1km past the Monteverde Cheese Factory and 2km before the Monteverde Reserve., Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Monteverde
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 20 Hotels in Monteverde
Price Range: £94 - £167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Fonda Vela 3.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fonda Vela Hotel is located in beautifulMonteverde, famous for its Resplendent Quetzals,Three-wattled Bellbirds, an abundance of orchids anda gorgeous cloud forest. The climate is refreshing,often referred to as "The Eternal Spring". The views ofthe Gulf of Nicoya from the hotel’s 1400-meterelevation are spectacular. Monteverde is an idealdestination for relaxing and enjoying the wonders ofthe tropics. A visit of at least two nights inMonteverde is recommended. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Fonda Vela reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fonda Vela Hotel
Fonda Vela Monteverde

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing