We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Felt like you were in the jungle!!”
Review of Hotel Fonda Vela

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Fonda Vela
Ranked #12 of 20 Hotels in Monteverde
Reviewed 9 June 2010

This was a nice basic hotel. Nothing fancy. The rooms were large and clean, the TV had almost no reception. The grounds are very nice. When we were there it was very quiet. No internet anywhere but on the lobby computers. Breakfast not included which we thought it was. A very ecofriendly place. We had dinner in the restaurant one night and it was very good. Average for prices for the food. Didn't see any animals on the property but they could have been there but we never saw any.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank toothdk2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (703)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

453 - 459 of 703 reviews

Reviewed 19 May 2010

The Fonda Vela provided probably one of the nicest rooms we stayed in in Costa Rica. We had one of the very large superior rooms close to the restaurant block on the first floor overlooking the pool. Though as others have mentioned, this gleaming new pool complex, however fancy, is something of an eyesore - fine in a country club context, but a bit incongruous in the cloud forest. We nevertheless enjoyed the pool and the hot tubs. Otherwise, a pleasant stay. The staff were pleasant and helpful. The restaurant was no better than average, and as usual swamped by tour groups. Wi-fi only in reception, not the rooms, and no-one seemed to be able to get the public PCs working.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2010

Beautiful place in the woods to be in touch with nature and the outdoors and be pampered at the same time. The staff is phenomenal--friendly, helpful, and very personable. It is quiet and there are lots of birds and animals to see right around the hotel. There are hiking trails right on the property and it is very close to the Cloud Forest and close to town.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChuchaCaperucha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2010

Our stay at the Fonda was completely ruined by thousands and thousands of insects, bugs and spiders!!!! Each night, these bugs would somehow get into the bathroom and the rest of the room, covering the floor with at least a half inch of these things. We had to wear our shoes any time we were in the room, and to get up at night to use the bathroom was horrible. Also, ALL used toilet paper had to be into a trash can after use. I do not find that acceptable in a hotel. We stayed in 5 different hotels during our 14 days in CR and the Fonda was the ONLY hotel that had a sign posted as to what to do with your used toilet paper. All of this was in what they called the JR. Suite.

The linens, bedspreads and window coverings have definitely seen better days. The pillow were as old as the property itself.

Speaking of the property, I would say they fired the gardener a few years ago. Everything is overgrown and full of weeds, and not necessarily in very good repair. More than one fountain was not working.

However, the staff was friendly and helpful. The restaurant service was OK. Food was OK. The view from the window in our room was fabulous but not able to open the windows as there were no screens. All in all, this hotel was the worst we have ever stayed at. We stayed at several hotels and eco-lodges in and around the jungle in CR none of them had this massive amount of insects.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HARLEBABE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2010

I really enjoyed this hotel. We got a free upgrade from the hotel. The food is very good. THe only bad part is if your room in deeper into the property you have to drag your luggade up some hills, but what do you expect when you are in such a beautiful and natural setting. The staff was very friendly and helped us make several other travel arrangements, and I did not speak ANY spanish.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AR-BRAY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2010

Although comfortable, should note there was no air-conditioning, no screens on the windows. The weather was pleasant while we were there however, with beautiful sunsets. We had a view which was undoubtedly fine at some point, but a decision had been made by someone with little asthetic sense to put in a covered pool 100 feet down the hill. Trails are not well marked around the property. A couple meals we had were really good. A couple mediocre at best. We did not see any of the tarantulas we heard others talk about. We did check our shoes in the morning. Would likely look for another place to stay were we to return to the area.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank swampknot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2010

We took an eleven day trip to Costa Rica and spent two nights at the Fonda Vela. We wished we had stayed an extra night here and only two in Arenal. The Fonda Vela was excellent. We had a slight problem with the room fridge and it was fixed immediately. The staff was very nice and breakfasts were great. We were lucky to have chosen such a great place. Loved the rustic, yet comfy cabins with all their amazing woodwork. Plenty of room to spread out.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marctrish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monteverde hotels
1.1 mi away
Monteverde Inn
Monteverde Inn
#4 of 20 in Monteverde
259 reviews
1.5 mi away
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
#3 of 20 in Monteverde
1,129 reviews
1.0 mi away
Los Pinos - Cabanas y Jardines
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Belmar
Hotel Belmar
#1 of 20 in Monteverde
1,356 reviews
1.1 mi away
Cala Lodge
Cala Lodge
#5 of 20 in Monteverde
499 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco
Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco
#3 of 7 in Santa Elena
708 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Fonda Vela? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Fonda Vela

Address: 1km past the Monteverde Cheese Factory and 2km before the Monteverde Reserve., Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Monteverde
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 20 Hotels in Monteverde
Price Range: £80 - £168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Fonda Vela 3.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fonda Vela Hotel is located in beautifulMonteverde, famous for its Resplendent Quetzals,Three-wattled Bellbirds, an abundance of orchids anda gorgeous cloud forest. The climate is refreshing,often referred to as "The Eternal Spring". The views ofthe Gulf of Nicoya from the hotel’s 1400-meterelevation are spectacular. Monteverde is an idealdestination for relaxing and enjoying the wonders ofthe tropics. A visit of at least two nights inMonteverde is recommended. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Fonda Vela reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fonda Vela Hotel
Fonda Vela Monteverde

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing